Federal Communications Commission 445 12th St., S.W. Washington, D.C. 20554

News Media Information 202 / 418-0500 Internet: http://www.fcc.gov TTY: 1-888-835-5322

DA- 09-1287 Released: June 5, 2009

## CONSUMER ADVISORY COMMITTEE --APPOINTMENT OF NATIONAL CONSUMERS LEAGUE TO COMMITTEE; APPOINTMENT OF COMMITTEE CHAIRPERSON; DTV COALITION COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIP TERMINATED

By this Public Notice, the Commission appoints the National Consumers League, represented by Ms. Debra R. Berlyn, to its twenty-eight member Consumer Advisory Committee. Of this number, twelve (12) members represent interests of consumers, minorities, and low income communities; five (5) members represent disabilities communities; six (6) members represent the interest of Tribal, state and local governments, and, five (5) members are industry representatives. The Committee's slate is designed to be representative of the Commission's many constituencies, and the diversity selected will provide a balanced point of view as required by the Federal Advisory Committee Act. This appointment is effective immediately and shall terminate November 17, 2010, or when the Committee is terminated, whichever is earlier.

Debra R. Berlyn, representing the National Consumers League, will continue her role as the Committee's chairperson, the position she previously held as a representative of the Digital Television Transition Coalition. Also effective immediately, and as a result of the aforementioned appointment, the membership of the Digital Television Transition Coalition is hereby terminated.

The roster of the Committee is as follows:

AARP – Marti T. Doneghy
Alaska State Department of Law - Lew Craig
Alliance for Community Media – Gloria Tristani
American Council of the Blind - Eric Bridges
Appalachian Regional Commission - Harry L. Roesch
Benton Foundation - Charles Benton
Cablevision - Dodie Tschirch
Call For Action - Shirley Rooker
Communication Service for the Deaf - Karen Peltz Strauss
Communications Workers of America - Jeffrey Rechenbach
Consumer Action - Ken McEldowney
Consumer Electronics Association - Jamie Hedlund
Consumer Federation of America – Irene E. Leech
Consumers Union - Gene Kimmelman
Deaf and Hard of Hearing Consumer Advocacy Network - Claude Stout

Dish Network Corporation - Lori Kalani

Eastern Band of Cherokee Indians – Brandon Stephens

Hawaii State Public Utilities Commission - John Cole

Hearing Loss Association of America – Lise Hamlin

League of United Latin American Citizens - Eduardo Pena, Jr.

National Association of Broadcasters - John L. Sander

National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners - Nixyvette Santini

National Association of State Utility Consumer Advocates - Brenda Pennington

National Consumers League -Debra Berlyn, Chairperson

Northern VA Resource Center for Deaf and Hard of Hearing Persons -Cheryl Heppner

Parents Television Council - Dan Isett

Southern Growth Policies Board - Scott Doron

Verizon Communications, Inc. - Richard T. Ellis

## **ACCESIBLE FORMATS**

To request materials in accessible formats for people with disabilities (Braille, large print, electronic files, audio format), send an e-mail to <a href="fcc504@fcc.gov">fcc504@fcc.gov</a> or call the Consumer & Governmental Affairs Bureau at 202-418-0530 (voice), 202-418-0432 (TTY).

For further information contact: Scott Marshall, Consumer & Governmental Affairs Bureau, Federal Communications Commission, Room 3A633, 445 12<sup>th</sup> Street, S.W. Washington, DC 20554. Phone: 202-418-2809 (voice) or 202-418-0179 (TTY). Email: <a href="mailto:scott.marshall@fcc.gov">scott.marshall@fcc.gov</a>.

- FCC -