Federal Communications Commission 445 12th St., S.W. Washington, D.C. 20554

News Media Information 202 / 418-0500 Internet: http://www.fcc.gov TTY: 1-888-835-5322

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE:

DA 09-2297 October 26, 2009

NEWS MEDIA CONTACT Robert Kenny: (202) 418-2668 Email: Robert.kenny@fcc.gov

FCC ANNOUNCES MEMBERSHIP OF THE COMMUNICATIONS SECURITY, RELIABILITY, AND INTEROPERABILITY COUNCIL (CSRIC)

Washington, DC – This Public Notice serves as notice that, consistent with the Federal Advisory Committee Act, Federal Communications Commission (FCC or Commission) Chairman Julius Genachowski has appointed persons to serve on the Communications Security, Reliability, and Interoperability Council (CSRIC or Council). Chairman Genachowski has also designated William Smith representing AT&T, Inc. and Chris Fischer representing the Association of Public Safety Communications Officials, International (APCO, Intl.) as Co-Chairs of the Council. The members represent a diverse and balanced mix of viewpoints from public safety organizations, Federal, state and local government agencies, the communications industry, and public interest organizations. A list of the CSRIC members is attached to this Public Notice.

The Council is a Federal Advisory Committee that will provide recommendations to the Commission regarding best practices and actions the Commission can take to ensure optimal security, reliability, and interoperability of communications systems, including telecommunications, media and public safety communications systems. On March 19, 2009, the FCC, pursuant to the Federal Advisory Committee Act, renewed the charter for the CSRIC for a period of two years through March 18, 2011.

² On April 10, 2009, the Commission released a Public Notice seeking nominations and expressions of interest for membership on the Council. *See* FCC Seeks Nominations by May 11, 2009 for Membership on the Communications Security, Reliability, and Interoperability Council (CSRIC), *Public Notice*, DA 09-816, 24 FCC Rcd 4201 (2009). The Commission received over 100 submissions.

¹ 5 U.S.C. Appendix 2.

³ The Commission will announce the Council's first meeting in a separate Public Notice.

⁴ 5 U.S.C. Appendix 2.

⁵ See 74 Fed. Reg. 11721-11722 (March 19, 2009).

Under its charter, CSRIC's duties may include:

- Recommending best practices and actions the Commission can take to ensure the security, reliability, operability, and interoperability of public safety communications systems;
- Recommending best practices and actions the Commission can take to improve the reliability and resiliency of communications infrastructure;
- Evaluating ways to strengthen the collaboration between communications service providers and public safety entities during emergencies and make recommendations for how they can be improved;
- Developing and recommending best practices and actions the FCC can take that promote reliable 911 and enhanced 911 (E911) service;
- Analyzing and recommending technical options to enable accurate and reliable dynamic E911 location identification for interconnected Voice over Internet Protocol (VoIP) services;
- Recommending ways, including best practices, to improve Emergency Alert System (EAS) operations and testing and to ensure that all Americans, including those living in rural areas, the elderly, people with disabilities, and people who do not speak English, have access to timely EAS alerts and other emergency information;
- Recommending methods to measure reliably and accurately the extent to which key best practices are implemented both now and in the future; and
- Making recommendations with respect to such additional topics as the FCC may specify.

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT: Jeffery Goldthorp, Designated Federal Official for CSRIC and Chief, Communications Systems Analysis Division, Public Safety & Homeland Security Bureau, (202) 418-1096 (voice) or jeffery.goldthorp@fcc.gov (email) or Jean Ann Collins, Deputy Designated Federal Official for CSRIC and Deputy Chief, Communications Systems Analysis Division, Public Safety & Homeland Security Bureau (202) 418-2792 (voice) or jeanann.collins@fcc.gov (email).

COMMUNICATIONS SECURITY, RELIABILITY & INTEROPERABILITY COUNCIL MEMBERS

Jeffery Goldthorp, Designated Federal Officer Jean Ann Collins, Deputy Designated Federal Officer

Co-Chairs:

William Smith, AT&T, Inc.

Chris Fischer, Association of Public Safety Communications Officials, International

Members:

Tony Asion, El Pueblo, Inc.

Robert Azzi, Sprint Nextel

Robert G. Bailey, Jr., Harris County (MS) Emergency Communications Commission

James Dennis Baucom, National Association of Telecommunications Officers and Advisors

Becky Berger, State of Montana 911 Program

Scott K. Bergmann, CTIA - The Wireless Association®

Charles Brennan, Commonwealth of Pennsylvania Office of Public Safety Radio Services

Paul V. Brenner, Emmis Communications

Glenn Britt, Time Warner Cable

Marcia Brooks, Carl and Ruth Shapiro Family National Center for Accessible Media

John J. Brown, International Association of Fire Chiefs

William K. Brownlow, National Public Safety Telecommunications Council

Ingrid Caples, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

Leonard Charles, Morgan Murphy Media, Midwest

Lynn Claudy, National Association of Broadcasters

Turner Clayton, Jr., Seminole County, FL, Branch of the NAACP

James Corry, Satellite Industry Association

Preston A. Davis, ABC Television Network

Doug Davis, COMPTEL

Garrick DeClay, Bureau of Indian Affairs

Craig W. Donaldson, Intrado

Dr. Adam T. Drobot, Telcordia

Pat Esser, Cox Communications

Chris Essid, Office of Emergency Communications, U.S. Department of Homeland Security

Laurie Flaherty, U.S. Department of Transportation

Dr. Brian Fontes, National Emergency Number Association

Robert Gabrielli, DIRECTV, Inc.

Lise Hamlin, Hearing Loss Association of America

Maureen F. Harris, National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners

Dennis Huber, Century Link

John Lawson, ION Media Networks

Amador Lucero, Qwest

Richard J. Lynch, Verizon Communications

James Madon, National Communications System, U.S. Department of Homeland Security

Stephen R. Malphrus, Federal Reserve Board of Governors

Kevin McGinnis, National Association of State EMS Officials

Kevin McGuire, National Telecommunications Cooperative Association

John M. Merklinger, City of Rochester/County of Monroe, Emergency Communications Dept.

Susan Miller, Alliance for Telecommunications Industry Solutions

Brian Moir, E-Commerce, Telecommunications Users Group

John Morris, Center for Democracy & Technology

Robert M. Moseley, National Fraternal Order of Police

Damon Penn, Federal Emergency Management Agency

Art Prest, Rural Telecommunications Group

Janice Quintana, District of Columbia Office of Unified Communications

Neville Ray, T-Mobile USA, Inc.

Daphne Rhoe, California 911 Emergency Communications Office

C. Patrick Roberts, Florida Association of Broadcasters

Robert J. Ross, CBS Broadcasting, Inc.

John D. Schanz, Comcast Cable

Carlos Solari, Telecommunications Industry Association

Lonna Thompson, Association of Public Television Stations

Scott Tollefsen, USA Mobility

Maurice Tosé, TeleCommunications Systems, Inc.

Alan Tschirner, National Cable Television Cooperative, Inc.