Federal Communications Commission 445 12th St., S.W. Washington, D.C. 20554

News Media Information 202 / 418-0500 Internet: http://www.fcc.gov TTY: 1-888-835-5322

DA 10-2318

Released: December 7, 2010

EMERGENCY ACCESS ADVISORY COMMITTEE ANNOUNCEMENT OF MEMBERS AND CO-CHAIRPERSONS

Committee to Focus on Matters Pertaining to Next Generation 911 Access for Persons with Disabilities

On December 7, 2010, Chairman Julius Genachowski announced the establishment, and appointment of members and Co-Chairpersons of the Emergency Access Advisory Committee (EAAC), an advisory committee required by the Twenty-first Century Communications and Video Accessibility Act of 2010 (the Accessibility Act). In a public notice released on October 19, 2010, the Commission solicited nominations for membership on the EAAC in accordance with the Accessibility Act. The nominations period closed on November 1, 2010.

The EAAC shall conduct monthly meetings during 2011. The first meeting will be held on **January 14, 2011** at Commission Headquarters from 9:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., and subsequent meetings will be held on the second Friday of every month during 2011. All meetings shall be open to the public.

EAAC MISSION

The purpose of the EAAC is to determine the most effective and efficient technologies and methods by which to enable access to Next Generation 911 emergency services by individuals with disabilities. In order to fulfill this mission, the Accessibility Act directs that within one year after the EAAC's members are appointed, the Committee shall conduct a national survey, with the input of groups represented by the Committee's membership, after which the Committee shall develop and submit to the Commission recommendations to implement such technologies and methods. These recommendations shall include the following, taking into account what is technically and economically feasible:⁴

¹ Pub. L. No. 111-260.

² FCC Requests Nominations for Membership on Emergency Access Advisory Committee in Accordance with the Twenty-first Century Communications and Video Accessibility Act, Public Notice, DA 10-2001 (CGB rel. Oct. 19, 2010).

³ *Id.* at 3.

⁴ Pub. L. No. 111-260, § 106(c).

- (1) actions needed for the migration to a national Internet protocol (IP)-enabled network to achieve reliable, interoperable communication that will ensure access to emergency services by people with disabilities;
- (2) protocols, technical capabilities, and technical requirements to ensure the reliability and interoperability necessary to ensure access to emergency services by people with disabilities:
- (3) technical standards for use by public safety answering points, designated default answering points, and local emergency authorities;
- (4) technical standards and requirements for communication devices, equipment and technologies to enable the use of reliable emergency access;
- (5) procedures to ensure that IP-enabled network providers do not install features, functions, or capabilities that would conflict with technical standards needed to achieve 9-1-1 emergency access by people with disabilities;
- (6) deadlines by which interconnected and non-interconnected Voice over IP (VoIP) service providers and manufacturers shall achieve the actions required in the above paragraphs, where achievable, and for the possible phase out of current-generation TTY technology to the extent that this technology is replaced with more effective and efficient technologies and methods to enable access to emergency services by people with disabilities; and
- (7) rules to update the Commission's telecommunications relay services regulations with respect to 9-1-1 services, as new technologies and methods for providing such relay services are adopted by providers of such relay services.

APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS

By this Public Notice, the Chairman of the Commission appoints thirty-two (32) members of the EAAC. Of this number, eleven (11) represent interests of persons with disabilities and researchers; seven (7) represent interests of communication service providers; six (6) represent interests of state and local emergency responders and emergency subject matter technologies; three (3) represent vendors, developers and manufacturers of systems, facilities and equipment; three (3) represent Federal agencies; and two (2) represent industry organizations. The EAAC's membership is designed to be representative of the Commission's many constituencies, and the diversity achieved ensures a balance among individuals with disabilities and other stakeholders, as required by the Accessibility Act.⁵ All appointments are effective immediately and shall terminate December 7, 2012, or when the Committee is terminated, whichever is earlier.

The membership of the EAAC, designated by organization or affiliation as appropriate, is as follows:

- American Foundation for the Blind Brad Hodges
- Alliance for Telecommunications Industry Solutions John Snapp
- AT&T Brian Daly
- Avaya Labs Paul Michaelis

-

⁵ Pub. L. No. 111-260, § 106(b).

- Center for Public Safety Innovation/National Terrorist Preparedness Institute Christopher Littlewood
- City of Los Angeles' Department on Disability, and National Emergency Numbering Association's Accessibility Committee Richard Ray
- Comcast Cable Angel Arocho
- Communication Service for the Deaf Alfred Sonnenstrahl
- CTIA, The Wireless Association Matthew Gerst
- Fairfax County Emergency Management Bruce McFarlane
- Gallaudet University Norman Williams
- Hearing, Speech & Deafness Center Donna Platt
- Louisiana National Emergency Numbering Association Roland Cotton
- Microsoft Bernard Aboba
- Norcal Center for Deaf and Hard of Hearing, and E911 Stakeholder Council Sheri A. Farinha
- Omnitor Gunnar Hellstrom
- Partners for Access, LLC Joel Ziev
- Purple Communications Mark Stern
- RealTime Text Task Force (R3TF) Arnoud van Wijk
- Research in Motion (RIM) Gregory Fields
- Speech Communication Assistance for the Telephone, Inc. Rebecca Ladew
- TeleCommunications Systems, Inc Don Mitchell
- Telecommunications Industry Association and the Mobile Manufacturers Forum David J. Dzumba
- Time Warner Cable Communications Martha (Marte) Kinder
- T-Mobile, 911 Policy Jim Nixon
- Trace R&D Center, University of Wisconsin (IT&Tel-RERC) Gregg Vanderheiden
- Verizon Communications Kevin Green
- Vonage Holding Corporation Brendan Kasper
- Washington Parish, LA Communications District James Coleman

Federal Agencies

- Department of Homeland Security, Federal Emergency Management Agency Marcie Roth
- U.S. Department of Justice, Civil Rights Division/DRS Robert Mather
- U.S. Department of Transportation, NHTSA Laurie Flaherty

FCC Chairman Julius Genachowski has designated Richard Ray and David J. Dzumba as Co-Chairpersons of the EAAC.

ACCESSIBLE FORMATS: To request materials in accessible formats for people with disabilities (Braille, large print, electronic files, audio format), send an e-mail to fcc504@fcc.gov or call the Consumer and Governmental Affairs Bureau at 202-418-0530 (voice), 202-418-0432 (TTY).

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT: Cheryl King, Consumer and Governmental Affairs Bureau, Federal Communications Commission, 202-418-2284 (voice), 202-418-0416 (TTY), or Cheryl.King@fcc.gov (e-mail); or Patrick Donovan, Public Safety and Homeland Security Bureau, Federal Communications Commission, 202-418-2413, Patrick.Donovan@fcc.gov (e-mail).