

## Federal Communications Commission Washington, D.C. 20554

March 1, 2010

DA 10-349

Brian L. Talbott Chairman - Board of Directors Universal Service Administrative Company 2000 L Street, N.W. Suite 200 Washington, D.C. 20036

Re: Vacancies on the USAC Board of Directors

#### Dear Chairman Talbott:

On September 28, 2009, the Wireline Competition Bureau issued a public notice soliciting nominations to fill vacancies on the Board of Directors of the Universal Service Administrative Company (USAC). Due to the expiration of Board members' terms on December 31, 2009, there are currently six vacancies on the USAC Board. The Commission received at least one nomination for five out of the six vacancies, as listed in the attached Appendix.

Pursuant to section 54.703(c)(3) of the Commission's rules,<sup>3</sup> Chairman Julius Genachowski appoints the following members to serve on the USAC Board of Directors:

### (1) Representative for schools that are eligible to receive discounts

Dr. Sheryl Abshire, Chief Technology Officer, Calcasieu (Louisiana) Parish Public Schools

- (2) Representative for incumbent local exchange carriers (incumbent LECs) (other than Bell Operating Companies) with annual operating revenues in excess of \$40 million
  - D. Michael Anderson, Vice President of External Affairs, Iowa Telecom
- (3) Representative for state telecommunications regulators

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> The Wireline Competition Bureau Seeks Nominations for Six Board Member Positions on the Universal Service Administrative Company Board of Directors, CC Docket Nos. 96-45, 97-21, Public Notice, DA 09-2127 (Wireline Comp. Bur. rel. Sept. 28, 2009).

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> See Letter from D. Scott Barash, Acting Chief Executive Officer, Universal Service Administrative Company, to Sharon Gillett, Chief, Wireline Competition Bureau, CC Docket Nos. 96-45, 97-21 (dated Sept. 9, 2009).

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup> 47 C.F.R. § 54.703(c)(3).

Hon. Anne C. Boyle, Commissioner, Nebraska Public Service Commission

### (4) Representative for information service providers

David P. McClure, President and CEO, US Internet Industry Association

### (5) Representative for rural health care providers that are eligible to receive discounts

Jay Sanders, M.D., President and CEO, The Global Telemedicine Group

The Commission welcomes these five individuals to the USAC Board of Directors and looks forward to working with them. Please do not hesitate to contact me if you have any questions or need additional information.

Sincerely,

Sharon E. Gillett Chief Wireline Competition Bureau

### Enclosure

cc: Dr. Sheryl Abshire
D. Michael Anderson
Hon. Anne C. Boyle
David P. McClure
Jay Sanders, M.D.

### **APPENDIX**

# PARTIES FILING NOMINATIONS FOR SIX BOARD MEMBER POSITIONS ON THE UNIVERSAL SERVICE ADMINISTRATIVE COMPANY BOARD OF DIRECTORS

CC Docket No. 96-45 CC Docket No. 97-21

Company	Nominee
American Telemedicine Association (ATA)	Jay Sanders, M.D.
	(Rural Health Care Providers)
Consortium for School Networking (CoSN)	Dr. Sheryl Abshire
International Association for K-12 Online	(Schools)
Learning (iNACOL)	
International Society for Technology in	
Education (ISTE)	
National Association of Independent Schools	
National Association of Secondary School	
Principals	
National Catholic Educational Association	
National Education Association (NEA)	
Sens. Landrieu and Vitter; Reps. Melancon,	
Boustany, Alexander, and Cao (Louisiana	
Delegation)	
State Educational Technology Directors Assn.	
(SETDA)	
Conway Public Schools, Office of the	Phyllis Simon
Superintendent	(Schools)
Council of Chief State School Officers	Sylvia K. Norton
(CCSSO)	(Schools)
State E-rate Coordinators' Alliance (SECA)	
State of Maine Department of Education	
Sens. Snowe and Collins (Maine)	
SETDA (letter of support)	
David P. McClure (letter seeking	David P. McClure
reappointment to current seat)	(Information Service Providers)
Independent Telephone &	D. Michael Anderson
Telecommunications Alliance (ITTA)	(ILECs, other than Bell Operating Companies, with
	annual operating revenues in excess of \$40 million)
National Association of Regulatory Utility	Anne C. Boyle
Commissioners (NARUC)	(State Telecommunications Regulators)