Federal Communications Commission 445 12th St., S.W. Washington, D.C. 20554

News media information 202 / 418-0500 TTY 202 / 418-2555 Internet: http://www.fcc.gov

DA 11-2069

December 23, 2011

PUBLIC SAFETY AND HOMELAND SECURITY BUREAU ANNOUNCES REGION 19 (NEW ENGLAND) PUBLIC SAFETY REGIONAL PLANNING COMMITTEE 2012 SCHEDULE FOR 700 MHZ AND 4.9 GHZ PUBLIC SAFETY PLANNING MEETINGS

The Region 19 (New England)¹ 700 MHz Public Safety Regional Planning Committee will hold its next meetings as follows:

- Tuesday, March 13, 2012, 10:00 a.m. 2:00 p.m., at the Kennebunkport Fire Department, 32 North Main Street, Kennebunkport, Maine 04043
- Tuesday, June 12, 2012, 10:00 a.m. 2:00 p.m., at the Rhode Island Emergency Operations Center, 645 New London Avenue, Cranston, Rhode Island 02920
- Tuesday, September 11, 2012, 10:00 a.m. 2:00 p.m., at the Connecticut Fire Academy, 34 Perimeter Road, Windsor Locks, Connecticut 06096
- Tuesday, December 11, 2012, 10:00 a.m. 2:00 p.m., at the New Hampshire Department of Public Safety, 33 Hazen Drive, Concord, New Hampshire 03305

The purpose of the meetings will be to discuss the needs of the 700 MHz and 4.9 GHz spectrum users, including public safety, public health, emergency management, and public utility services.

The Region 19 700 MHz and 4.9 GHz Public Safety Regional Planning Committee meetings are open to the public. All eligible public safety providers in Region 19 may utilize these frequencies. It is essential that eligible public safety agencies in all areas of government, including state, municipality, county, and Native American Tribal be represented in order to ensure that each agency's future spectrum needs are considered in the allocation process. Administrators who are not oriented in the communications field should delegate someone with this knowledge to attend, participate, and represent their agency's needs.

All interested parties wishing to participate in planning for the use of public safety spectrum in the 700 MHz and 4.9 GHz bands within Region 19 should plan to attend. For further information, please visit the committee website at www.ner700mhz.org, or contact:

¹ The Region 19 area includes the following states: Connecticut (except Fairfield, Litchfield, New Haven and Middlesex counties), Maine, New Hampshire, Rhode Island and Vermont.

Jerry Zarwanski, Chairman
Region 19 700 MHz Public Safety Regional Planning Committee
Division of Fire Investigations and Statewide Emergency Telecommunications
1111 Country Club Road
P.O. Box 2794
Middletown, Connecticut 06457
(860) 685-8157
Jerry.Zarwanski@ct.gov

Stephen Verbil, Vice-Chairman
Region 19 700 MHz Public Safety Regional Planning Committee
Division of Fire Investigations and Statewide Emergency Telecommunications
1111 Country Club Road
P.O. Box 2794
Middletown, Connecticut 06457
(860) 685-8127
Stephen.Verbil@ct.gov

-FCC-