

Federal Communications Commission 445 12th St., S.W. Washington, D.C. 20554

News Media Information 202 / 418-0500 Internet: http://www.fcc.gov TTY: 1-888-835-5322

DA 12-829

Released: May 25, 2012

ANNOUNCEMENT OF MEMBERS ON OPEN INTERNET ADVISORY COMMITTEE

GN Docket No. 09-191, WC Docket No. 07-52

By this Public Notice, FCC Chairman Julius Genachowski announces the composition of the Open Internet Advisory Committee (OIAC). The OIAC's members include representatives from community organizations, equipment manufacturers, content and application providers, venture capital firms, startups, Internet service providers, and Internet governance organizations, as well as professors in law, computer science, and economics.

The OIAC is a Federal Advisory Committee. Called for by the Commission in the *Open Internet Order*, its mission is to track and evaluate the effects of the FCC's Open Internet rules,¹ and to provide any recommendations it deems appropriate to the FCC regarding policies and practices related to preserving the open Internet. The OIAC will observe market developments regarding the freedom and openness of the Internet and will focus in particular on issues addressed in the FCC's Open Internet rules, such as transparency, reasonable network management practices, differences in treatment of fixed and mobile broadband services, specialized services, and technical standards.²

Since the Open Internet Order was adopted in 2010, the broadband economy has flourished. In 2011, investment in wired and wireless network infrastructure rose 24 percent.³ The United States now leads the world in 4G wireless service adoption.⁴ There has been a dramatic increase over the past few years in the deployment of fixed broadband networks capable of very high speeds—100 Mbps—from being available in less than 20 percent of U.S. homes in 2009 to approximately 80 percent today.⁵ In

¹ Preserving the Open Internet, Report and Order, 25 FCC Rcd 17905 (2010) (Open Internet Order).

² Cf. id. at 17962, 17965-66, 17989, paras. 104-105, 113-114, 162.

³ TELECOMMUNICATIONS INDUSTRY ASSOCIATION, TIA'S 2012 ICT MARKET REVIEW AND FORECAST 1-3 (2012).

⁴ US Remains at Forefront of LTE Service Adoption, TeleGeography, (March 15, 2012) <u>http://www.telegeography.com/products/commsupdate/articles/2012/03/15/us-remains-at-forefront-of-lte-service-adoption/</u>.

⁵ See National Cable & Telecommunications Association Notice of Ex Parte, WC Docket Nos. 10-90, 07-135, and 05-337 and CC Docket Nos. 01-92 and 96-45, October 17, 2011.

2011, Internet-specific companies attracted nearly \$7 billion in venture capital funding, a 68 percent increase in dollars and 24 percent increase in deals from 2010.⁶ The "app economy" that has grown around applications for Internet-based smart phones and other wireless devices has also thrived. This market barely existed in 2009, yet it now accounts for nearly half a million U.S. jobs.⁷ The OIAC will track these trends in our broadband economy and make recommendations for how the FCC's policies and practices can best support this tremendous innovation and growth.

Jonathan Zittrain, Professor of Law at Harvard Law School and Harvard Kennedy School, Professor of Computer Science at the Harvard School of Engineering and Applied Sciences, and Co-Founder of the Berkman Center for Internet and Society, will serve as Chair of the OIAC. David Clark, Senior Research Scientist at the MIT Computer Science and Artificial Intelligence Laboratory, will serve as Vice Chair. Henning Schulzrinne, Chief Technologist of the FCC, and Daniel Kirschner, Counselor to the General Counsel, will work with the OIAC Chair and Vice Chair in developing the work program. Daniel Kirschner will serve as Designated Federal Officer; Deborah Broderson, Legal Advisor, Consumer and Governmental Affairs Bureau, will also serve as liaison to the OIAC.

The OIAC will announce its first meeting this summer. The public will be invited to attend.

The full membership for the OIAC is as follows:

Chair

Jonathan Zittrain, Professor of Law and Computer Science and Co-Founder of the Berkman Center for Internet and Society, Harvard University

Vice Chair

David Clark, Senior Research Scientist, Massachusetts Institute of Technology Computer Science and Artificial Intelligence Laboratory

Members of the Open Internet Advisory Committee

Harvey Anderson, Vice President of Business Affairs & General Counsel, Mozilla

Brad Burnham, Founding Partner, Union Square Ventures

Alissa Cooper, Chief Computer Scientist, Center for Democracy & Technology

Leslie Daigle, Chief Internet Technology Officer, Internet Society

Jessica Gonzalez, Executive Board, Media and Democracy Coalition; Vice President for Policy & Legal Affairs, National Hispanic Media Coalition (representing NHMC)

Shane Greenstein, Professor and Kellogg Chair of Information Technology, Kellogg School of Management, Northwestern University

⁶ Press release, PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP and National Venture Capital Association, Annual Venture Investment Dollars Increase 22% Over Prior Year, According to the MoneyTree Report (Jan. 20, 2012), *available at* https://www.pwcmoneytree.com/MTPublic/ns/moneytree/filesource/exhibits/11Q4MTPressrelease.pdf.

⁷ MICHAEL MANDEL, TECHNET, WHERE THE JOBS ARE: THE APP ECONOMY (Feb. 7, 2012), *available at* <u>http://www.technet.org/wp-content/uploads/2012/02/TechNet-App-Economy-Jobs-Study.pdf</u>.

Russell Housley, Chair, Internet Engineering Task Force; Founder of Vigil Security, LLC (representing Vigil Security, LLC)

Neil Hunt, Chief Product Officer, Netflix

Charles Kalmanek, Vice President of Research, AT&T

Matthew Larsen, CEO, Vistabeam

Kevin McElearney, Senior Vice President for Network Engineering, Comcast

Marc Morial, President & CEO, National Urban League

Elaine Paul, Senior Vice President, Strategic Planning, The Walt Disney Company

Jennifer Rexford, Professor of Computer Science, Princeton University

Dennis Roberson, Vice Provost & Research Professor, Illinois Institute of Technology (representing T-Mobile)

Chip Sharp, Director, Technology Policy and Internet Governance, Cisco Systems

Charles Slocum, Assistant Executive Director, Writers Guild of America, West

Marcus Weldon, Chief Technology Officer, Alcatel-Lucent

Michelle Zatlyn, Co-Founder & Head of User Experience, CloudFlare