Federal Communications Commission 445 12<sup>th</sup> St., S.W. Washington, D.C. 20554

News Media Information 202 / 418-0500 Internet: http://www.fcc.gov TTY: 1-888-835-5322

DA 13-2173

Released: November 13, 2013

# PUBLIC SAFETY AND HOMELAND SECURITY BUREAU ANNOUNCES AGENDA AND PANELISTS FOR NOVEMBER 18, 2013 WORKSHOP ON E911 PHASE II LOCATION ACCURACY

# **PS Docket No. 07-114**

As previously announced, the Public Safety and Homeland Security Bureau will host a public workshop on November 18, 2013 to discuss recent developments in the use of wireless technology to contact emergency services. By this Public Notice, the Bureau announces the agenda and panelists for the workshop, which will take place from 9:30 a.m. – 3:30 p.m. in the Commission Meeting Room (TW-C305).

# 9:30 a.m.: Welcoming and Opening Remarks

David S. Turetsky, Chief, Public Safety and Homeland Security Bureau

# 9:45 a.m.: Overview of Technical Process for Generation and Delivery of E911 Location Information

**Presentation: John Snapp**, Senior Technical Officer and Vice President, Intrado Corporation

# 10:00 a.m. – 12:15 p.m.: Topic 1 - Improving E911 Location Information

Moderator: David Furth, Deputy Chief, Public Safety and Homeland Security Bureau

# Presentations: Public Safety Perspectives (10:00 a.m. – 10:35 a.m.)

**Karen Wong -** Assistant Director, Public Safety Communications, Governor's Office of Emergency Services, State of California

**Lisa Hoffmann** - Deputy Director, Division of Emergency Communications, Department of Emergency Management, City & County of San Francisco

Renee Hardwick - Director, Horry County Emergency Management Department, Horry County, South Carolina

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> See Public Safety and Homeland Security Bureau Announces Workshop on E911 Phase II Location Accuracy, Public Notice, PS Docket No. 07-114, DA 13-2079 (PSHSB Oct. 28, 2013).

Terry Hall - Director of Emergency Communications, York-Poquoson-Williamsburg ECC (on behalf of Association of Public Safety Communications Officials (APCO))
 Brian Fontes - Chief Executive Officer, National Emergency Number Association (NENA)

# Presentations: Wireless Carrier Perspectives (10:35 a.m. – 11:00 a.m.)

Kelly Springer - Director of Regulatory Technology Development, AT&T Labs

Jeanna Green - Network Development Engineer, Sprint

Ryan Jensen - Director of Technology and Compliance, T-Mobile

Susan Sherwood - Manager of E911 Network & Engineering Operations, Verizon Wireless

11:00 a.m. - 11:15 a.m.: Break

Roundtable Discussion (11:15 a.m. -12:30 p.m.)

12:30 p.m. - 1:30 p.m.: Lunch

# 1:30 p.m. – 3:30 p.m.: Topic 2 - Advancements in Location Information Technologies

**Moderator: Timothy May**, E911 Projects Manager, Public Safety & Homeland Security Bureau

Presentations: (1:30 p.m. - 2:15 p.m.)

 $\textbf{Ganesh Pattabiraman -} \ \text{Co-Founder and President, NextNav}$ 

Kirk Burroughs - Senior Director of Technology, Qualcomm Engineering Services Group

 $\textbf{Rob Anderson -} \ Chief \ Technology \ Officer, \ True Position$ 

**Timothy Lorello** – Senior Vice President, Chief Marketing Officer, TeleCommunication Systems (TCS)

Carol Politi - Chief Executive Officer, TRX Systems, Inc.

2:15 p.m. - 2:30 p.m.: Break

Roundtable Discussion (2:30 p.m. – 3:30 p.m.)

Audio/video coverage of the meeting will be broadcast live with open captioning over the Internet from the FCC's web page at <a href="www.fcc.gov/live">www.fcc.gov/live</a>. The FCC's webcast is free to the public. Those who watch the live video stream of the event may email event-related questions to <a href="livequestions@fcc.gov">livequestions@fcc.gov</a>. Depending on the volume of questions and time constraints, the panel moderators will work to respond to as many questions as possible during the workshop.

Reasonable accommodations for persons with disabilities are available upon request. Please include a description of the accommodation you will need. Individuals making such requests must include their contact information should FCC staff need to contact them for more information. Requests should be

made as early as possible. Please send an e-mail to <a href="fcc504@fcc.gov">fcc504@fcc.gov</a> or call the Consumer & Governmental Affairs Bureau: 202-418-0530 (voice), 202-418-0432 (TTY).

For additional information about the workshop, please contact Timothy May or Dana Zelman of the Policy and Licensing Division of the Public Safety and Homeland Security Bureau. Timothy May can be reached by phone at (202) 418-1463 or by email at <a href="mailto:Timothy.May@fcc.gov">Timothy.May@fcc.gov</a>; Dana Zelman can be reached by phone at (202) 418-0546 or by email at <a href="mailto:Dana.Zelman@fcc.gov">Dana.Zelman@fcc.gov</a>.

- FCC -