

Federal Communications Commission 445 12th St., S.W. Washington, D.C. 20554

News Media Information 202 / 418-0500 Internet: http://www.fcc.gov TTY: 1-888-835-5322

DA-13-577 Released: April 1, 2013

CONSUMER ADVISORY COMMITTEE -- ANNOUNCEMENT OF RECHARTERING, APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS, DESIGNATION OF CHAIRPERSON, AGENDA, DATE AND TIME OF MEETING

By this Public Notice, the Federal Communications Commission ("Commission") announces the appointment of members to its Consumer Advisory Committee ("Committee"), designates a Chairperson for that Committee, and the meeting date, time, and agenda of the Committee's first meeting under its renewed charter.

PURPOSE AND FUNCTIONS OF THE COMMITTEE

The Committee was established in November 2000 to make recommendations to the Commission regarding consumer issues within the jurisdiction of the Commission and to facilitate the participation of consumers (including people with disabilities and underserved populations, such as Native Americans and persons living in rural areas) in proceedings before the Commission. Issues or questions to be considered by the CAC may include, but are not limited to the following topic areas:

- Consumer Protection and Education;
- Implementation of Commission rules and Consumer Participation in the FCC rulemaking process;
- Access by People with Disabilities; and,
- Impact of New and Emerging Technologies.

The Committee is organized under, and operates in accordance with, the provisions of the Federal Advisory Committee Act, 5 U.S.C. App. 2 (1988). Each meeting of the Committee is open to the public. A notice of each meeting will be published in the Federal Register at least fifteen (15) days prior to each meeting. Records will be maintained of each meeting and made available for public inspection.

The Committee's charter was renewed for a seventh 2-year term effective October 23, 2012. During the Committee's seventh term, it is anticipated that the Committee will meet in Washington, D.C. for a minimum of two (2) one-day plenary meetings per year. In addition, as needed, working groups or subcommittees will be established to facilitate the Committee's work between meetings of the full Committee. Meetings will be fully accessible to individuals with disabilities. Members must be willing to commit to a two (2) year term of service, and should be willing and able to attend a minimum of two (2) one-day plenary committee meetings per year in Washington, D.C. Committee members are also expected to participate in deliberations of at least one (1) working group or subcommittee.

APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS AND CHAIRPERSON

By this Public Notice, the Commission re-appoints thirty (30) previous members to the rechartered Committee and further makes three (3) new appointments to the Committee. Of the Committee's thirty-three (33) members, two (2) represent the interests of academia; eleven (11) represent the interests of consumers; six (6) represent the interests of the disability community; two (2) represent the interests of government/regulators; ten (10) represent the interests of industry, and two (2) represent the interests of low income/minority communities. The Committee's membership is designed to be representative of the Commission's many constituencies, and the diversity of the selected members will provide a balanced point of view as required by the Federal Advisory Committee Act. In addition, Chairman Genachowski reappoints Debra R. Berlyn representing the National Consumers League as Chairperson of the Committee. All appointments and reappointments are effective immediately and shall terminate October 23, 2014, or when the Committee is terminated, whichever is earlier.

The Committee's roster by organization name and primary representative is as follows (* indicates new appointment):

AARP-Chris Baker

American Consumer Institute-Stephen Pociask American Foundation for the Blind-Paul Schroeder Appalachian Regional Commission-Mark Defalco Benton Foundation—Cecilia Garcia California Western School of Law, New Media Rights Project-Art Neill Call For Action-Shirley Rooker Coleman Institute for Cognitive Disabilities—Enid Ablowitz Consumer Action—Ken McEldowney Consumer Federation of America-Irene E. Leech Consumer Electronics Association—Julie Kearney Center for Media Justice-Amalia Deloney CTIA The Wireless Association—Scott Bergmann Deaf and Hard of Hearing Consumer Action Network-Claude Stout Digital Policy Institute-Barry Umansky *Health Analytic Services-Douglas Trauner Hearing Loss Association of America-Lise Hamlin Helen Keller National Center for Deaf-Blind Youth and Adults-Dorothy Walt Media Literacy Project-Andrea Quijada Montgomery County, MD, Office of Cable and Broadband Services-Mitsuko Herrera National Asian American Coalition—Mia Martinez National Association of Broadcasters—Ann Bobeck National Association of State Utility Consumer Advocates- Charles Acquard National Cable and Telecommunications Association-Stephanie Podev National Consumer Law Center-Olivia Wein National Consumers League—Debra Berlyn (Chairperson) *Partners Healthcare-Dr. Julian Goldman *Qualcomm Incorporated—Robert Jarrin Rochester Institute of Technology-Raja Kushalnagar

Speech Communication Assistance by Telephone—Rebecca Ladew Time Warner Cable—Fernando R. Laguarda T-Mobile—Luisa Lancetti Verizon Communications, Inc.—Donna Rynex/Mary Crespy (joint representatives)

MEETING DATE, TIME & AGENDA

The first meeting of the Committee under its renewed charter will take place on April 26, 2013, from 9:00 A.M. to 4:00 P.M. at the Commission's headquarters building, Commission Meeting Room TW-C305, 445 12th Street, S.W., Washington, DC 20554.

At its April 26, 2013 meeting, the Committee will consider administrative and procedural matters relating to its functions and may also consider consumer issues within the jurisdiction of the Commission. A limited amount of time will be available on the agenda for comments from the public. Alternatively, members of the public may send written comments to: Scott Marshall, Designated Federal Officer of the Committee at the address provided below.

The meeting is open to the public and the site is fully accessible to people using wheelchairs or other mobility aids. Sign language interpreters, open captioning, assistive listening devices, and Braille copies of the agenda and committee roster will be provided on site. Meetings of the Committee are also broadcast live with open captioning over the Internet from the FCC Live web page at <u>www.fcc.gov/live/</u>.

Simultaneous with the webcast, the meeting will be available through Accessible Event, a service that works with a web browser to make presentations accessible to people with disabilities. Persons wishing to attend through Accessible Event can listen to the audio and use a screen reader to read displayed documents, and can watch the video with open captioning. The website to access Accessible Event is http://accessibleevent.com. The web page prompts for an Event Code which is: 005202376. To learn about the features of Accessible Event, consult its User's Guide at: http://accessibleevent.com/doc/user_guide/.

Other reasonable accommodations for people with disabilities are available upon request. The request should include a detailed description of the accommodation needed and contact information. Please provide as much advance notice as possible; last minute requests will be accepted, but may not be possible to fill. To request an accommodation, send an email to fcc504@fcc.gov or call the Consumer and Governmental Affairs Bureau at 202-418-0530 (voice), 202-418-0432 (TTY).

For further information about the Committee, contact: Scott Marshall, Designated Federal Officer, Consumer & Governmental Affairs Bureau, Federal Communications Commission, Room 3-A633, 445 12th Street, S.W. Washington, DC 20554; phone: 202-418-2809 (voice or Relay); email: scott.marshall@fcc.gov.

- FCC -