Federal Communications Commission 445 12th St., S.W. Washington, D.C. 20554

News Media Information 202 / 418-0500 Internet: http://www.fcc.gov TTY: 1-888-835-5322

> DA 13-985 May 16, 3013

FCC ANNOUNCES MEMBERSHIP OF THE COMMUNICATIONS SECURITY, RELIABILITY, AND INTEROPERABILITY COUNCIL

This Public Notice serves as notice that, consistent with the Federal Advisory Committee Act, Federal Communications Commission (FCC or Commission) Chairman Julius Genachowski has appointed members to the Communications Security, Reliability, and Interoperability Council (CSRIC or Council). The members represent a diverse and balanced mix of viewpoints from public safety organizations; federal, state and local government agencies; the communications industry; organizations representing Internet users; utility companies; public interest organizations; and other experts. The Council is a federal advisory committee that will provide recommendations to the Commission regarding best practices and actions the Commission may take to ensure the security, reliability, and interoperability of communications systems.

Chairman Genachowski has designated Larissa L. Herda, Chairman, CEO and President of tw telecom, inc. as Chair of the Council. A full list of Council members is attached to this Public Notice.

On March 19, 2013 pursuant to the Federal Advisory Committee Act, the Commission renewed the CSRIC charter for a period of two years, through March 18, 2015. Under the charter, CSRIC's duties may include:

¹ 5 U.S.C. App. 2.

² On February 7, 2013, the Commission released a Public Notice seeking nominations and expressions of interest for membership on the Council. *See* FCC Recharters the Communications Security, Reliability, and Interoperability Council for a Fourth Two-Year Term; Seeks Nominations by March 20, 2013 for Membership, *Public Notice*, DA 13-173, rel. Feb. 7, 2013. On March 19, 2013, the Commission extended the time for nominations through April 12, 2013. *See* FCC Extends Deadline for Membership Nominations Until April 12, 2013 for Communications Security, Reliability, and Interoperability Council, *Public Notice*, DA 13-459, rel. Mar. 19, 2013.

³ The Commission will announce the Council's first meeting in the Federal Register and in a separate Public Notice.

- Developing and recommending best practices and actions the FCC can take to promote reliable communications services, including 911, Enhanced 911, and Next Generation 911 service.
- Identifying and recommending to the FCC a set of best practices and actions the FCC can take to make communications networks, including broadband networks and Voice over Internet Protocol systems, more secure and resilient.
- Developing recommendations for actions the FCC should take to enhance the ability of the public to receive timely and accurate emergency alerts and warnings.
- Making recommendations with respect to such additional topics as the FCC may specify.

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT: Jeffery Goldthorp, Designated Federal Official for CSRIC and Associate Bureau Chief for Cybersecurity and Communications Reliability, Public Safety & Homeland Security Bureau, at (202) 418-1096 or jeffery.goldthorp@fcc.gov or Lauren Kravetz, Deputy Designated Federal Official for CSRIC and Deputy Division Chief, Cybersecurity and Communications Reliability Division, Public Safety & Homeland Security Bureau at (202) 418-7944 or jeffery.gov.

COMMUNICATIONS SECURITY, RELIABILITY, & INTEROPERABILITY COUNCIL MEMBERS May 16, 2013

Jeffery Goldthorp, Designated Federal Officer Lauren Kravetz, Deputy Designated Federal Officer

Chair:

Larissa L. Herda, tw telecom, inc.

Members:

Brian J. Allen, Time Warner Cable, Inc.

Robert Azzi, Sprint Nextel Corporation

Donna Bethea-Murphy, Iridium Satellite, LLC

Kent Bressie, North American Submarine Cable Association

Howard W. Brown, Tulalip Data Services

Lynn Claudy, National Association of Broadcasters

Seth Davis, Virgin Islands Telephone Corporation

Donna Dodson, National Institute of Standards and Technology, U.S. Department of Commence Craig Donaldson, Intrado, Inc.

David Donovan, New York State Broadcasters Association, Inc.

Andy Ellis, Akamai Technologies

T. Brook Fitzsimmons, AT&T

Laurie Flaherty, National Highway Safety Transportation Administration, U.S. Department of Transportation

Peter Fonash, Ph.D., U.S. Department of Homeland Security

Brian Fontes, Ph.D., National Emergency Number Association

Robert Gessner, American Cable Association

Brenton Greene, Applied Communications Services, Inc.

Joseph Lorenzo Hall, Center for Democracy and Technology

Rodney Joffe, Neustar, Inc.

Brian Josef, CTIA - the Wireless Association

Omar Khan, NO Mobile

Brett Kilbourne, Utilities Telcom Council

Elise Kim, 9-1-1 for Kids

James Lienau, Nsight

Alice Lippert, U.S. Department of Energy

John Madden, National Emergency Management Association

Kyle Malady, Verizon

Sam Matheny, Capitol Broadcasting Company, Inc.

John McCoskey, Public Broadcasting Service

Danny McPherson, Verisign, Inc.

Ann Miles, Federal Energy Regulatory Commission

Michael Mosher, T-Mobile USA, Inc.

Mehran Nazari, Rural Telecommunications Group, Inc.

Michael O'Reirdan, M³AAWG

Henry Wayne Pacine, Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve

Mark Paese, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, U.S. Department of Commence Damon Penn, Federal Emergency Management Agency, U.S. Department of Homeland Security Brian Peretti, U.S. Department of the Treasury

Richard Perlotto, Shadowserver Foundation

Matthew Rantanen, Southern California Tribal Chairmen's Association, Tribal Digital Village Rod Rasmussen, Internet Identity

Francisco Sánchez, Jr., Harris County (TX) Homeland Security and Emergency Management William Schully, DirecTV

Bill Smith, PayPal, Inc.

Gigi Smith, APCO

Myrna Soto, Comcast Cable

Steve Souder, Department of Public Safety Communications (9-1-1 Center), Fairfax County, VA

Dorothy Spears-Dean, Commonwealth of Virginia Wireless E-911 Services Board

Craig Speizle, Online Trust Alliance

Joe St. Sauver, Internet 2

Maurice Tosé, TeleCommunication System, Inc.

S. RaoVasireddy, Telecommunications Industry Association

Christian Vogler, Ph.D., Deaf and Hard of Hearing Consumer Advocacy Network

Tim Walden, CenturyLink

Errol Weiss, Citi

The Honorable Geoffrey Why, National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners

The Honorable Pamela Witmer, Pennsylvania Public Utility Commission

Eric Woody, Union Wireless