Federal Communications Commission 445 12<sup>th</sup> St., S.W. Washington, D.C. 20554

News Media Information 202 / 418-0500 Internet: http://www.fcc.gov TTY: 1-888-835-5322

> DA 14-1053 July 24, 2014

# CHAIRMAN WHEELER ANNOUNCES STOLEN MOBILE DEVICE WORKING GROUP MEMBERS

The Federal Communications Commission (FCC) announced today the members of the Technological Advisory Council's (TAC) Working Group on Mobile Device Theft Prevention. <sup>1</sup> The Council, comprised of a wide array of leading technical experts, supports the Commission's identification of areas for innovation and development of technology policies promoting America's competitiveness in the global economy.

On June 19, 2014, Chairman Wheeler directed the TAC to form a working group to develop industry-wide recommendations to mitigate the increasing theft of mobile devices, which has become a major source of crime in the United States. The working group, comprised of representatives from key industries involved with mobile technologies, members of law enforcement, and consumer interest organizations, will develop recommendations for Commission action.

In announcing the members of the working group, Chairman Wheeler stated: "I am pleased that these recognized leaders have committed to assist the Commission in developing policies and recommendations that will advance the goal of stopping the theft of mobile devices and thereby better protect consumers."

The working group will report its findings and recommendations to the full Technological Advisory Council, which then will bring forward its recommendations to the Commission. The TAC is chaired by Dennis Roberson, IIT. The chairs and members of the working group are as follows:

## **Chairs of Mobile Device Theft Prevention Working Group**

- Brian Daly, Director of Core Network and Government/Regulatory Standards, AT&T and member of the Technological Advisory Council
- Robert Kubik, Director of Communications Policy and Regulatory Affairs, Samsung

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> On June 24, 2014, the Commission released a Public Notice seeking nominations and expressions of interest for membership on the working group. *See* Technological Advisory Council Seeks Members for Mobile Device Theft Prevention Working Group, *Public Notice*, DA 14-875, rel. June 24, 2014.

## Members of the Mobile Device Theft Prevention Working Group

- Asaf Askenazi, Director of Product Management, Qualcomm
- Jay Barbour, Certified Information Systems Security Professional and Security Director, Blackberry
- Brad Blanken, Vice President of Industry Development, Competitive Carriers Association
- Craig Boswell, President, Hobi
- Eric Feldman, Associate Deputy Assistant Director, Cyber Crimes Center, Department of Homeland Security
- John Foust, Special Assistant, Executive Office of the Chief of Police, Washington, D.C. Metropolitan Police Department
- Les Gray, Chief Operations Officer, Recipero
- Joe Heaps, Policy Advisor, National Institute of Justice
- Gary Jones, Senior Director and Head of Technical Standards Policy, T-Mobile
- Sang Kim, Principal Researcher, LG
- Jake Laperruque, Fellow on Privacy, Surveillance, and Security, Center for Democracy and Technology
- John Marinho, Vice President of Technology and CyberSecurity, CTIA The Wireless Association
- Special Agent Samuel Messinger, US Secret Service
- Jason Novak, Manager of Privacy Engineering, Apple
- Kirthika Parmeswaran, Principal Solutions Architect, Ericsson
- Greg Post, President, Recipero (Alternate)
- Ian Robertson, Vice President of Security, Engineering, and Innovation, Motorola Mobility
- Deepti Rohatgi, Mobile Security Policy Advisor, Lookout
- Mark Romer, Senior Director, Asurion Mobile Applications
- Mike Rou, Senior Manager, eBay
- Matt Rowe, Vice President and General Counsel, Gazelle
- Special Agent Christian Schorle, FBI Newark, Cyber Task Force
- David Strumwasser, Principal Member of Technical Staff, Verizon

- Maxwell Szabo, Legislative Affairs and Policy Manager, Office of District Attorney George Gascón
- Nick Tucker, Program Manager, Microsoft
- Samir Vaidya, Director of Technology, Verizon (Alternate)

### ACCESSIBLE FORMATS

To request materials in accessible formats for people with disabilities (Braille, large print, electronic files, audio format), please send an e-mail to <a href="fcc504@fcc.gov">fcc504@fcc.gov</a> or call the Consumer and Governmental Affairs Bureau, (202) 418-0530 (voice) or (202) 418-0432 (TTY).

### **FURTHER INFORMATION**

For further information, please contact: Walter Johnston, (202)418-0807 (voice), walter.johnston@fcc.gov.