

Federal Communications Commission 445 12<sup>th</sup> St., S.W. Washington, D.C. 20554

News Media Information 202 / 418-0500 Internet: https://www.fcc.gov TTY: 1-888-835-5322

> DA 15-1156 Released: October 8, 2015

# FCC ANNOUNCES APPOINTMENT OF THE MEMBERSHIP OF THE NORTH AMERICAN NUMBERING COUNCIL

#### CC Docket No. 92-237

By this Public Notice, the Federal Communications Commission (FCC or Commission) announces the membership of the North American Numbering Council (NANC or Council), whose charter recently was renewed through September 18, 2017.<sup>1</sup> The NANC will provide advice and recommendations to the Commission to foster efficient and impartial North American Numbering Plan (NANP) administration; will advise the Commission on numbering policy and technical issues; and will help to ensure that numbering resources are available to all telecommunications service providers consistent with the requirements of the Telecommunications Act of 1996.

"The value of this federal advisory committee to the telecommunications industry and to the public cannot be overstated," said Wireline Competition Bureau Chief Matt DelNero. "Since 1995, the Council's recommendations to the Commission have provided critical input on numbering policy and administration. I look forward to continuing to work with the NANC on numbering policy in the important and ongoing process of transitioning TDM networks to IP, among other important issues."

## COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIP AND CHAIRMAN

By Public Notice released September 11, 2015, the Commission announced the renewal of the Council's charter for an eleventh two-year term, and solicited applications for membership thereon with applications due September 25, 2015. In response to the Commission's call for nominations,<sup>2</sup> after careful consideration, the Commission has selected the members named below. The membership is well-balanced, with a diverse and balanced mix of viewpoints from organizations representing carriers, cable providers, Internet telephony (VoIP) providers, industry associations, consumer advocates, state regulators and other stakeholders. FCC Chairman Tom Wheeler has appointed the Honorable Betty Ann Kane, Chairman of the Public Service Commission of the District of Columbia, as the NANC Chairman. Marilyn Jones, Attorney Advisor in the Competition Policy Division of the Wireline Competition Bureau, will serve as the Designated Federal Officer of the NANC.

The NANC will operate in accordance with the provisions of the Federal Advisory Committee Act (FACA).<sup>3</sup> Each meeting of the Committee will be open to the public. A notice of each meeting will

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> On September 11, 2015, the Commission announced the re-chartering of the NANC, and requested nominations for membership on the Council. *FCC Announces Renewal of North American Numbering Council and Requests Nominations for Membership*, CC Docket No. 92-237, Public Notice, DA 15-1008 (Wireline Comp. Bur. rel. Sept. 11, 2015).

 $<sup>^{2}</sup>$  Id.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup> 5 U.S.C. Appx. 2.

be published in the Federal Register at least fifteen (15) days in advance of the meeting. Records will be maintained of each meeting and made available for public inspection.

During its eleventh term, it is anticipated that the NANC will meet in Washington, D.C, for a minimum of three (3) one-day plenary meetings per year. In addition, as needed, working groups or subcommittees will be established to facilitate the Council's work between meetings of the full Committee. Meetings will be fully accessible to individuals with disabilities.

Members must be willing to commit to a two (2) year term of service, and should be willing and able to attend a minimum of three (3) one-day plenary committee meetings per year in Washington, DC, or participate *via* telephone. Committee members are also expected to participate in deliberations of at least one (1) working group or subcommittee.

The Chairman and Members of the Council are as follows:

### Chairman:

The Honorable Betty Ann Kane Public Service Commission of the District of Columbia

## Members:

Company	Member	Alternate
ATL Communications	Aelea Christofferson President	Brian Lynott Founder and CEO
AT&T Inc.	Henry G. Hultquist VP – Federal Regulatory	Mark Lancaster Sr. Network Support Manager
Bandwidth.com, Inc.	Greg Rogers Deputy General Counsel	Mary Tuten VP, Customer Experience
CenturyLink	Mary Retka Director, Network Policy	Jeffrey S. Lanning Director, Federal Regulatory Affairs
Comcast Corporation	Valerie R. Cardwell Director – Carrier Management & Corporate Development	Mary McManus Senior Director, FCC and Regulatory Affairs
Competitive Carriers Association	Rebecca Murphy Thompson General Counsel	C. Sean Spivey Assistant General Counsel
COMPTEL	Alan Hill VP, Government Relations & Strategic Business Development	
Cox Communications, Inc. (Cox)	Jose M. Jimenez Executive Director, External Regulatory Affairs	Ida Bourne Director, Regulatory Affairs
CTIA – The Wireless Association	Matthew Gerst Director, Regulatory Affairs	Benjamin Aron Director, State Regulatory & External Affairs

800 Response Information Services, LLC	David K. Greenhaus Director of Regulatory Affairs	
HyperCube Telecom, LLC	Doug Davis Executive VP & Chief Technology Officer	Robert W. McCausland VP, Regulatory and Government Affairs
Level 3 Communications, LLC	Scott Seab Senior Regulatory Counsel	Daniel Stromsland Director, Switched Access Planning
National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners (NARUC) Washington, DC	Honorable Betty Ann Kane Chairman, Public Service Commission of the District of Columbia	Cary B. Hinton Policy Advisor to the Chairman
(NARUC) Idaho	Honorable Paul Kjellander President, Idaho Public Utilities Commission	Carolee Hall Telecommunications Analyst
(NARUC) Ohio	Honorable Lynn Slaby Commissioner, Public Utilities Commission of Ohio	
(NARUC) Nebraska	Honorable Crystal Rhoades Commissioner, Nebraska Public Service Commission	Cullin Robbins IT/Telecom/Communications Analyst
(NARUC) Massachusetts	Honorable Karen Charles Peterson Commissioner, Massachusetts Department of Telecommunications & Cable	Michael Scott Attorney
(NARUC) Missouri	Honorable Scott T. Rupp Commissioner, Missouri Public Service Commission	Rachel Hassani Advisor to Commissioner Rupp
National Association of State Utility Consumer Advocates (NASUCA)	Helen M. Mickiewicz Assistant General Counsel, California Public Utilities Commission	Wayne R. Jortner Staff Attorney, Vermont Department of Public Service
National Cable & Telecommunications Assoc. (NCTA)	Jerome Fitch Candelaria VP and Counsel, California Cable & Telecommunications Association	Betty Sanders Director, Regulatory Affairs Charter Communications
NTCA - The Rural Broadband Association	Stephen F. Pastorkovich Associate Director, Technology & Business Development	Brian Ford Regulatory Counsel

SIP Forum	Richard Shockey Chairman of the Board	
SMS/800, Inc.	Gina Perini Chief Administrative Officer and General Counsel	Joel Bernstein VP, Regulatory and Public Policy
Sprint Nextel Corporation	Rosemary Emmer Industry Regulatory Advisor	Scott Freiermuth Counsel, Government Affairs
T-Mobile USA	Michele K. Thomas National Director, State Regulatory & Numbering Policy	Indra Sehdev Chalk Principal Corporate Counsel
United States Telecom Association	Thomas Soroka, Jr. VP, Engineering & Technology	
Verizon	Ann Berkowitz Director of Federal Affairs	Robert Morse Assistant General Counsel
Vonage Holdings Corp. (Vonage)	Brendan Kasper Senior Regulatory Counsel	
XO Communications	Tiki Gaugler Senior Manager, Regulatory	Gigi Leeger Regulatory Affairs Director

**FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT:** Marilyn Jones, NANC Designated Federal Officer, Wireline Competition Bureau, Competition Policy Division, (202) 418-2357 (voice); email: Marilyn.Jones@fcc.gov.

- FCC -