

Federal Communications Commission 445 12th St., S.W. Washington, D.C. 20554

News Media Information 202 / 418-0500 Internet: http://www.fcc.gov TTY: 1-888-835-5322

> DA 15-824 Released: July 16, 2015

WIRELINE COMPETITION BUREAU SEEKS NOMINATIONS FOR TWELVE BOARD MEMBER POSITIONS ON THE UNIVERSAL SERVICE ADMINISTRATIVE COMPANY BOARD OF DIRECTORS

WC Docket No. 96-45 WC Docket No. 97-21

Nominations due by: August 17, 2015

Pursuant to section 54.703(c) of the Commission's rules, the Wireline Competition Bureau (Bureau) seeks nominations for the following Board member positions on the Board of Directors of the Universal Service Administrative Company (USAC) listed below.¹ The Bureau previously sought and received nominations for the six Board member positions that expired on December 31, 2013. Given that the Bureau received those nominations almost two years ago, we seek any new nominations for those six Board member positions that expired December 31, 2014.³ Nominations received prior to the release of this public notice do not need to be resubmitted and will be considered along with any new nominations received for the Board positions listed below.

- Representative for incumbent local exchange carriers (Bell Operating Companies) (position currently held by Joel Lubin)
- Representative for libraries that are eligible to receive discounts pursuant to section 54.501 of the Commission's rules (position is currently vacant)
- Representative for state consumer advocates (position currently held by Wayne Jortner)
- Representative for commercial mobile radio service (CMRS) providers (position currently held by Scott Bergmann)
- Representative for cable operators (position currently held by Jose Jimenez)

¹ 47 C.F.R. § 54.703(c).

 $^{^{2}}$ To maintain three-year staggered terms among Board members, the Board members that are appointed for the positions that expired on December 31, 2013 will have terms that expire December 31, 2016. *See* 47 C.F.R. § 54.703(c)(3).

³ Board members that are appointed for the positions that expired on December 31, 2014 will have terms that expire December 31, 2017. *Id.*

- Representative for schools that are eligible to receive discounts pursuant to section 54.501 of the Commission's rules (position currently held by Daniel A. Domenech, Ph.D.)
- Representative for schools that are eligible to receive discounts pursuant to section 54.501 of the Commission's rules (position currently held by Brian L. Talbott, Ph.D.)
- Representative for low-income consumers (position currently held by Ellis Jacobs)
- Representative for competitive local exchange carriers (position currently held by Joseph Gillan)
- Representative for rural health care providers that are eligible to receive supported services pursuant to section 54.601 (position currently held by Katharine Hsu Wibberly, Ph.D.)
- Representative for incumbent local exchange carriers (non-Bell Operating Companies) with less than \$40 million in annual revenues (position currently held by Geoffrey A. Feiss)
- Representative for interexchange carriers with annual operating revenues of \$3 billion or less (position currently held by Rochelle D. Jones)

All USAC Board members are charged with a fiduciary duty to protect the interests of USAC consistent with all state and federal laws.⁴ We encourage nominees with expertise relevant to running a large and complex organization with such skills as accounting, finance, auditing, procurement, data management and information technology. We are persuaded that having Board members with such substantive areas of expertise will improve the management, administration and oversight of USAC. If members of the relevant industry or non-industry group fail to reach consensus on a candidate to serve on the Board, or fail to submit a nomination for the particular Board member seat, the Chairman of the Federal Communications Commission will select an individual from that industry or non-industry group to serve on the Board.

Pursuant to section 54.703(c)(2) of the Commission's rules, each nomination must be captioned: **"In the Matter of: Nomination for Universal Service Administrative Company Board of Directors, CC Docket Nos. 97-21 and 96-45."**⁵ Nominations may be filed using the Commission's Electronic Comment Filing System (ECFS), or by filing paper copies.

- Electronic Filers: Comments may be filed electronically using the Internet by accessing the ECFS: http://fjallfoss.fcc.gov/ecfs2/.
- Paper Filers: Parties who choose to file by paper must file an original and one copy of each filing. Filings can be sent by hand or messenger delivery, by commercial overnight courier, or by firstclass or overnight U.S. Postal Service mail. All filings must be addressed to the Commission's Secretary, Office of the Secretary, Federal Communications Commission.
 - All hand-delivered or messenger-delivered paper filings for the Commission's Secretary must be delivered to FCC Headquarters at 445 12th St., SW, Room TW-A325, Washington, DC 20554. The filing hours are 8:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m. All hand deliveries

⁴ See Cede & Co. v. Technicolor, 634 A.2d 345, 360 (Del. 1993) (explaining how directors are charged with an unyielding duty to protect the interests of the corporation).

⁵ 47 C.F.R. § 54.703(c)(2).

must be held together with rubber bands or fasteners. Any envelopes and boxes must be disposed of before entering the building.

- Commercial overnight mail (other than U.S. Postal Service Express Mail and Priority Mail) must be sent to 9300 East Hampton Drive, Capitol Heights, MD 20743.
- U.S. Postal Service first-class, Express, and Priority mail must be addressed to 445 12th Street, SW, Washington DC 20554.

People with Disabilities: To request materials in accessible formats for people with disabilities (braille, large print, electronic files, audio format), send an e-mail to fcc504@fcc.gov, or call the Consumer & Governmental Affairs Bureau at 202-418-0530 (voice), 202-418-0432 (TTY).

In addition to the electronic or paper filing, two copies of each nomination should be submitted to Charles Tyler, Telecommunications Access Policy Division, Wireline Competition Bureau, Federal Communications Commission, 445 12th Street, S.W., Room 5-A452, Washington, DC 20554. Each nomination should specify the position on the Board of Directors for which such nomination is submitted and should be accompanied by the nominee's professional and biographical information, such as a résumé or professional biography. All nominations must be filed with the Office of the Secretary by August 17, 2015.

For further information, please contact Garnet Hanly (garnet.hanly@fcc.gov) of the Wireline Competition Bureau, Telecommunications Access Policy Division, (202) 418-0995.

- FCC -