Federal Communications Commission 445 12th St., S.W. Washington, D.C. 20554

News Media Information 202 / 418-0500 Internet: http://www.fcc.gov TTY: 1-888-835-5322

> DA 17-72 January 18, 2017

PUBLIC SAFETY AND HOMELAND SECURITY BUREAU ANNOUNCES REGION 8 (NEW YORK METROPOLITAN AND NORTHERN NEW JERSEY) REGIONAL PLANNING COMMITTEES TO HOLD 700 MHZ AND 800 MHZ MEETINGS

Gen. Docket 88-476 and WT Docket No. 02-378

The Region 8 (New York Metropolitan and Northern New Jersey)¹ 700 MHz and 800 MHz Regional Planning Committees (RPCs) will hold their 2017 quarterly meetings on the following dates and locations. The 700 MHz meetings will begin at 10:00 a.m. and the 800 MHz meetings will immediately follow.

February 23, 2017 - 10:00 am

Rockland County Fire Training Center 35 Firemens Memorial Drive, Pomona, NY 10970

May 18, 2017- 10:00 am

Paramus Life Safety Complex 1 Jockish Square Paramus, New Jersey

September 7, 2017- 10:00 am

Rockland County Fire Training Center 35 Firemens Memorial Drive, Pomona, NY 10970

December 7, 2017- 10:00 am

Paramus Life Safety Complex 1 Jockish Square Paramus, New Jersey

The purpose of these meetings is to discuss the needs of the 800 MHz, 700 MHz and 4.9 GHz spectrum users including public safety, public health, emergency management, and public utility services.

¹ The Region 8 700 MHz and 800 MHz regional planning area consists of the following counties in New York State and New Jersey: Bronx, Kings, Nassau, New York, Orange, Putnam, Queens, Richmond, Rockland, Suffolk, Sullivan, Ulster, Dutchess, and Westchester Counties, New York; Bergen, Essex, Hudson, Morris, Passaic, Sussex, Union, Warren, Middlesex, Somerset, Hunterdon, Mercer, and Monmouth Counties, New Jersey. Region 8's 800 MHz planning area also includes the following counties from Connecticut: Fairfield, Litchfield, New Haven, and Middlesex Counties, Connecticut.

All eligible public safety providers whose sole purpose or principal purpose is to protect the safety of life, health, or property in Region 8 would utilize these frequencies. It is essential that not only public safety, but all government, Native American Tribal, and non-governmental organizations eligible under Section 90.523 of the Commission's Rules be represented in order to ensure that each agency's future spectrum needs are considered in the allocation process. Interested parties wishing to participate in the planning process for utilization of the public safety spectrum in the 800 MHz, 700 MHz and 4.9 GHz bands are encouraged to attend.

For additional information concerning this meeting, please contact either the Region 8 Vice-Chairman or Secretary listed below or visit the committee website at http://www.dhses.ny.gov/oiec/committees.

Morton Leifer, PE Vice Chairman (Acting Chair) Clarkstown Police Department 20 Maple Avenue New City, NY 10956 Phone: (845) 406-0729

Email: m.leifer@clarkstown.org

David K. Stern
Secretary (Region 8 700 MHz and 800 MHz) – Non-Voting
V-COMM, L.L.C.
2540 U.S. Highway 130, Suite 101
Cranbury, NJ 08512

Phone: (609) 655-1200, ext. 323 Email: david.stern@vcomm-eng.com