

Federal Communications Commission 445 12<sup>th</sup> St., S.W. Washington, D.C. 20554

News Media Information 202 / 418-0500 Internet: http://www.fcc.gov TTY: 1-888-835-5322

> DA 18-715 July 11, 2018

## PUBLIC SAFETY AND HOMELAND SECURITY BUREAU ANNOUNCES REGION 8 (NEW YORK METROPOLITAN AND NORTHERN NEW JERSEY) REGIONAL PLANNING COMMITTEES TO HOLD 700 MHZ AND 800 MHZ MEETINGS

## Gen. Docket 88-476 and WT Docket No. 02-378

The Region 8 (New York Metropolitan and Northern New Jersey)<sup>1</sup> 700 MHz and 800 MHz Regional Planning Committees (RPCs) will hold two consecutive planning meetings on Thursday, September 6, 2018. Beginning at 10:00 a.m., at the Rockland County Fire Training Center, 35 Firemens Memorial Drive, Pomona, NY 10970. The 800 MHz RPC meeting will convene immediately following the 700 MHZ meeting.

The agenda for the 700 MHz meeting include:

- Review and approve September 6, 2018 meeting agenda
- Review and approve previous meeting report (May 10, 2018)
- Officers Reports
  - Vice Chair Maribel Martinez-Bradwell
  - o Treasure Myles Quinn
  - o Secretary David Stern
- Interoperability (SIEC Reports)
  - New York State
  - o New Jersey
- Working Group/Technical Subcommittee Activities
  - 4.9 GHz

## - Sixth Further Notice of Proposed Rulemaking - WP Docket No. 07-100

- 700 MHz Technical Subcommittee
  - Applications Status
  - Concurrence Requests
- Old Business
  - FCC R&O 14-172 T-Band Replacement Channels Window Opening and discussion of guidelines for competing applications
- New Business/Comments
  - o Meeting Schedule for 2019
  - Election Schedule for 2019
- Adjourn

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> The Region 8 700 MHz and 800 MHz regional planning area consists of the following counties in New York State and New Jersey: Bronx, Kings, Nassau, New York, Orange, Putnam, Queens, Richmond, Rockland, Suffolk, Sullivan, Ulster, Dutchess, and Westchester Counties, New York; Bergen, Essex, Hudson, Morris, Passaic, Sussex, Union, Warren, Middlesex, Somerset, Hunterdon, Mercer, and Monmouth Counties, New Jersey. Region 8's 800 MHz planning area also includes the following counties from Connecticut: Fairfield, Litchfield, New Haven, and Middlesex Counties, Connecticut.

The agenda for the 800 MHz meeting include:

- Review and approve September 6, 2018 meeting agenda
- Review and approve previous meeting report (May 10, 2018)
- Officers Reports
  - Vice Chair Maribel Martinez-Bradwell
  - o Treasure Myles Quinn
  - Secretary David Stern
- Region 8 –800MHz Technical Subcommittee
  - o Applications Status
  - Concurrence Requests
  - 800 MHz Plan update
- Old Business
- New Business/Comments
  - Meeting Schedule for 2019
  - Election Schedule for 2019
- Adjourn
- Next Meetings: Thursday, December 6, 2018, Paramus Life Safety Complex, NJ

All eligible public safety providers whose sole purpose or principal purpose is to protect the safety of life, health, or property in Region 8 would utilize these frequencies. It is essential that not only public safety, but all government, Native American Tribal, and non-governmental organizations eligible under Section 90.523 of the Commission's Rules be represented in order to ensure that each agency's future spectrum needs are considered in the allocation process. Interested parties wishing to participate in the planning process for utilization of the public safety spectrum in the 800 MHz, 700 MHz and 4.9 GHz bands are encouraged to attend. Administrators who are not oriented in the communications field should delegate someone with this knowledge to attend, participate, and represent their agency's needs.

For additional information concerning this meeting, please contact either the Region 8 Chairman or Secretary listed below or visit the committee website at <u>http://www.dhses.ny.gov/oiec/committees</u>.

Morton Leifer, PE Chair (Region 8 700 MHz and 800 MHz) Clarkstown Police Department 20 Maple Avenue New City, NY 10956 Phone: (845) 406-0729 Email: m.leifer@clarkstown.org

David K. Stern Secretary (Region 8 700 MHz and 800 MHz) – Non-Voting V-COMM, L.L.C. 2540 U.S. Highway 130, Suite 101 Cranbury, NJ 08512 Phone: (609) 655-1200, ext. 323 Email: <u>david.stern@vcomm-eng.com</u>

– FCC –