Federal Communications Commission 445 12th St., S.W. Washington, D.C. 20554

News Media Information 202 / 418-0500 Internet: https://www.fcc.gov

TTY: 1-888-835-5322

DA 19-1241

Released: December 6, 2019

FCC ANNOUNCES WORKING GROUP CHAIRS AND VICE CHAIRS FOR THE TASK FORCE FOR REVIEWING THE CONNECTIVITY AND TECHNOLOGY NEEDS OF PRECISION AGRICULTURE IN THE UNITED STATES

GN Docket No. 19-329

This Public Notice serves as notice that Federal Communications Commission Chairman Ajit Pai has appointed chairs and vice chairs to lead the four working groups for the Task Force for Reviewing the Connectivity and Technology Needs of Precision Agriculture in the United States (Precision Ag Connectivity Task Force or Task Force): (1) the Mapping and Analyzing Connectivity on Agricultural Lands working group, (2) the Examining Current and Future Connectivity Demand for Precision Agriculture working group, (3) the Encouraging Adoption of Precision Agriculture and Availability of High-Quality Jobs on Connected Farms working group, and (4) the Accelerating Broadband Deployment on Unserved Agricultural Lands working group.¹ The chairs and vice chairs of these working groups, along with the chair and vice chair of the Task Force announced previously in the Task Force Members Public Notice, are listed in the Attachment to this Public Notice. Full membership of the working groups will be announced at a later date.

The Precision Ag Connectivity Task Force is organized under, and operates in accordance with, the provisions of the Federal Advisory Committee Act.²

More information about the Task Force is available at https://www.fcc.gov/task-force-reviewing-connectivity-and-technology-needs-precision-agriculture-united-states. You may also contact Jesse Jachman, Designated Federal Officer of the Task Force, at (202)418-2668, or Jesse-Jachman@fcc.gov; Erin Boone, Deputy Designated Federal Officer, at (202)418-0736, or Jesse-Jachman@fcc.gov; or Celia Lewis@fcc.gov.

-FCC-

¹ FCC Announces and Solicits Nominations for Working Groups of the Task Force for Reviewing the Connectivity and Technology Needs of Precision Agriculture in the United States, GN Docket No. 19-329, Public Notice, DA 19-1188 (Nov. 19, 2019) (Task Force Members Public Notice).

² 5 U.S.C. App. 2.

ATTACHMENT

CHAIRS AND VICE CHAIRS OF THE PRECISION AG CONNECTIVITY TASK FORCE AND WORKING GROUPS

* indicates a member of the of the Precision Ag Connectivity Task Force

Task Force

Chair: Teddy Bekele, Senior Vice President and Chief Technology Officer*

Land O'Lakes

Vice Chair: Catherine Moyer, Chief Executive Officer and General Manager*

Pioneer Communications

Mapping and Analyzing Connectivity on Agricultural Lands Working Group

Chair: Michael Adelaine, Ph.D., Vice President for Technology and Security* *South Dakota State University*

Vice Chair: Sreekala Bajwa, Ph.D., Vice President, Dean & Director; College of Agriculture & Montana

Agricultural Experiment Station

Montana State University

Examining Current and Future Connectivity Demand for Precision Agriculture Working Group

Chair: Daniel T. Leibfried, Director Advanced Technology, Intelligent Solutions Group*

John Deere

Vice Chair: Blake Hurst, President

Missouri Farm Bureau

Encouraging Adoption of Precision Agriculture and Availability of High-Quality Jobs on Connected Farms Working Group

Chair: Mike McCormick, President* *Mississippi Farm Bureau Federation*

Vice Chair: Julie Bushell, President, Paige Wireless

Irrigation Association

Accelerating Broadband Deployment on Unserved Agricultural Lands Working Group

Chair: Jeff Pettit, President and CEO, Noash Construction, Inc.*

National Association of Tower Erectors

Vice Chair: Heather Hampton Knodle, Vice President, Knodle Ltd. Farms

American Agri-Women