Federal Communications Commission 445 12th St., S.W. Washington, D.C. 20554

News Media Information 202 / 418-0500 Internet: https://www.fcc.gov TTY: 1-888-835-5322

DA 19-274

Released: April 10, 2019

RENEWAL OF CHARTER, APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERSHIP, AND NEXT MEETING, DATE AND TIME, OF THE FCC CONSUMER ADVISORY COMMITTEE

By this Public Notice, the Chairman of the Federal Communications Commission (FCC or Commission) announces the renewal of the charter of the Commission's Consumer Advisory Committee (CAC or Committee), the appointment of members for the Committee's tenth two-year term, and the Committee's next meeting date, time, and agenda. The CAC is organized under, and operated in accordance with, the provisions of the Federal Advisory Committee Act (FACA) and provides advice and recommendations to the Commission on a wide array of consumer matters specified by the Commission.¹

On August 2, 2018, the Commission solicited applications for membership for the CAC's tenth term, and subsequently the Committee's charter was renewed for a two-year term, effective October 20, 2018.² After careful consideration of the applications and nominations for membership received, the Chairman has selected 27 members for the CAC's tenth term, as listed below. The membership consists of a diverse mix of organizations representing consumers, the communications industry, government regulators, trade associations, academia, and other stakeholders including four individuals serving as Special Government Employees.

Scott Marshall, Attorney Advisor, Consumer Policy Division, Consumer and Governmental Affairs Bureau (CGB), will continue to serve as the Designated Federal Officer (DFO) of the CAC.

During the Committee's tenth term, it is anticipated that the Committee will meet in Washington, DC for a minimum of three (3) one-day plenary meetings per year. In addition, as needed, working groups or subcommittees will be established to facilitate the Committee's work between meetings of the full Committee on consumer-related matters specified by the Commission.

The first meeting of the CAC under its renewed charter will take place on Monday, June 3, 2019, 9:00 A.M. to 1:00 P.M. at the Commission headquarters building, Room TW-C305, Commission Meeting Room, 445 12th St. S.W., Washington, DC 20054.

At its June 3, 2019 meeting, the CAC is expected to discuss the roles and responsibilities of the Committee and its members, issues that the Commission wishes the Committee to address, meeting schedules, and any other topics relevant to the CAC's work. The CAC may also receive briefings from Commission staff on issues of interest to consumers. Meetings of the CAC and any working groups or subcommittees will be fully accessible to individuals with disabilities.

¹ 5 U.S.C. App. 2.

² FCC Announces Anticipated Renewal and Membership Solicitation for FCC Consumer Advisory Committee, Public Notice, 33 FCC Rcd 7462 (CGB 2018).

To obtain further information about the Committee, visit the CAC webpage at www.fcc.gov/consumer-advisory-committee or contact: Scott Marshall, DFO, by phone at (202) 418-2809 (voice or relay), or by email at scott.marshall@fcc.gov.

The Committee's roster is as follows:

Chair:

Stephen Pociask, President/CEO American Consumer Institute

(Alternate)

Dr. Krisztina Pusok, Director of Policy and Research

Vice Chair:

Debra Berlyn, Board Member and Officer National Consumers League

(Alternate)

Brian Young, Public Policy Manager

Members:

(1) AARP

Dawit Kahsai, Senior Legislative Representative

(Alternate)

Coralette Hannon, Senior Legislative Representative

(2) America's Communications Association- ACA Connects Mary C. Lovejoy, Vice President of Regulatory Affairs

(Alternate)

Brian Hurley, Vice President of Regulatory Affairs

(3) American Legislative Exchange Council Jonathon Hauenschild, Director, Task Force on Communications and Technology

(Alternate)

Bartlett Cleland, General Counsel

(4) Americans for Tax Reform Katie McAuliffe, Federal Affairs Manager

(Alternate)

Demri Scott, Technology and Telecommunications Fellow

(5) Appalachian Regional Commission Mark Defalco, Manager

(6) AT&T

Vonda Long-Dillard, Area Manager

(Alternate)

Linda Vandeloop, Assistant Vice President, Federal Regulatory

(7) Call For Action

Shirley Rooker, President

(8) Consumer Federation of America

Irene E. Leech, Ph.D., Associate Professor

(Alternate)

Susan Grant, Director of Consumer Protection and Privacy

(9) Consumer Technology Association

Rachel Nemeth, Director, Regulatory Affairs

(Alternate)

Rehan Ehsan, Senior Director, Standards and Technology

(10) Consumer Reports

Jonathan Schwantes, Senior Counsel, Telecommunications Policy

(Alternate)

George Slover, Senior Policy Counsel

(11) CTIA – The Wireless Association

Matthew Gerst, Assistant Vice President, Financial Planning and Analysis

(Alternate)

Ben Aron, Director for State Regulatory and External Affairs

(12) Deaf and Hard of Hearing Consumer Advocacy Network

Ms. Zainab Alkebsi, Policy Counsel, National Association of the Deaf

(Alternate)

Howard A. Rosenblum, CEO, National Association of the Deaf

(13) Digital Policy Institute

Barry D. Umansky, Co-Director, Senior Fellow, and Senior Policy Advisor

(Alternate)

Dom Caristi, Professor

(14) Eric Koch

Serving individually as a subject-matter expert, Special Government Employee

(15) Johnny Kampis

Serving individually as a subject-matter expert, Special Government Employee

(16) Kyle J. Hildebrand

Serving individually as a subject-matter expert, Special Government Employee

(17) Mass. Department of Telecommunications and Cable Joslyn Day, Director, Consumer Division

(Alternate)

Sean M. Carroll, Deputy General Counsel

(18) Michael Santorelli

Serving individually as a subject-matter expert, Special Government Employee

(19) Milwaukee PBS

Bohdan Zachary, General Manager

(Alternate)

Damir Braovac, Manager of Television Administration

(20) National Association of Broadcasters

Larry Walke, Associate General Counsel, Legal and Regulatory Affairs

(21) National Association of State Utility Consumer Advocates

Thaddeus Johnson, Esq., Assistant People's Counsel

(Alternate)

Barbara Burton, Assistant People's Counsel

(22) National Consumer Law Center

Olivia Wein, Staff Attorney

(Alternate)

Margot Saunders, Senior Counsel

(23) NCTA – The Internet and Television Association

Steven Morris, Vice President and Associate General Counsel

(Alternate)

Svetlana Gans, Vice President and Associate General Counsel

(24) The Trevor Project

Sam Brinton, Head of Advocacy and Government Affairs

(Alternate)

Sam Dorison, Chief of Staff

(25) USTelecom

B. Lynn Follansbee, Vice President, Law and Policy

(Alternate)

Michael Saperstein, Vice President, Law and Policy