

Federal Communications Commission 445 12th St., S.W. Washington, D.C. 20554

News Media Information: 202-418-0500 Internet: <u>http://www.fcc.gov</u> TTY: 888-835-5322

> DA 19-440 Released May 20, 2019

FCC ANNOUNCES THE MEMBERSHIP AND NEXT MEETING OF THE TECHNOLOGICAL ADVISORY COUNCIL

The FCC has rechartered its Technological Advisory Council (TAC) for a two-year term commencing on May 17, 2019. The TAC, comprised of a diverse group of leading technology experts, provides technical expertise to the Commission to identify important areas of innovation and develop informed technology policies supporting the United States' competitiveness in the global economy. The TAC will consider and advise the Commission on a variety of topics such as the deployment of 5G technology, the evolution of broadband networks and devices and their implications, the spectrum needs of unmanned aircraft systems, new developments in antenna technology, and the applications of artificial intelligence to telecommunications networks.

The next meeting of the TAC will be held on Friday June 21, 2019, from 10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. in the Commission Meeting Room, 445 12th Street, S.W., Washington, D.C. The public is invited to attend.

Dennis Roberson, Executive Chairman of entigen**logic**TM, serves as Chairman of the Council. Michael Ha, Deputy Chief of the Policy and Rules Division, serves as the Designated Federal Officer. Julius Knapp, Chief of the Office of Engineering and Technology is the Alternate Designated Federal Officer.

Member of the Technological Advisory Council are listed below. For further information, contact Michael Ha at <u>Michael.Ha@fcc.gov</u> or 202-418-2099.

-FCC-

Members of the Technological Advisory Council

- (Chair) Dennis Roberson, Executive Chairman of entigenlogicTM, representing entigenlogic
- Brandon Abley, Technical Issues Director, National Emergency Number Association, representing the National Emergency Number Association
- Shahid Ahmed, Chief Operating Officer, EQUITII, representing EQUITII
- John Barnhill, Executive Advisor, Alianza, representing Alianza
- Mark Bayliss, President, Visual Link Internet, representing Visual Link Internet
- Nomi Bergman, Executive in Residence, Advance/Newhouse, representing Advance/Newhouse
- John Chapin, Vice President of Advanced Technologies, Roberson and Associates, representing the National Spectrum Consortium
- Lynn Claudy, Senior Vice President of Technology, National Association of Broadcasters, representing the National Association of Broadcasters
- Martin Cooper, Chairman, Dyna LLC, representing Dyna
- Brian Daly, Assistant Vice President, AT&T Services, representing AT&T
- Satish Dhanasekaran, Senior Vice President, Keysight Technologies, representing Keysight Technologies
- Adam Drobot, Chairman, OpenTechWorks, representing OpenTechWorks
- Jeff Foerster, Senior Director of Emerging Connection Solutions, Intel Corporation, representing Intel
- Dick Green, Board Member, Liberty Global Inc., representing Liberty Global
- Lisa Guess, Senior Vice President of Global Sales Engineering, Cradle Point, representing Cradle Point
- Russ Gyurek, Director of IoT, CTO Group, Cisco Systems, representing Cisco Systems
- Dale Hatfield, Executive Fellow, Silicon Flatirons Center for Law, Technology and Entrepreneurship, University of Colorado at Boulder, representing Silicon Flatirons Center
- Stephen Hayes, Director of North American Standards, Ericsson North America, representing Ericsson North America
- Mark Hess, Senior Vice President for Business and Industry Affairs, Comcast Corporation, representing Comcast
- Karri Kuoppamaki, Vice President of Network Technology Development and Strategy, T-Mobile, representing T-Mobile
- Steve Lanning, Vice President of Operations Broadband, Viasat, Inc., representing Viasat
- Gregory Lapin, Chair, ARRL RF Safety Committee, representing ARRL The National Association for Amateur Radio
- Kevin Leddy, Senior Vice President Planning & Application, Charter Communications, representing Charter Communications.
- Brian Markwalter, Vice President Research & Standards, Consumer Electronics Association, representing the Consumer Electronics Association
- Milo Medin, Vice President Wireless Services, Google Inc., representing Google
- Lynn Merrill, President and Chief Executive Officer, Monte R. Lee and Company, representing NTCA
- Paul Misener, Vice President of Global Public Policy, Amazon.com, representing Amazon.com
- Jack Nasielski, Senior Director, Qualcomm Inc., representing Qualcomm
- Michael Nawrocki, Vice President of Technology and Solutions, Alliance for Telecommunications Industry Solutions, representing the Alliance for Telecommunications Industry Solutions
- Art Nichols, Vice President of Technology and Architecture, Windstream, representing Windstream
- Madeleine Noland, President, ATSC, representing ATSC
- Steve Nordlund, Vice President and General Manger, Boeing NeXt, representing Boeing

- Theodore Rappaport, Professor of Electrical Engineering, NYU Wireless, New York University, representing NYU Wireless
- Scot Robohn, Vice President of Americas Systems Engineering, Juniper Networks, representing Juniper Networks
- Travis Russell, Director, Oracle Communications CTO Organization, representing Oracle
- Hans-Juergen Schmidtke, Director of Engineering, Facebook, representing Facebook
- Marvin Sirbu, Professor of Engineering and Public Policy, Industrial Administration and Electrical and Computer Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University, serving as a Special Government Employee
- Kevin Sparks, Senior Director, Office of CTO, Nokia Bell Labs, representing Nokia
- Paul Steinberg, Senior Vice President of Technology, Motorola Solutions, representing Motorola Solutions
- Thomas Sawanobori, Senior Vice President and Chief Technology Officer, CTIA, representing CTIA
- David Tennenhouse, Senior Vice President, Chief Research Officer, VMWare, Inc. representing VMWare
- David Young, Vice President Public Policy, Verizon, representing Verizon
- Charlie Zhang, Vice President, Samsung Research America, representing Samsung

Designated Federal Officer

• Michael Ha, Deputy Chief, Policy and Rules Division, Office of Engineering and Technology, FCC

Alternate Designated Federal Officer

• Julius Knapp, Chief, Office of Engineering and Technology, FCC