

# Path to Media Ownership and Sustainability ACCESS TO CAPITAL VIRTUAL SYMPOSIUM

# Access to Capital Working Group of the Advisory Committee on Diversity and Digital Empowerment and the FCC's Media Bureau

Federal Communications Commission Washington, DC November 6, 2020

9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.

9:00 a.m. – 9:30 a.m. **Welcome Remarks** 

Michelle M. Carey Chief, FCC Media Bureau

**FCC Commissioner Geoffrey Starks** 

Anna M. Gomez
Partner, Wiley Rein LLP
Representing Hispanic National Bar Association
Chair, Advisory Committee on Diversity and Digital Empowerment
(ACDDE)

Heather Gate
Director, Digital Inclusion, Connected Nation
Vice Chair, ACDDE

Caroline Beasley
CEO, Beasley Media Group, LLC
Chair, Access to Capital Working Group, ACDDE

9:30 a.m. – 11:00 a.m. Obtaining Financing in Today's Changing Environment

Moderator: DuJuan McCoy

President and CEO, Circle City Broadcasting, LLC

Lending/Finance Subgroup Lead, Access to Capital Working Group, ACDDE

#### Panelists:

Ty M. Shea

Chief Financial Officer, Circle City Broadcasting, LLC

**Garret Komjathy** 

Senior Vice President, Media & Communications Division, U.S. Bank Member, Access to Capital Working Group, ACDDE

Daniel J. Damon

Managing Director, Loan Capital Markets, U.S. Bank

11:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.

# Tax Certificate Policies to Increase Ownership Diversity: Past, Present and Future

#### Introduction

Aama Nahuja

Legal Counsel, A Wonder Media Company, LLC

Political Subgroup Lead, Access to Capital Working Group, ACDDE

# History of Tax Certificate Policy and Minority Media Ownership

**David Honig** 

Principal and CEO, JulGlo Productions

President Emeritus and Senior Advisor, MMTC

Member, Access to Capital Working Group, ACDDE

# **Update on Tax Certificate Reinstatement Legislation**

Aama Nahuja

Legal Counsel, A Wonder Media Company, LLC

Political Subgroup Lead, Access to Capital Working Group, ACDDE

# **Congressional Update on Media Ownership Diversity Legislation**

Kate O'Connor

Chief Counsel, Subcommittee on Communications and Technology,

Committee on Energy and Commerce

U.S. House of Representatives

12:00 p.m. – 12:45 p.m.

#### **LUNCH BREAK**

12:45 p.m. – 2:00 p.m.

# Potential Impact of a Tax Certificate on the Marketplace

# **Moderators:**

Henry Rivera

Partner, Wiley Rein

Representing Emma Bowen Foundation

Member, Access to Capital Working Group, ACDDE

Maurita Coley Flippin

President, Multicultural Media, Telecom and Internet Council (MMTC)

Member, Diversity in the Tech Sector Working Group, ACDDE

# Panelists:

Russell M. Perry CEO, Perry Broadcasting

Tomás Martinez,

Co-Owner, Solmart Media, Sarasota, Florida

Jeffrey Smulyan

Chairman and CEO, Emmis Communications

Sara Lomax-Reese

President and CEO, WURD Radio

2:00 p.m. – 2:10 p.m.

#### **SYMPOSIUM BREAK**

2:10 p.m. - 3:25 p.m.

# Nielsen Media Ratings Measurements for Diverse Media Owners

#### Introduction

Skip Dillard

Operations Manager and Program Director, WBLS/WLIB, Emmis

Communications

Broadcast Subgroup Lead, Access to Capital Working Group, ACDDE

# **Moderators:**

James Winston

President, National Association of Black Owned Broadcasters Member, Access to Capital Working Group, ACDDE

Nimisha Shukla, M.D.

CEO, New Jersey Broadcasting LLC/South Asian Broadcasting LLC Member, Access to Capital Working Group, ACDDE

# Panelists:

Stacie deArmas

Senior Vice President for Community Alliances, Nielsen Global Media

Jon Miller

Vice President for Audience Insights, Nielsen Global Media

3:25 p.m. – 3:35 p.m.

# **SYMPOSIUM BREAK**

# 3:35 p.m. – 4:45 p.m.

# **Increasing Access to Advertising for Diverse Media Owners**

# **Moderators:**

Sherman Kizart

Managing Director and Founder, Kizart Media Partners Member, Access to Capital Working Group, ACDDE

Raúl Alarcón

President, CEO, and Chairman, Spanish Broadcasting System, Inc. Member, Access to Capital Working Group, ACDDE

#### Panelists:

**Bob Wingo** 

Chairman and CEO, Sanders Wingo Advertising

A. Curtis Farrow

CEO and Founder, Irving Street Rep, Inc.

Doug Ray

CEO Media, dentsu Americas

Steve Williams,

Global COO, Essence Communications

4:45 p.m. - 5:00 p.m.

# **Closing Remarks**

Caroline Beasley

Chair, Access to Capital Working Group, ACDDE

Anna Gomez

Chair, ACDDE

Jamila Bess Johnson

Designated Federal Officer, ACDDE