Federal Communications Commission 445 12th St., S.W. Washington, D.C. 20554

News Media Information 202 / 418-0500 Internet: http://www.fcc.gov TTY: 1-888-835-5322

DA 20-359

Released: March 31, 2020

CHAIRMAN PAI ANNOUNCES NEW APPOINTMENTS TO THE NATIVE NATIONS COMMUNICATIONS TASK FORCE

Chairman Ajit Pai today announced the appointment of nine Tribal members to the FCC's Native Nations Communications Task Force (Task Force). In addition to filling several current vacancies, the appointment of nine new Tribal members raises the total number of Tribal Task Force members from 20 to 25.

"The Commission is excited to announce the new members of the Native Nations Communications Task Force," said Patrick Webre, Chief of the Consumer and Governmental Affairs Bureau. "The Task Force has already made valuable contributions to the Commission's ongoing efforts to increase the deployment and adoption of modern communications services on Tribal Lands. We expect the Task Force's current and future work to benefit from the additional expertise and perspectives these new members bring. The Task Force is an important element of our commitment to work with Tribes on a government-to-government basis to address issues of mutual interest."

BACKGROUND

In October 2018, Chairman Pai announced the appointment of 19 Tribal members when he renewed the Task Force.¹ Subsequent attrition created several Tribal vacancies, and on July 25, 2019, the Commission issued a Public Notice seeking Tribal nominations to fill the vacancies.² In the process of reviewing the nominations, the Commission determined that increasing the number of Tribal members by five would provide the Commission a more comprehensive and diverse perspective on communications issues on Tribal lands. The new Tribal members will serve through the end of the Task Force's current three-year term, which runs through October 2021.³

MISSION

The Task Force's mission is to provide guidance, expertise, and recommendations to specific requests from the Commission on a range of telecommunications issues that directly or indirectly affect Tribal governments and their people. This enhances the Commission's ability to carry out its statutory responsibilities to ensure the availability of communications by wire and radio, and encourage broadband deployment, to all Americans.

¹ Chairman Pai Announces New Appointments to the Native Nations Communications Task Force, Public Notice, 33 FCC Rcd 10152 (2018).

²FCC Announces Vacancies in the Membership of its Native Nations Communications Task Force and Seeks Nominations, Public Notice, 34 FCC Rcd 6370 (2019).

³ See supra, n.1.

MEMBERS OF THE NATIVE NATIONS COMMUNICATIONS TASK FORCE

The newly appointed Tribal Task Force members are:

Clifford Agee, Chickasaw Nation

Christopher Becenti, Navajo Nation

Damon Day, Confederated Tribes of the Colville Reservation

Daniel Gargan, Rosebud Sioux Tribe

James Kinter, Yocha Dehe Wintun Nation

Robert Pollard, Blue Lake Rancheria

Kevin Shendo, Pueblo of Jemez

Derek White, San Carlos Apache Tribe

Jimmy Williams, Choctaw Nation

These new members will join incumbent members:

Honorable Cheryl Andrews-Maltais, Wampanoag Tribe of Gay Head (Aquinnah)

Honorable Michael Conners, St. Regis Mohawk Tribe

Honorable Joe Garcia, Ohkay Owingeh Pueblo

Honorable Frankie Hargis, Cherokee Nation

Honorable Andy Teuber, Tangela Native Village

Honorable Joey Whitman, Gila River Indian Community

Bill Bryant, Salt River Pima-Maricopa Indian Community

Crystal Hottowe, Makah Tribe

Kristan Johnson, Tohono O'odham Nation

Donald Long Knife, Fort Belknap Indian Community

Robert A. Lucas II, Tanana Chiefs Conference

Peter McCaslin, Kenaitze Indian Tribe

Will Micklin, Ewiiaapaayp Band of Kumeyaay Indians

Theron Rutyna, Red Cliff Band of Lake Superior Chippewa Indians

Danae Wilson, Nez Perce Tribe

Karen Woodard, Morongo Band of Mission Indians

EXEMPTION FROM THE FEDERAL ADVISORY COMMITTEE ACT

Pursuant to the "intergovernmental communication" exemption of UMRA,⁴ the Task Force is not subject to, and is not required to follow, the procedures set forth in the Federal Advisory Committee Act (FACA), 5 U.S.C. App 2 (1988).⁵

⁴ See 2 U.S.C. § 1534(b)

⁵ See 47 CFR § 0.701(a)

ACCESSIBLE FORMATS

To request materials in accessible formats for people with disabilities (Braille, large print, electronic files, audio format), send an e-mail to fcc504@fcc.gov or call the Consumer and Governmental Affairs Bureau at (202) 418-0530 (voice) or (202) 418-0432 (TTY).

FURTHER INFORMATION

For further information, please contact: Janet Sievert, Senior Legal Advisor, Office of Native Affairs and Policy, Consumer and Governmental Affairs Bureau, Federal Communications Commission, (202) 418-1362, janet.sievert@fcc.gov.

- FCC -