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By the Chief, Video Division, Media Bureau:

I. INTRODUCTION

1. The Media Bureau (Bureau) has before it the application (Application)1 of Eureka County 
TV District (Licensee), for renewal of the licenses for K26JY-D, Duckwater, Nevada; K19IM-D, 
Duckwater, Nevada; K17NV-D, Eureka, Nevada; K16IZ-D, Eureka, Nevada; K23LF-D, Eureka, Nevada; 
K28LM-D, Eureka, Nevada; K35KM-D, Eureka, Nevada; and K14OB-D, Eureka, Nevada (Stations).  In 
this Memorandum Opinion and Order and Notice of Apparent Liability for Forfeiture (NAL), we find the 
Licensee apparently willfully violated section 73.3539(a) of the Commission’s rules (Rules)2 by failing to 
timely file a license renewal application for the Stations.  Based upon our review of the facts and 
circumstances before us, we conclude that the Licensee is apparently liable for a monetary forfeiture in 
the amount of twelve thousand dollars ($12,000).

II. BACKGROUND

2. Section 73.3539(a) of the Rules requires that applications for renewal of license for 
broadcast stations must be filed “not later than the first day of the fourth full calendar month prior to the 
expiration date of the license sought to be renewed.”3  The application for renewal of the Stations’ 
licenses should have been filed by June 1, 2022, the first day of the fourth full calendar month prior to the 
Stations’ licenses expiration date of October 1, 2022.4  However, the Licensee did not file the Application 
until September 29, 2022.  The Licensee did not provide an explanation for the late filings.

1 Application of Eureka County TV District for Renewal of License, LMS File No. 201174 (filed. Sep. 29, 2022).  
K26JY-D, K19IM-D, K17NV-D, K16IZ-D, K23LF-D, K28LM-D, K35KM-D, K14OB-D, are each digital television 
translators.  In this case, as is permitted, the licensee filed for renewal of the of the licenses of the Stations in a single 
renewal application.
2 47 CFR § 73.3539(a).
3 Id.
4 See 47 CFR §§ 73.1020, 73.3539(a); See Media Bureau Announces Procedures For 2020-2023 Television License 
Renewal Cycle, Public Notice, 35 FCC Rcd 3656 (2020).
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III. DISCUSSION

3. Proposed Forfeiture.  We find that the Licensee is apparently liable for a forfeiture in the 
amount of $13,500.  In this case, the Licensee failed to file the Application on or before June 1, 2022, as 
required by section 73.3539(a) of the Rules.5  The Application was not received until September 29, 2022, 
over three months late.  

4. Pursuant to section 503(b)(1)(B) of the Communications Act of 1934, as amended (Act), 
a person who is found to have willfully and/or repeatedly failed to comply with any provision of the Act 
or any rule, regulation, or order issued by the Commission, shall be liable to the United States for a 
forfeiture penalty.6  Section 312(f)(1) of the Act defines willful as “the conscious and deliberate 
commission or omission of [any] act, irrespective of any intent to violate” the law.7  The legislative 
history to section 312(f)(1) of the Act clarifies that this definition of willful applies to both section 312 
and 503(b) of the Act,8 and the Commission has so interpreted the term in the section 503(b) context.9  
Section 312(f)(2) of the Act provides that “[t]he term ‘repeated,’ when used with reference to the 
commission or omission of any act, means the commission or omission of such act more than once or, if 
such commission or omission is continuous, for more than one day.”10

5. The Commission’s Forfeiture Policy Statement and section 1.80(b)(10) of the Rules 
establish a base forfeiture amount of $3,000 for failure to file a required form or information.11  In 
determining the appropriate forfeiture amount, we may adjust the base amount upward or downward by 
considering the factors enumerated in section 503(b)(2)(E) of the Act, including “the nature, 
circumstances, extent and gravity of the violation, and, with respect to the violator, the degree of 
culpability, any history of prior offenses, ability to pay, and such other matters as justice may require.”12

6. In this case, the Licensee failed to timely file a license renewal application for eight (8) 
stations, as required by section 73.3539(a) of the Rules.13  The Licensee did not provide an explanation 
for the late filings.  Taking into consideration all of the factors required by section 503(b)(2)(E) of the Act 
and the Forfeiture Policy Statement,14 we will reduce the forfeiture from the base amount to $1,500 per 
station for the failure to file a timely renewal application, because, as digital television translators, the 
Stations are providing a secondary service.15  Furthermore, as translators the Stations are not originating 

5 47 CFR § 73.3539(a).
6 See 47 U.S.C. § 503(b)(1)(B); see also 47 CFR § 1.80(a)(2).
7 47 U.S.C. § 312(f)(1).
8 See H.R. Rep. No. 97-765, at 51 (1982) (Conf. Rep.).
9 See Southern California Broadcasting Co., Memorandum Opinion and Order, 6 FCC Rcd 4387, 4388, para. 5 
(1991) (Southern California), recon. denied, 7 FCC Rcd 3454 (1992).
10 47 U.S.C. § 312(f)(2).
11 See Forfeiture Policy Statement and Amendment of Section 1.80 of the Rules to Incorporate the Forfeiture 
Guidelines, Report and Order, 12 FCC Rcd 17087, 17113-15 (1997) (Forfeiture Policy Statement), recon. denied, 15 
FCC Rcd 303 (1999); 47 CFR § 1.80(b), paragraph (b)(10), Table 1. 
12 47 U.S.C. § 503(b)(2)(E).  See also Forfeiture Policy Statement, 12 FCC Rcd at 17100-01; 47 CFR § 1.80(b)(10); 
47 CFR § 1.80(b), paragraph (b)(10), Table 3.
13 47 CFR § 73.3539(a).
14 Supra note 12.
15 See, e.g., FCR Broadcasting, Inc., Notice of Apparent Liability for Forfeiture, 36 FCC Rcd 1383 (MB 2021); 
Iglesia Sinai Pentecostes, Inc., Notice of Apparent Liability for Forfeiture, 36 FCC Rcd 1513 (MB 2021); Gerard 
Media LLC, Notice of Apparent Liability for Forfeiture, 36 FCC Rcd 1436 (MB 2021) (all reducing fine for a late 
renewal application to $1,500 because the stations “provid[e] a secondary service.”).  See also Digital Low Power 

(continued….)
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programing, but instead providing important “fill-in” service to areas that otherwise may be unable to 
receive over-the-air television signals.  Because the Application includes eight (8) stations the total 
proposed forfeiture amount is $12,000.

7. License Renewal Application.  In evaluating an application for license renewal, the 
Commission’s decision is governed by section 309(k) of the Act.16  That section provides that if, upon 
consideration of the application and pleadings, we find that:  (1) the station has served the public interest, 
convenience, and necessity; (2) there have been no serious violations of the Act or the Rules; and (3) 
there have been no other violations which, taken together, constitute a pattern of abuse, we are to grant 
the renewal application.17  If, however, the licensee fails to meet that standard, the Commission may deny 
the application—after notice and opportunity for a hearing under section 309(e) of the Act—or grant the 
application “on terms and conditions as are appropriate, including renewal for a term less than the 
maximum otherwise permitted.”18 

8. We find that the Licensee’s apparent violation of section 73.3539(a) of the Rules19 does 
not constitute a “serious violation” warranting designation of the Application for evidentiary hearing.  
Moreover, we find no evidence of violations that, when considered together, constitute a pattern of 
abuse.20  Further, based on our review of the Application, we find that the Stations served the public 
interest, convenience, and necessity during the subject license term.  We will therefore grant the 
Application by separate action upon the conclusion of this forfeiture proceeding if there are no issues 
other than those set forth in this NAL that would preclude grant of the Application.

IV. ORDERING CLAUSES

9. Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED, pursuant to section 503(b) of the Communications Act 
of 1934, as amended,21 and sections 1.80 and 0.283(d) of the Commission’s rules,22that Eureka County TV 
District, is hereby NOTIFIED of its APPARENT LIABILITY FOR FORFEITURE in the amount of 
twelve thousand dollars ($12,000) for its apparent willful violation of section 73.3539(a) of the 
Commission’s rules.23

(Continued from previous page)  
Television, Television Translator, and Television Booster Stations and Digital Class A Television Stations, Report 
and Order, 19 FCC Rcd 19331, 19333, paras. 2-6 (2004) (“The low power television service consists of LPTV, TV 
translator, and television booster stations….  Stations in the low power television service are authorized with 
‘secondary’ frequency use status.”).
16 47 U.S.C. § 309(k).
17 47 U.S.C. § 309(k)(1).  
18 47 U.S.C. §§ 309(k)(2), 309(k)(3).
19 47 CFR § 73.3539(a).
20 For example, we do not find here that the Licensee’s operation of the Stations “was conducted in an exceedingly 
careless, inept and negligent manner and that the licensee is either incapable of correcting or unwilling to correct the 
operating deficiencies.”  See Heart of the Black Hills Stations, Decision, 32 FCC 2d 196, 198, para. 6 (1971).  Nor 
do we find on the record here that “the number, nature and extent” of the violations indicate that “the licensee cannot 
be relied upon to operate [the station] in the future in accordance with the requirements of its licenses and the 
Commission’s Rules.”  Id. at 200, paras. 10-11.  See also Center for Study and Application of Black Econ. Dev., 
Hearing Designation Order, 6 FCC Rcd 4622 (1991); Calvary Educ. Broad. Network, Inc., Hearing Designation 
Order, 7 FCC Rcd 4037 (1992).
21 47 U.S.C. § 503(b).
22 47 CFR §§ 1.80 and 0.283.
23 47 CFR § 73.3539(a).
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10. IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that, pursuant to section 1.80 of the Commission’s 
rules,24 within thirty (30) days of the release date of this NAL Eureka County TV District SHALL PAY 
the full amount of the proposed forfeiture or SHALL FILE a written statement seeking reduction or 
cancellation of the proposed forfeiture.

11. Payment of the forfeiture must be made by credit card, ACH (Automated Clearing 
House) debit from a bank account using CORES (the Commission’s online payment system),25 or by wire 
transfer.  Payments by check or money order to pay a forfeiture are no longer accepted.  Upon payment, it 
is requested that Licensee send notice that payment has been made to VideoRenewals@fcc.gov.  Below 
are instructions that payors should follow based on the form of payment selected:26 

• Payment by wire transfer must be made to ABA Number 021030004, receiving bank 
TREAS/NYC, and Account Number 27000001.  A completed Form 159 must be faxed to the 
Federal Communications Commission at 202-418-2843 or e-mailed to 
RROGWireFaxes@fcc.gov on the same business day the wire transfer is initiated.  Failure to 
provide all required information in Form 159 may result in payment not being recognized as 
having been received.  When completing FCC Form 159, enter the Account Number in block 
number 23A (call sign/other ID), enter the letters “FORF” in block number 24A (payment 
type code), and enter in block number 11 the FRN(s) captioned above (Payor FRN).27  For 
additional detail and wire transfer instructions, go to https://www.fcc.gov/licensing-
databases/fees/wire-transfer.

• Payment by credit card must be made by using the Commission’s Registration System 
(CORES) at https://apps.fcc.gov/cores/userLogin.do.  To pay by credit card, log-in using the 
FCC Username associated to the FRN captioned above.  If payment must be split across 
FRNs, complete this process for each FRN.  Next, select “Manage Existing FRNs | FRN 
Financial | Bills & Fees” from the CORES Menu, then select FRN Financial and the 
view/make payments option next to the FRN.  Select the “Open Bills” tab and find the bill 
number associated with the NAL/Acct. No.  The bill number is the  NAL Acct. No. (e.g., 
NAL/Acct. No. 1912345678 would be associated with FCC Bill Number 1912345678).  After 
selecting the bill for payment, choose the “Pay by Credit Card” option.  Please note that there 
is a $24,999.99 limit on credit card transactions.

• Payment by ACH must be made by using the Commission’s Registration System (CORES) at 
https://apps.fcc.gov/cores/paymentFrnLogin.do.  To pay by ACH, log in using the FRN 
captioned above.  If payment must be split across FRNs, complete this process for each FRN.  
Next, select “Manage Existing FRNs | FRN Financial | Bills & Fees” on the CORES Menu, 
then select FRN Financial and the view/make payments option next to the FRN.  Select the 
“Open Bills” tab and find the bill number associated with the NAL/Acct. No.  The bill 
number is the NAL/Acct. No. (e.g., NAL/Acct. No. 1912345678 would be associated with 
FCC Bill Number 1912345678).  Finally, choose the “Pay from Bank Account” option.  
Please contact the appropriate financial institution to confirm the correct Routing Number 
and the correct account number from which payment will be made and verify with that 
financial institution that the designated account has authorization to accept ACH transactions.

24 47 CFR § 1.80,
25 Payments made using CORES do not require the submission of an FCC Form 159.
26 For questions regarding payment procedures, please contact the Financial Operations Group Help Desk by phone 
at 1-877-480-3201 (option #6), or by e-mail at ARINQUIRIES@fcc.gov.  
27 Instructions for completing the form may be obtained at https://www.fcc.gov/Forms/Form159/159.pdf. 

mailto:VideoRenewals@fcc.gov
mailto:RROGWireFaxes@fcc.gov
https://www.fcc.gov/licensing-databases/fees/wire-transfer
https://www.fcc.gov/licensing-databases/fees/wire-transfer
https://apps.fcc.gov/cores/userLogin.do
https://apps.fcc.gov/cores/paymentFrnLogin.do
mailto:ARINQUIRIES@fcc.gov
https://www.fcc.gov/Forms/Form159/159.pdf
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12. Requests for full payment of the forfeiture proposed in this NAL under the installment 
plan should be sent to:  Associate Managing Director-Financial Operations, 45 L Street, NE, Washington, 
DC 20554.28  Questions regarding payment procedures should be directed to the Financial Operations 
Group Help Desk by phone, 1-877-480-3201 (option #6), or by e-mail at ARINQUIRIES@fcc.gov.

13. The written response seeking reduction or cancellation of the proposed forfeiture, if any, 
must include a detailed factual statement supported by appropriate documentation and affidavits pursuant 
to sections 1.16 and 1.80(g)(3) of the Rules.29  The written response must be filed with the Office of the 
Secretary, Federal Communications Commission, 45 L Street, NE, Washington, DC 20554, ATTN:  
Barbara A. Kreisman, Chief, Video Division, Media Bureau, and MUST INCLUDE the NAL/Acct. No. 
referenced above.  A courtesy copy should also be emailed to VideoRenewals@fcc.gov to assist in 
processing the response.

• Filings can be sent by commercial overnight courier, or by first-class or overnight U.S. Postal 
Service mail.  All filings must be addressed to the Commission’s Secretary, Office of the 
Secretary, Federal Communications Commission.

o Commercial overnight mail (other than U.S. Postal Service Express Mail and Priority 
Mail) must be sent to 9050 Junction Drive, Annapolis Junction, MD 20701. 

o Postal Service first-class, Express, and Priority mail must be addressed to 45 L Street, 
NE, Washington, DC 20554.

o Effective March 19, 2020, and until further notice, the Commission no longer accepts 
any hand or messenger delivered filings. This is a temporary measure taken to help 
protect the health and safety of individuals, and to mitigate the transmission of 
COVID-19.30  

14. The Commission will not consider reducing or canceling a forfeiture in response to a 
claim of inability to pay unless the respondent submits:  (1) federal tax returns for the most recent three-
year period; (2) financial statements prepared according to generally accepted accounting practices 
(GAAP); or (3) some other reliable and objective documentation that accurately reflects the respondent’s 
current financial status.  Any claim of inability to pay must specifically identify the basis for the claim by 
reference to the financial documentation submitted.  Inability to pay, however, is only one of several 
factors that the Commission will consider in determining the appropriate forfeiture, and we have 
discretion to not reduce or cancel the forfeiture if other prongs of section 503(b)(2)(E) of the Act support 
that result.31  

15. IT IS FURTHER ORDERED, that copies of this NAL shall be sent, by First Class and 
Certified Mail, Return Receipt Requested, to Eureka County TV District, P.O. Box 633, Eureka, NV 
89316.  A copy shall also be sent to the Station’s representative, Paden Hilyard, by electronic mail to 
fcclicense@eaglecomelko.com. 

28 See 47 CFR § 1.1914.
29 47 CFR §§ 1.16 and 1.80(g)(3).
30 See FCC Announces Closure of FCC Headquarters Open Window and Change in Hand-Delivery Policy, Public 
Notice, 35 FCC Rcd 2788 (2020).
31 47 U.S.C. § 503(b)(2)(E).  See, e.g., Adrian Abramovich, Forfeiture Order, 33 FCC Rcd 4663, 4678-79, paras. 44-
45 (2018).

mailto:ARINQUIRIES@fcc.gov
mailto:videorenewals@fcc.gov
mailto:fcclicense@eaglecomelko.com
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FEDERAL COMMUNICATIONS COMMISSION

Barbara A. Kreisman 
Chief, Video Division
Media Bureau


