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Before the
Federal Communications Commission
Washington, D.C. 20554

In the Matter of )
)
Payson Council for the Musical Arts, Inc. ) File No.: EB-IHD-20-00031269
) CD Acct. No.: 202332080029
Licensee of Noncommercial Educational Station ) FRN: 0017011065
KRIM-LP, Payson, Arizona ) Facility ID No. 134059
)
ORDER
Adopted: July 7, 2023 Released: July 7, 2023
By the Chief, Enforcement Bureau:
1. The Enforcement Bureau (Bureau) of the Federal Communications Commission

(Commission) has entered into a Consent Decree to resolve its investigation into whether Payson Council
for the Musical Arts, Inc. (Licensee), licensee of noncommercial educational low power FM (LPFM)
radio station, KRIM-LP, Payson, Arizona (Station), violated the Commission’s underwriting laws by
broadcasting announcements on behalf of for-profit entities in exchange for consideration. The
Commission adopted these laws to preserve the unique non-profit and locally oriented nature of LPFM
stations. To settle this matter, the Licensee admits that it broadcast prohibited commercial advertisements
in exchange for consideration. The Licensee agrees to implement a compliance plan and pay a $20,000
civil penalty and a suspended civil penalty of $41,500 in the event of default.

2. After reviewing the terms of the Consent Decree and evaluating the facts before us, we
find that the public interest would be served by adopting the Consent Decree and terminating the
referenced investigation regarding the Licensee’s compliance with section 399B of the Communications
Act of 1934, as amended (Act),! and sections 73.503(d) and 73.801 of the Commission’s rules?
(collectively, the Commission’s underwriting laws).

3. In the absence of material new evidence relating to this matter, we do not set for hearing
the question of the Licensee’s basic qualifications to hold or obtain any Commission license or
authorization.’

4. Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED that, pursuant to section 4(i) of the Act, 47 U.S.C. §
154(i), and the authority delegated by sections 0.111 and 0.311 of the Commission’s rules, 47 CFR §§
0.111, 0.311, the attached Consent Decree IS ADOPTED and its terms incorporated by reference.

5. IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the above-captioned matter IS TERMINATED.

6. IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that any third-party complaints and allegations against
the Licensee and/or its Station related to the above-captioned investigation that are pending before the
Bureau as of the date of this Consent Decree ARE DISMISSED.

1'47U.S.C. § 399b.

2 See 47 CFR §§ 73.503(d), 73.801 (applying section 73.503 of the Commission’s rules to low power FM (LPFM)
stations).

3 See id. § 1.93(b).
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7. IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that a copy of this Order and Consent Decree shall be
sent by first class mail and certified mail, return receipt requested, to Christopher Higgins, President,
Payson Council for the Musical Arts, Inc., 215 W. Frontier Street, Payson, Arizona 85541.

FEDERAL COMMUNICATIONS COMMISSION

Loyaan A. Egal
Chief
Enforcement Bureau
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Before the
Federal Communications Commission
Washington, D.C. 20554

In the Matter of

File No.: EB-IHD-20-00031269
CD Acct. No.: 202332080029
FRN: 0017011065

Facility ID No. 134059

Payson Council for the Musical Arts, Inc.

Licensee of Noncommercial Educational Station
KRIM-LP, Payson, Arizona

N N N N N N N

CONSENT DECREE

1. The Enforcement Bureau of the Federal Communications Commission and Payson
Council for the Musical Arts, Inc. (Licensee), by their authorized representatives, hereby enter into this
Consent Decree for the purpose of terminating the Enforcement Bureau’s investigation into whether the
Licensee violated section 399B of the Communications Act of 1934, as amended,' and sections 73.503(d)
and 73.801 of the Commission’s rules? in connection with the broadcast by the Licensee of underwriting
acknowledgments over its noncommercial educational low power FM radio station, KRIM-LP, Payson,
Arizona. To resolve this matter, the Licensee agrees to implement a compliance plan and pay a $20,000
civil penalty and a suspended civil penalty of $41,500 in the event of default as defined herein.

L DEFINITIONS
2. For the purposes of this Consent Decree, the following definitions shall apply:
(a) “Act” means the Communications Act of 1934, as amended.?

(b) “Adopting Order” means an order of the Bureau adopting the terms of this Consent
Decree without change, addition, deletion, or modification.

(¢) “Bureau” means the Enforcement Bureau of the Federal Communications
Commission.

(d) “CD Acct. No.” means account number 202332080029, associated with payment
obligations described in paragraph 18 of this Consent Decree.

(e) “Commission” and “FCC” mean the Federal Communications Commission and all
of'its bureaus and offices.

(f) “Communications Laws” means collectively, the Act, the Rules, and the published
and promulgated orders and decisions of the Commission to which the Licensee is
subject by virtue of its business activities, including but not limited to the
Underwriting Laws.

(g) “Complaints” means the third-party submissions received by, or in the possession
of, the Commission or Bureau, on file in EB-IHD-20-00031269, alleging violations
of the Underwriting Laws.

' See 47 U.S.C. § 399b.

2 See 47 CFR §§ 73.503(d), 73.801 (applying section 73.503 of the Commission’s rules to low power FM (LPFM)
stations).

347U.S.C. § 151 et seq.
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(h) “Compliance Plan” means the compliance obligations, program, and procedures
described in this Consent Decree at paragraph 14.

(1) “Covered Employees” means all employees and agents of the Licensee who
perform, supervise, oversee, or manage the performance of, duties that relate to the
Licensee’s responsibilities under the Communications Laws, including the
Underwriting Laws.

() “Effective Date” means the date by which both the Bureau and the Licensee have
signed the Consent Decree and the Bureau has released an Adopting Order.

(k) “Investigation” means the investigation commenced by the Bureau in EB-IHD-20-
00031269 regarding whether the Licensee violated the Underwriting Laws during
the period from approximately January 2020 through the Effective Date.

(I) “Licensee” means Payson Council for the Musical Arts, Inc. and its affiliates,
subsidiaries, predecessors-in-interest, and successors-in-interest.

(m) “Operating Procedures” means the standard internal operating procedures and
compliance policies established by the Licensee to implement the Compliance Plan.

(n) “Parties” means the Licensee and the Bureau, each of which is a “Party.”

(0) “Rules” means the Commission’s regulations found in Title 47 of the Code of
Federal Regulations.

(p) “Station” means noncommercial educational low power FM radio station, KRIM-
LP, Payson, Arizona (Facility ID No. 134059).

(@) “Underwriting Announcement” means any announcement, message, or other
program material, broadcast over a noncommercial station licensed to the Licensee,
or by any of its successors, assigns, or transferees, made in exchange for
consideration, on behalf of any for-profit entity.

(r) “Underwriting Compliance Checklist” means the obligation under paragraph 14 that
describes the steps that a Covered Employee must follow to ensure that all material
approved for broadcast is consistent with relevant past Commission precedent
regarding the Underwriting Laws.

(s) “Underwriting Compliance Plan” means the compliance obligations, program, and
procedures described in this Consent Decree at paragraph 14.

(t) “Underwriting Laws” means, individually or collectively, section 399B of the Act*
and sections 73.503(d) and 73.801 of the Rules,> and the decisions and orders of the
Commission interpreting these provisions.

II. BACKGROUND

3. The Underwriting Laws define an advertisement as programming material broadcast “in
exchange for any remuneration” and intended to “promote any service, facility, or product” of for-profit
entities.® Section 399B(b)(2) of the Act specifically provides that noncommercial educational stations
may not broadcast advertisements.” Although contributors of funds to such stations may receive on-air

4See 47 U.S.C. § 399b.

3 See 47 CFR §§ 73.503(d), 73.801 (applying section 73.503 of the Commission’s rules to low power FM (LPFM)
stations).

647 U.S.C. § 399b(a).
71d. § 399B(b)(2).



Federal Communications Commission DA 23-493

acknowledgements of their support, the Commission has held that such acknowledgements are for
identification purposes only and must not promote the contributors’ products, services, or businesses.®
Specifically, such announcements must not contain comparative or qualitative descriptions, price
information, calls to action, or inducements to buy, sell, rent, or lease.’

4. The Commission received Complaints alleging that the Licensee violated the
Underwriting Laws by airing ongoing announcements on the Station that impermissibly promoted their
for-profit underwriters’ products or services.' A complainant also submitted recordings (Recordings) of
alleged advertisements broadcast on the Station. The Bureau issued letters of inquiry, which included
transcripts of the Recordings, seeking information about the complained-of programming, the Licensee’s
efforts to comply with the Underwriting Laws, and related issues.!! The Licensee’s responses!? confirmed
that the Licensee broadcast the complained-of Underwriting Announcements over the Station at various
times from approximately October 2019 to approximately September 2021. On the basis of the record in
this Investigation, the Bureau contends that the Licensee violated the Commission’s Underwriting Laws.
The Parties engaged in settlement negotiations and agreed to enter into this Consent Decree.

I11. TERMS OF AGREEMENT

5. Adopting Order. The provisions of this Consent Decree shall be incorporated by the
Bureau in an Adopting Order.

8 Noncommercial Educational Broadcasting Service; Clarification of Underwriting Guidelines, 51 Fed. Reg. 21800
(June 16, 1986), republished, Commission Policy Concerning the Noncommercial Nature of Educational
Broadcasting Stations, Public Notice, 7 FCC Red 827 (1992).

9Id.; see Xavier University, Memorandum Opinion and Order, 5 FCC Red 4920, 4921, para. 6 (1990) (citing
Commission Policy Concerning the Noncommercial Nature of Educational Broadcast Stations, BC Docket No.
21136, Memorandum Opinion and Order, 90 FCC 2d 895 (1982) (subsequent history omitted)).

10 See, e.g., Complaint No. 3786882-1 (Jan. 29, 2020) (on file in EB-THD-20-00031269).

1 Letter of Inquiry from Christopher J. Sova, Deputy Chief, Investigations and Hearings Division, FCC
Enforcement Bureau, to Chris Higgins, President, Payson Council for the Musical Arts, Inc. (Oct. 8, 2020) (on file
in EB-IHD-20-00031269) (LOI); First Supplemental Letter of Inquiry from Christopher J. Sova, Deputy Chief,
Investigations and Hearings Division, FCC Enforcement Bureau, to Chris Higgins, President, Payson Council for
the Musical Arts, Inc. (Sept. 2, 2021) (on file in EB-IHD-20-00031269); Second Supplemental Letter of Inquiry
from Christopher J. Sova, Deputy Chief, Investigations and Hearings Division, FCC Enforcement Bureau, to Chris
Higgins, President, Payson Council for the Musical Arts, Inc. (Mar. 30, 2022) (on file in EB-IHD-20-00031269)
(primarily addressing alleged involvement of KRIM LLC in connection with alleged ads on the Station). The LOI
also addressed possible technical rule violations of the Commission’s rules. After investigation, including reviewing
the Licensee’s LOI Response addressing these matters, we found no violations of technical rules within our purview
on this matter.

12 See E-mail from Chris Higgins, President, Payson Council for the Musical Arts, Inc., to Melissa Marshall,
Attorney Advisor, Investigations and Hearings Division, FCC Enforcement Bureau, et al. (Nov. 5, 2020, 17:18
MST); E-mail from Chris Higgins, President, Payson Council for the Musical Arts, Inc., to Melissa Marshall,
Attorney Advisor, Investigations and Hearings Division, FCC Enforcement Bureau, et al. (Nov. 5, 2020, 17:41
MST); E-mail from Chris Higgins, President, Payson Council for the Musical Arts, Inc., to Melissa Marshall,
Attorney Advisor, Investigations and Hearings Division, FCC Enforcement Bureau (Nov. 9, 2020, 15:18 MST); E-
mail from Chris Higgins, President, Payson Council for the Musical Arts, Inc., to Melissa Marshall, Attorney
Adpvisor, Investigations and Hearings Division, FCC Enforcement Bureau (Nov. 9, 2020, 16:19 MST) (collectively,
LOI Response); E-mail from Chris Higgins, President, Payson Council for the Musical Arts, Inc., to Melissa
Marshall, Attorney Advisor, Investigations and Hearings Division, FCC Enforcement Bureau, et al. (Sept. 21, 2021,
18:50 MST); E-mail from Chris Higgins, President, Payson Council for the Musical Arts, Inc., to Melissa Marshall,
Attorney Advisor, Investigations and Hearings Division, FCC Enforcement Bureau, et al. (Apr. 18, 2022, 15:26
MST).
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6. Jurisdiction. The Licensee agrees that the Bureau has jurisdiction over it and the matters
contained in this Consent Decree and has the authority to enter into and adopt this Consent Decree.

7. Effective Date; Violations. The Parties agree that this Consent Decree shall become
effective on the Effective Date as defined herein. As of the Effective Date, the Parties agree that this
Consent Decree shall have the same force and effect as any other order of the Commission.

8. Termination of Investigation. In express reliance on the covenants and representations
in this Consent Decree and to avoid further expenditure of public resources, the Bureau agrees to
terminate the Investigation and dismiss the Complaints. In consideration for the termination of the
Investigation and dismissal of the Complaints, the Licensee agrees to the terms, conditions, and
procedures contained herein. The Bureau further agrees that, in the absence of new material evidence, it
will not use the facts developed in the Investigation through the Effective Date, or the existence of this
Consent Decree, to institute any new proceeding on its own motion against the Licensee concerning the
matters that were the subject of the Investigation, or to set for hearing the question of the Licensee’s basic
qualifications to be a Commission licensee or hold Commission licenses or authorizations based on the
matters that were the subject of the Investigation.!?

9. Subsequent Complaints; Subsequent Investigations. Nothing in this Consent Decree
shall prevent the Commission or its delegated authority from adjudicating complaints filed pursuant to the
Underwriting Laws, against the Licensee or its affiliates for alleged violations of the Act or the Rules or
for any other type of alleged misconduct, regardless of when such misconduct took place. The
Commission’s adjudication of any such complaints will be based solely on the record developed in that
proceeding. Except as expressly provided in this Consent Decree, this Consent Decree shall not prevent
the Commission from investigating new evidence of noncompliance by the Licensee with the Act or the
Rules.

10. Admission of Liability. The Licensee admits for the purpose of this Consent Decree and
for Commission civil enforcement purposes, and in express reliance on the provisions of paragraph 8
herein, that its actions with respect to the broadcast of the material referenced in paragraph 4 of this
Consent Decree violated the Commission’s Underwriting Laws.

1. Reporting Obligation with Respect to Any Discontinuance of Station Operation. In
the event the Licensee discontinues Station operation, the Licensee agrees to notify the Bureau
accordingly. Such notification to the Bureau must take place within seven (7) calendar days of the
Licensee discontinuing Station operation and must be sent electronically to the Bureau at
Pamela.Gallant@fcc.gov, Frederick.Giroux@fcc.gov, and Melissa.Marshall@fcc.gov. Such notification
to the Bureau should include copies of any notices or requests to cancel the Station’s license and any
other instruments of authorization submitted to the Commission’s Audio Division or the Commission’s
online Licensing and Management System (LMS).

12. Station License Cancellation. In the event the Commission cancels the Station’s
license, after forty (40) calendar days of the Commission’s Public Notice specifying that the Station’s
license is cancelled, the requirements set forth in paragraphs 13 through 16 and paragraph 19 of this
Consent Decree shall expire.

13. Compliance Officer. Within thirty (30) calendar days after the Effective Date, the
Licensee shall designate a senior corporate manager with the requisite corporate and organizational
authority to serve as a Compliance Officer and to discharge the duties set forth below. The person
designated as the Compliance Officer shall be responsible for developing, implementing, and
administering the Compliance Plan and ensuring that the Licensee complies with the terms and conditions
of the Compliance Plan and this Consent Decree. In addition to the general knowledge of the
Communications Laws necessary to discharge his or her duties under this Consent Decree, the

13 See 47 CFR § 1.93(b).
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Compliance Officer shall have specific knowledge of the Underwriting Laws prior to assuming his/her
duties.

14. Compliance Plan. For purposes of settling the matters set forth herein, the Licensee
agrees that it shall, within sixty (60) calendar days after the Effective Date, develop and implement a
Compliance Plan designed to ensure future compliance with the Communications Laws and with the
terms and conditions of this Consent Decree. With respect to the Underwriting Laws, the Licensee will
implement, at a minimum, the following procedures:

(a) Operating Procedures. Within thirty (30) calendar days after the Effective Date,
the Licensee shall establish Operating Procedures that all Covered Employees must
follow to help ensure the Licensee’s compliance with the Underwriting Laws. The
Licensee’s Operating Procedures shall include internal procedures and policies
specifically designed to ensure that the Licensee complies with the Underwriting
Laws. The Licensee shall also develop a Compliance Checklist that describes the
steps that a Covered Employee must follow to ensure compliance with the
Underwriting Laws.

(b) Compliance Manual. Within sixty (60) calendar days after the Effective Date, the
Compliance Officer shall develop and distribute a Compliance Manual to all
Covered Employees. The Compliance Manual shall explain the Underwriting Laws
and set forth the Operating Procedures that Covered Employees shall follow to help
ensure the Licensee’s compliance with the Underwriting Laws. The Licensee shall
periodically review and revise the Compliance Manual as necessary to ensure that
the information set forth therein remains current and accurate. The Licensee shall
distribute any revisions to the Compliance Manual promptly to all Covered
Employees.

(c) Compliance Training Program. The Licensee shall establish and implement a
Compliance Training Program on compliance with the Underwriting Laws and the
Operating Procedures. As part of the Compliance Training Program, Covered
Employees shall be advised of the Licensee’s obligation to report any
noncompliance with the Underwriting Laws under paragraph 15 of this Consent
Decree and shall be instructed on how to disclose noncompliance to the Compliance
Officer. All Covered Employees shall be trained pursuant to the Compliance
Training Program within sixty (60) calendar days after the Effective Date, except
that any person who becomes a Covered Employee at any time after the initial
Compliance Training Program shall be trained within thirty (30) calendar days after
the date such person becomes a Covered Employee. The Licensee shall repeat
compliance training on an annual basis, and shall periodically review and revise the
Compliance Training Program as necessary to ensure that it remains current and
complete and to enhance its effectiveness.

15. Reporting Noncompliance. The Licensee shall report any noncompliance with the
Underwriting Laws and with the terms and conditions of this Consent Decree within fifteen (15) calendar
days after discovery of such noncompliance. Such reports shall include a detailed explanation of: (i)
each instance of noncompliance; (ii) the steps that the Licensee has taken or will take to remedy such
noncompliance; (iii) the schedule on which such remedial actions will be taken; and (iv) the steps that the
Licensee has taken or will take to prevent the recurrence of any such noncompliance. All reports of
noncompliance shall be submitted to the Chief, Investigations and Hearings Division, Enforcement
Bureau, Federal Communications Commission, 45 L Street, N.E., Washington, D.C. 20554, with a copy
submitted electronically to Pamela Gallant at Pamela.Gallant@fcc.gov, Frederick Giroux at
Frederick.Giroux@fcc.gov, and Melissa A. Marshall at Melissa.Marshall@fcc.gov.
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16. Compliance Reports. The Licensee shall file compliance reports with the Commission
ninety (90) calendar days after the Effective Date, twelve (12) months after the Effective Date, twenty-
four (24) months after the Effective Date, and thirty-six (36) months after the Effective Date.

(a) Each Compliance Report shall include a detailed description of the Licensee’s
efforts during the relevant period to comply with the terms and conditions of this
Consent Decree and the Underwriting Laws. In addition, each Compliance Report
shall include a certification by the Compliance Officer, as an agent of and on behalf
of the Licensee, stating that the Compliance Officer has personal knowledge that the
Licensee: (i) has established and implemented the Compliance Plan; (ii) has utilized
the Operating Procedures since the implementation of the Compliance Plan; and (iii)
is not aware of any instances of noncompliance with the terms and conditions of this
Consent Decree, including the reporting obligations set forth in paragraph 15 of this
Consent Decree.

(b) The Compliance Officer’s certification shall be accompanied by a statement
explaining the basis for such certification and shall comply with section 1.16 of the
Rules and be subscribed to as true under penalty of perjury in substantially the form
set forth therein.!4

(c) Ifthe Compliance Officer cannot provide the requisite certification, the Compliance
Officer, as an agent of and on behalf of the Licensee, shall provide the Commission
with a detailed explanation of the reason(s) why and describe fully: (i) each
instance of noncompliance; (ii) the steps that the Licensee has taken or will take to
remedy such noncompliance, including the schedule on which proposed remedial
actions will be taken; and (iii) the steps that the Licensee has taken or will take to
prevent the recurrence of any such noncompliance, including the schedule on which
such preventive action will be taken.

(d) All Compliance Reports shall be submitted to the Chief, Investigations and Hearings
Division, Enforcement Bureau, Federal Communications Commission, 45 L Street,
N.E., Washington, D.C. 20554, with a copy submitted electronically to Pamela
Gallant at Pamela.Gallant@fcc.gov, Frederick Giroux at Frederick.Giroux@fcc.gov,
and Melissa Marshall at Melissa.Marshall@fcc.gov.

17. Termination Date. Unless stated otherwise including above in paragraph 12, the
requirements set forth in paragraphs 13 through 16 shall expire thirty-six (36) months after the Effective
Date.

18. Civil Penalty. The Licensee will pay a civil penalty to the United States Treasury in the
amount of twenty thousand dollars ($20,000) within thirty (30) calendar days of the Effective Date (Civil
Penalty). The Licensee acknowledges and agrees that upon execution of this Consent Decree, the Civil
Penalty shall become a “Claim” or “Debt” as defined in 31 U.S.C. § 3701(b)(1)."* Upon an Event of
Default, as described below in paragraph 21, all procedures for collection as permitted by law may, at the
Commission’s discretion, be initiated.

19. Suspended Penalty. The Licensee further agrees that, upon an Event of Default, as
described below in paragraph 21, the Licensee will pay a further civil penalty to the United States
Treasury in the amount of forty-one thousand, five hundred dollars ($41,500) within thirty (30) calendar
days of such Event of Default (Suspended Penalty). Upon an Event of Default, as described below in
paragraph 21, the Suspended Penalty shall also become a “Claim” or “Debt” as defined in 31 U.S.C.

1447 CFR § 1.16.
15 Debt Collection Improvement Act of 1996, Pub. L. No. 104-134, 110 Stat. 1321, 1358 (Apr. 26, 1996).
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§ 3701(b)(1).'¢ All procedures for collection as permitted by law may, at the Commission’s discretion, be
initiated.

20. Payment. The Licensee shall send electronic notification of payment to Pamela Gallant
at Pamela.Gallant@fcc.gov, Frederick Giroux at Frederick.Giroux@fcc.gov, and Melissa Marshall at
Melissa.Marshall@fcc.gov on the date said payment is made. Payment of the Civil Penalty must be made
by credit card using the Commission’s Registration System (CORES) at
https://apps.fcc.gov/cores/userLogin.do, ACH (Automated Clearing House) debit from a bank account, or
by wire transfer from a bank account. The Commission no longer accepts Civil Penalty payments by
check or money order. Below are instructions that payors should follow based on the form of payment
selected:!”

+ Payment by wire transfer must be made to ABA Number 021030004, receiving bank
TREAS/NYC, and Account Number 27000001. In the OBI field, enter the FRN(s) captioned
above and the letters “FORF”. In addition, a completed Form 1598 or printed CORES form'"
must be faxed to the Federal Communications Commission at 202-418-2843 or e-mailed to
RROGWireFaxes@fcc.gov on the same business day the wire transfer is initiated. Failure to
provide all required information in Form 159 or CORES may result in payment not being
recognized as having been received. When completing FCC Form 159 or CORES, enter the
Account Number in block number 23 A (call sign/other ID), enter the letters “FORF” in block
number 24 A (payment type code), and enter in block number 11 the FRN(s) captioned above
(Payor FRN).2® For additional detail and wire transfer instructions, go to
https://www.fcc.gov/licensing-databases/fees/wire-transfer.

o Payment by credit card must be made by using CORES at
https://apps.fcc.gov/cores/userLogin.do. To pay by credit card, log-in using the FCC Username
associated to the FRN captioned above. If payment must be split across FRNs, complete this
process for each FRN. Next, select “Manage Existing FRNs | FRN Financial | Bills & Fees” from
the CORES Menu, then select FRN Financial and the view/make payments option next to the
FRN. Select the “Open Bills” tab and find the bill number associated with the CD Acct. No. The
bill number is the CD Acct. No. with the first two digits excluded (e.g., CD 1912345678 would
be associated with FCC Bill Number 12345678). After selecting the bill for payment, choose the
“Pay by Credit Card” option. Please note that there is a $24,999.99 limit on credit card
transactions.

o Payment by ACH must be made by using CORES at https://apps.fcc.gov/cores/userLogin.do. To
pay by ACH, log in using the FCC Username associated to the FRN captioned above. If payment
must be split across FRNs, complete this process for each FRN. Next, select “Manage Existing
FRNs | FRN Financial | Bills & Fees” on the CORES Menu, then select FRN Financial and the
view/make payments option next to the FRN. Select the “Open Bills” tab and find the bill number
associated with the CD Acct. No. The bill number is the CD Acct. No. with the first two digits
excluded (e.g., CD 1912345678 would be associated with FCC Bill Number 12345678). Finally,
choose the “Pay from Bank Account” option. Please contact the appropriate financial institution
to confirm the correct Routing Number and the correct account number from which payment will

16 1d.

17 For questions regarding payment procedures, please contact the Financial Operations Group Help Desk by phone
at 1-877-480-3201 (option #1).

I8 FCC Form 159 is accessible at https://www.fcc.gov/licensing-databases/fees/fcc-remittance-advice-form-159.

19 Information completed using the Commission’s Registration System (CORES) does not require the submission of
an FCC Form 159. CORES is accessible at https://apps.fcc.gov/cores/userLogin.do.

20 Instructions for completing the form may be obtained at http:/www.fcc.gov/Forms/Form159/159.pdf.
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be made and verify with that financial institution that the designated account has authorization to
accept ACH transactions.

21. Event of Default. The Licensee agrees that an Event of Default shall occur upon: (a) the
failure by the Licensee to pay the full amount of the Civil Penalty to the U.S. Treasury on or before the
due date specified in paragraph 18 of this Consent Decree; or (b) the release of an order within thirty-six
(36) months of the Effective Date by the Commission or Bureau, such as a Notice of Apparent Liability
for Forfeiture that is uncontested or a Forfeiture Order, finding that the Licensee or any other entity
owned, operated, or controlled by, or under common control with the Licensee violated the Commission’s
Underwriting Laws and/or the terms of this Consent Decree.

22. Interest, Charges for Collection, and Acceleration of Maturity Date. After an Event
of Default has occurred under this Consent Decree, the then unpaid amount of the Civil Penalty and the
Suspended Penalty shall accrue interest, computed using the U.S. Prime Rate in effect on the date of the
Event of Default plus 4.75%, from the date of the Event of Default until payment in full. Upon an Event
of Default, the then unpaid amount of the Civil Penalty and the Suspended Penalty, together with interest,
any penalties permitted and/or required by the law, including but not limited to 31 U.S.C. § 3717 and
administrative charges, plus the costs of collection, litigation, and attorneys’ fees, shall become
immediately due and payable, without notice, presentment, demand, protest, or notice of protest of any
kind, all of which are waived by the Licensee.

23. Waivers. As of the Effective Date, the Licensee waives any and all rights it may have to
seek administrative or judicial reconsideration, review, appeal or stay, or to otherwise challenge or contest
the validity of this Consent Decree and the Adopting Order. The Licensee shall retain the right to
challenge Commission interpretation of the Consent Decree or any terms contained herein. If either Party
(or the United States on behalf of the Commission) brings a judicial action to enforce the terms of the
Consent Decree or the Adopting Order, neither the Licensee nor the Commission shall contest the validity
of the Consent Decree or the Adopting Order, and the Licensee shall waive any statutory right to a trial de
novo. The Licensee hereby agrees to waive any claims it may otherwise have under the Equal Access to
Justice Act?! relating to the matters addressed in this Consent Decree.

24. Severability. The Parties agree that if any of the provisions of the Consent Decree shall
be held unenforceable by any court of competent jurisdiction, such unenforceability shall not render
unenforceable the entire Consent Decree, but rather the entire Consent Decree shall be construed as if not
containing the particular unenforceable provision or provisions, and the rights and obligations of the
Parties shall be construed and enforced accordingly.

25. Invalidity. In the event that this Consent Decree in its entirety is rendered invalid by any
court of competent jurisdiction, it shall become null and void and may not be used in any manner in any
legal proceeding.

26. Subsequent Rule or Order. The Parties agree that if any provision of the Consent
Decree conflicts with any subsequent Rule or order adopted by the Commission (except an order
specifically intended to revise the terms of this Consent Decree to which the Licensee does not expressly
consent) that provision will be superseded by such Rule or order.

27. Successors and Assigns. The Licensee agrees that the provisions of this Consent Decree
shall be binding on its successors, assigns, and transferees.

28. Final Settlement. The Parties agree and acknowledge that this Consent Decree shall
constitute a final settlement between the Parties with respect to the Investigation.

29. Modifications. This Consent Decree cannot be modified without the advance written
consent of both Parties.

21 See 5 U.S.C. § 504; 47 CFR §§ 1.1501-1.1530.
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30. Paragraph Headings. The headings of the paragraphs in this Consent Decree are
inserted for convenience only and are not intended to affect the meaning or interpretation of this Consent
Decree.

31. Authorized Representative. Each Party represents and warrants to the other that it has
full power and authority to enter into this Consent Decree. Each person signing this Consent Decree on
behalf of a Party hereby represents that he or she is fully authorized by the Party to execute this Consent
Decree and to bind the Party to its terms and conditions.

32. Counterparts. This Consent Decree may be signed in counterpart (including
electronically or by facsimile). Each counterpart, when executed and delivered, shall be an original, and
all of the counterparts together shall constitute one and the same fully executed instrument.

Loyaan A. Egal
Chief
Enforcement Bureau

Date

Christopher Higgins
President
Payson Council for the Musical Arts, Inc.

Date



