Federal Communications Commission 445 12<sup>th</sup> St., S.W. Washington, D.C. 20554

News Media Information 202 / 418-0500 Internet: https://www.fcc.gov TTY: 1-888-835-5322

> DA 24-231 Released March 11, 2024

# CHAIRWOMAN ROSENWORCEL ANNOUNCES THE NEW MEMBERS OF THE INTERGOVERNMENTAL ADVISORY COMMITTEE

Federal Communications Commission (FCC) Chairwoman Jessica Rosenworcel today announced the new members of the FCC's Intergovernmental Advisory Committee (IAC) and named Lieutenant Governor Garlin Gilchrist II of Michigan as Chair of the IAC, and Chairman and CEO Marshall Pierite of the Tunica-Biloxi Tribe of Louisiana as Vice-Chair. The IAC is comprised of elected officials of municipal, county, state, and Tribal governments that will meet with Commission officials to exchange views, information and advice on a range of telecommunications issues for which state, local and Tribal governments explicitly or inherently share responsibility or administration with the Commission.

## BACKGROUND AND MISSION

On February 7, 2023, the Commission announced the reauthorization of the IAC,<sup>1</sup> and sought nominations for membership to the committee.<sup>2</sup> The reauthorized IAC will operate for two years, with an option for the Commission to reauthorize it at the end of the two-year period.<sup>3</sup> The term will commence with the new IAC's first meeting on April 18, 2024.

During its two-year term, the IAC may be tasked by the Chairwoman to produce specific deliverables that will further the Commission's programs, mission and objectives, which may include those related to increasing deployment and adoption of broadband services and any other tasks that may assist state, local, and Tribal government officials to better implement or describe the availability of Commission programs to their constituents and other members of the public. The Office of Intergovernmental Affairs (IGA) within the Consumer & Governmental Affairs Bureau is the Chairwoman's designee to serve as liaison to the IAC and provide oversight of the committee.

#### **COMPOSITION OF THE IAC**

Pursuant to Section 0.701(b) of the Commission's rules, the IAC should consist of thirty members (or their designated employees), with a minimum of four elected municipal officials (city mayors and city council members); two elected county officials (county commissioners or council members); one elected or appointed local government attorney; one elected state executive (governor or

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> The prior term of the IAC expired on September 22, 2022.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> FCC Announces Reauthorization of Its Intergovernmental Advisory Committee and Solicits Nominations for Membership on the Committee, Public Notice, DA 23-109 2023, WL 1926867 (CGB Feb. 7, 2023). Subsequently, in order to provide all interested parties with the opportunity to apply for membership, the deadline for submitting applications was extended, to May 12, 2023. FCC Announces Extension of Deadline to Submit Nominations for Membership on the Intergovernmental Advisory Committee, Public Notice, DA 20-307 2020, WL 2951022 (CGB Apr. 13, 2023).

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup> See 47 CFR § 0.701(a)

lieutenant governor); three elected state legislators; one elected or appointed public utilities or public service commissioner; and three elected or appointed Tribal representatives.<sup>4</sup>

#### **MEMBERS OF THE IAC**

## The newly appointed IAC members are:

## **State Executive Representatives (3)**

Roy Cooper, Governor, North Carolina

Designee: Nate Denny, Deputy Secretary, Broadband and Digital Equity, Department of Information Technology

Henry McMaster, Governor, South Carolina

Designee: James Stritzinger, Director, South Carolina Broadband Office, South Carolina Office of Regulatory Staff

Garlin Gilchrist II, Lieutenant Governor, Michigan (Chair)

Designee: Eric Frederick, Chief Connectivity Officer, Michigan High-Speed Internet Office, Michigan Department of Labor and Economic Opportunity

# **Municipal Representatives (8)**

Tim Rosener, Mayor, Sherwood, Oregon

Joseph Goldstein, Marietta City Council Member, Marietta, Georgia

Chris Amorose Groomes, Mayor, Dublin, Ohio

Susan Farber, City Council Representative, Dubuque, Iowa

Dr. Alix Desulme, Mayor, City of North Miami, Florida

Erik Sickinger, Town Council Member, Irmo, South Carolina

Dr. Adriana Rocha Garcia, Town Council Member, San Antonio, Texas

Ted Wheeler, Mayor, Portland, Oregon

Designee: Andrew Speer, Franchise Utility Program Manager

## **County Representatives (7)**

Dr. Jonathan Todd Finnell, Superintendent of Schools, Imperial County, California

Gregg Weiss, Commissioner, Palm Beach County, FL

Tarryl Clark, Commissioner, Stearns County, Minnesota

Alan Perdue, Commissioner, Guilford County, North Carolina

Joanna Mackenzie, County Judge, Hudspeth County, Texas

J.D. Clark, County Judge, Wise County, Texas

Terry Cook, Commissioner, Williamson County, Texas

# **City Attorney Representative (1)**

Victor Gordo, Mayor, Pasadena, California Designee: Javan Rad, Chief Assistant City Attorney

## **State Legislative Representatives (4)**

Cindy Ryu, State Representative, Washington Louis Riggs, State Representative, Missouri

Matt Pierce, State Representative, Indiana

Angelo J. Puppolo, State Representative, Massachusetts

-

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>4</sup> See 47 CFR § 0.701 (b).

# **State Public Utility Commission Representatives (3)**

Tony Evers, Governor, Wisconsin

Designee: Alyssa Kenney, Director of Broadband and Digital Equity, Wisconsin State Broadband Office, Wisconsin Public Service Commission

Dan Watermeier, Chair, Nebraska Public Service Commission

Designee: Cullen Robbins, Director of Telecommunications, Nebraska Universal Service Fund Department, Nebraska Public Service Commission

Muriel Bowser, Mayor, Washington, D.C.

Designee: Thaddeus Johnson, Chief of Staff, Office of Technical and Regulatory Affairs, Public Service Commission of the District of Columbia

# **Tribal Representatives (4)**

Paul Russell, Vice President, Fort McDowell Yavapai Nation, Arizona

Designee: Orlando Moreno, Director of Community and Economic Development of the Fort McDowell Yavapai Nation

Jarred-Michael Erickson, Chairperson, Colville Business Council, Confederate Tribes of the Colville Reservation, Washington

Designee: Ernie Rasmussen, Executive Director, Bigfoot Communications of the Confederated Tribes of the Colville Reservation

Richard Peterson, President, Central Council of the Tlingit and Haida Indian Tribes of Alaska Designee: Christopher Cropley, Director, Tidal Network

Marshall Pierite, Chairman and CEO of the Tunica-Biloxi Tribe of Louisiana (Vice-Chair)

## EXEMPTION FROM THE FEDERAL ADVISORY COMMITTEE ACT

Pursuant to the "intergovernmental communications" exemption of the Unfunded Mandates Reform Act of 1995 (UMRA),<sup>5</sup> the IAC is not subject to the Federal Advisory Committee Act (FACA), 5 U.S.C. Ch. 10 (1988).

#### ACCESSIBLE FORMATS

To request materials in accessible formats for people with disabilities (Braille, large print, electronic files, audio format), send an e-mail to <a href="fcc504@fcc.gov">fcc504@fcc.gov</a> or call the Consumer and Governmental Affairs Bureau at (202) 418-0530 (voice).

## **FURTHER INFORMATION**

For further information, please contact: Donna Cyrus, Senior Attorney Advisor, Office of Intergovernmental Affairs, Consumer and Governmental Affairs Bureau, Federal Communications Commission, (202) 418-7325, <a href="mailto:Donna.Cyrus@fcc.gov">Donna.Cyrus@fcc.gov</a>.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>5</sup> See 2 U.S.C. § 1534 (b).