Federal Communications Commission 45 L Street NE Washington, DC 20554

News Media Information 202 / 418-0500 Internet: https://www.fcc.gov

DA 24-293

Released: March 25, 2024

# FCC ANNOUNCES THE MEMBERSHIP OF THE WORKING GROUPS OF THE TASK FORCE FOR REVIEWING THE CONNECTIVITY AND TECHNOLOGY NEEDS OF PRECISION AGRICULTURE IN THE UNITED STATES

**GN Docket No. 19-329** 

This Public Notice serves as notice that, consistent with the Federal Advisory Committee Act<sup>1</sup> and the Agriculture Improvement Act of 2018,<sup>2</sup> Federal Communications Commission Chairwoman Jessica Rosenworcel, in consultation with Secretary of Agriculture Tom Vilsack, has appointed Working Group members to serve on the Task Force for Reviewing the Connectivity and Technology Needs of Precision Agriculture in the United States (Precision Ag Connectivity Task Force or Task Force).

The following working groups will assist the Task Force in carrying out its work: (1) Mapping and Analyzing Connectivity on Agricultural Lands; (2) Examining Current and Future Connectivity Demand for Precision Agriculture; (3) Encouraging Adoption of Precision Agriculture and Availability of High-Quality Jobs on Connected Farms; and (4) Accelerating Broadband Deployment on Unserved Agricultural Lands. A full list of Task Force Working Group members appointed by the Chairwoman in consultation with the Secretary is attached to this Public Notice as Appendix A.<sup>3</sup>

More information about the Precision Ag Connectivity Task Force is available at <a href="https://www.fcc.gov/task-force-reviewing-connectivity-and-technology-needs-precision-agriculture-united-states">https://www.fcc.gov/task-force-reviewing-connectivity-and-technology-needs-precision-agriculture-united-states</a>. You may also contact Emily Caditz, Designated Federal Officer, at (202) 418-2268, or <a href="mailto:Emily.Caditz@fcc.gov">Emily.Caditz@fcc.gov</a>; and Thomas Hastings, Deputy Designated Federal Officer, at (202) 418-1343, or <a href="mailto:Thomas.Hastings@fcc.gov">Thomas.Hastings@fcc.gov</a>.

- FCC -

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Federal Advisory Committee Act, 5 U.S.C. App. 2 (FACA).

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> Pub. L. No. 115-334, 132 Stat. 4490 (2018 Farm Bill).

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup> For more information on the working groups, see FCC Announces and Solicits Nominations for Working Groups of the Task Force for Reviewing the Connectivity and Technology Needs of Precision Agriculture in the United States, GN Docket No. 19-329, Public Notice, 34 FCC Rcd 10496 (WCB 2019).

#### APPENDIX A

# MEMBERS OF THE PRECISION AGRICULTURE CONNECTIVITY TASK FORCE WORKING GROUPS

- \* Indicates a member of the Precision Agriculture Connectivity Task Force
- ^ Indicates an application for membership has been submitted and is pending approval

# Mapping and Analyzing Connectivity on Agricultural Lands Working Group

#### Chair:

Joseph M. Carey\*

Special Government Employee

#### Vice Chair:

Brad Robison\*

Chief Executive Officer, Tallahatchie Valley Electric Power Association and Tallahatchie Valley Internet Services, LLC; President, MS Fiber (representing the *National Rural Electric Cooperative Association*)

#### **Members:**

Michael Adelaine, Ph.D.\*

CIO Emeritus & Special Advisor to the President, South Dakota State University

Sreekala Bajwa, Ph.D.\*

Vice President, Dean & Director, Montana State University College of Agriculture & Montana Agricultural Experiment Station

Luke Deryckx ^

Special Government Employee

## B. Lynn Follansbee

Vice President, Policy & Advocacy, USTelecom – The Broadband Association

Cody Goodnight

Managing Partner, Goodknight Farms (representing Oklahoma Farm Bureau)

Todd Harpest

Business Intelligence Analyst, WISPER ISP, LLC

# **Examining Current and Future Connectivity Demand for Precision Agriculture Working Group:**

#### Chair:

Joy Sterling\*

Chief Executive Officer, Iron Horse Vineyards

## Vice Chair:

Steven Strickland

Director, Partnerships & Channels, Ericsson

# **Members:**

Andy Bater\*

Farmer, Fifth Estate Growers LLC

Steven Hill\*

President, Satellite Broadcasting and Communications Association

Brent Kemp

Chief Executive Officer, AgGateway

Ryan Krogh\*

Global Combine and FEE Business Manager, John Deere

Daniel Maycock

Vice President, Professional Services, CropTrak

George Woodward

President and Chief Executive Officer, Trilogy Networks, Inc. (representing the *Rural Wireless Association*)

# **Encouraging Adoption of Precision Agriculture and Availability of High-Quality Jobs on Connected Farms Working Group:**

#### Chair:

Joshua Seidemann\*

Vice President of Policy, NTCA-The Rural Broadband Association

#### Vice Chair:

J. Alex Thomasson, Ph.D., P.E.

Professor, Department Head and William and Sherry Berry Endowed Chair, Department of Agricultural and Biological Engineering, *Mississippi State University* 

#### **Members:**

**Taylre Beaty** 

State Broadband Director, State of Tennessee Department of Economic and Community Development

Timothy Bradford, Jr., Ph.D.\*

Director of Agronomy, Vayda, Inc.

Julie Bushell\*

Chief Executive Officer, Ethos Connected (representing Irrigation Association)

Hunter Hook

Managing Director, Communication Banking Group, CoBank

Russell Peotter

Senior Advisor, America's Public Television Stations

Kevin Royal

Precision Agriculture Specialist, Clemson University Center for Agricultural Technology

# Accelerating Broadband Deployment on Unserved Agricultural Lands Working Group:

#### Chair:

Heather Hampton+Knodle\*

Vice President & Secretary, Knodle Ltd. Farms

# Vice Chair:

Jarrett Taubman

Vice President and Deputy Chief Government Affairs and Regulatory Officer, Viasat

## **Members:**

David Crawford

Principal Corporate Counsel, Federal Regulatory Affairs, T-Mobile USA, Inc.

Louis E. Paraertz

Vice President of Policy, WISPA – Broadband Without Boundaries

Matthew R. Peterson

Member, The National Grange

Carolyn Price\*

Executive Director, Upstate New York Towns Association

Dan Watermeier\*

Commissioner, First District, Nebraska Public Service Commission

Douglas Weber ^

Special Government Employee