Federal Communications Commission News media information 202 / 418-0500 445 12th Street SW Washington, D.C. 20554

Internet: http://www.fcc.gov TTY: 1-888-835-5322

Released: October 25, 2010

FCC ANNOUNCES FORMATION OF THE TECHNOLOGICAL ADVISORY COUNCIL

The FCC announced on October 21, 2010 the formation of the Technological Advisory Council. The Council, comprised of a diverse array of leading technical experts, will help provide the technical expertise the Commission needs to identify important areas of innovation and develop informed technology policies supporting America's competitiveness and job creation in the global economy.

In announcing the members of the Council, Chairman Genachowski stated: "I am pleased with the commitment by these recognized leaders to assist the Commission with its work in developing policies and recommendations that will ensure this nation's continued leadership in communications technology and services which have become so essential to our nation's economy."

Tom Wheeler, Managing Director, Core Capital Partners, will serve as Chairman of the Council. Mr. Wheeler previously served as the CEO of the Cellular Telecommunications and Internet Association and has founded multiple companies offering cable, video and voice communications services. Doug Sicker, Chief Technologist of the FCC, will work with the TAC Chairman in developing its work program. Walter Johnston, Chief of the Electromagnetic Compatibility Division, will serve as the Designated Federal Officer. Julius Knapp, Chief of the Office of Engineering and Technology will serve as the Alternate Designated Federal Officer.

The TAC will consider and advise the Commission on a variety of topics, many of which will continue the momentum of ideas and recommendations in the National Broadband Plan, such as how broadband communications can be part of the solution for the delivery and cost containment of health care, for energy and environmental conservation, for education innovation and in the creation of jobs. Other topics may include the evolution of broadband networks and devices and their implications, spectrum management, research and development in broadband and other communications areas, and how to promote innovation and investment.

The first meeting of the Council will be November 4th, 2010, from 1:00 pm to 4:00 pm in the Commission Meeting Room, 445 12th Street, S.W., Washington, D.C. The Council will discuss organizational matters, be briefed on key technical issues facing the Commission, and will work to define the issues that the Council will address. The public is invited to attend.

The Chair and members of the Council are as follows:

Chair

Tom Wheeler, Managing Director, Core Capital Partners representing Core Capital Partners

Members of the Technological Advisory Council

Mark Bayliss, President, Visual Link Internet, Lc, representing Virginia ISP Association and West Virginia Broadband Cooperative

Nomi Bergman, President, Bright House Networks, representing Bright House Networks

Peter Bloom, Advisory Director, General Atlantic, representing General Atlantic

Vinton Cerf, Vice President and Chief Internet Evangelist, Google, representing Google

John Chapin, Visiting Scientist, Communication & Network Group, Research Laboratory of Electronics, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, representing the Wireless Innovation Forum

kc claffy, Adjunct Professor in the Computer Science and Engineering Department, UC at San Diego, representing the Cooperative Association for Internet Data Analysis

David Clark, Senior Research Scientist, Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, MIT, serving as Special Government Employee

Lynn Claudy, Senior Vice President of Science and Technology, National Association of Broadcasters, representing the National Association of Broadcasters

Richard Currier, Vice President and Chief Technical Officer, Loral Space and Communications, representing Loral

Brian Daly, Director, AT&T, Core & Government/Regulatory Standards, Chief Technology Officer - Strategic Standards, AT&T, representing AT&T

Adam Drobot, Managing Director and CTO, 2M Companies, representing 2M

Tom Evslin, Member of the Board, Vermont Telecommunications Authority, State of Vermont, representing the Governor, State of Vermont

Charlotte Field, Senior Vice President – Infrastructure and Operations, National Engineering and Technical Operations, Comcast Corporation, representing Comcast

Mark Gorenberg, Managing Director, Hummer Winblad Venture Partners, representing Hummer Winblad Venture Partners

Dick Green, Board Member, Liberty Global Inc., representing Liberty Global

Dale Hatfield, Executive Director, Silicon Flatirons Center for Law, Technology, and Entrepreneurship, University of Colorado at Boulder, representing Silicon Flatirons Center

Erwin Hudson, Executive Vice President & Chief Technology Officer, WildBlue Communications, Inc., representing WildBlue

Ari Juels, Chief Scientist, RSA Laboratories / EMC, representing EMC

Kevin Kahn, Intel Senior Fellow, Director Communications Technology, Intel Labs, Intel Corporation, representing Intel

Gregory Lapin, Independent Consultant, representing American Radio Relay League

Richard Lynch, Executive Vice President and Chief Technology Officer, Verizon, representing Verizon

Brian Markwalter, Vice President Technology & Standards, Consumer Electronics Association, representing the Consumer Electronics Association

John McHugh, Technical Director, OPASTCO, representing OPASTCO

Geoffrey Mendenhall, Vice President - Transmission Research & Technology, Harris Corporation, representing Harris Corporation

Randy Nicklas, Chief Technology Officer, XO Communications, representing XO

Hilton Nicholson, CEO and Board Member SIXNET, representing SIXNET

Roberto Padovani, Chief Technology Officer, Qualcomm, Incorporated, representing Qualcomm

Daniel Reed, Corporate Vice President Technology Strategy and Policy and eXtreme Computing Group, Microsoft, representing Microsoft

Dennis Roberson, Vice Provost and Research Professor, representing Wireless Network and Communications Center (WiNCom)

Jesse Russell, Chairman and CEO, incNETWORKS, representing incNETWORKS

Andy Setos, President, Engineering, Fox Group, representing Fox

Marvin Sirbu, Professor of Engineering and Public Policy, Industrial Administration and Electrical and Computer Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University, serving as Special Government Employee

Paul Steinberg, Chief Technology Officer for Motorola Solutions, representing, Motorola

Harold Teets, Senior Vice President, Information and Network Technologies, Time Warner Telecom, Inc., representing Time Warner Telecom

David Tennenhouse, Partner, New Venture Partners, representing New Venture Partners

Bud Tribble, Vice President Software Technology, Apple, Inc., representing Apple

Jack Waters, Chief Technology Officer, Level 3 Communications LLC, representing Level 3

Robert Zitter, Chief Technology Officer, Home Box Office, representing HBO

Designated Federal Officer

Walter Johnston, Chief Electromagnetic Compatibility Division, FCC.

Alternate Designated Federal Officer

Julius Knapp, Chief, Office of Engineering and Technology, Federal Communications Commission.

For further information, contact Walter Johnston at 202-418-0807 voice, walter.johnston@fcc.gov. email