DECEMBER 14, 2011 WORKSHOP

<u>9:30 a.m. – 9:40 a.m.</u>

Welcome Remarks by Zachary Katz, Chief Counsel and Senior Legal Advisor, Office of the Chairman, FCC

<u>9:40 a.m. – 10:45 a.m.</u>

Impact of the Transition on the Technology and Economics of the PSTN Participants include:

- Dale Hatfield, University of Colorado
- Jon Peha, Carnegie Mellon
- William Lehr, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT)
- Joe Gillan, Gillan Associates
- Richard Shockey, SIP Forum

Moderators: Paul de Sa and Marius Schwartz, Office of Strategic Planning and Policy Analysis, FCC

<u>10:45 a.m. – 11:45 p.m.</u>

Policies of the PSTN (e.g., accessibility, reliability, affordability, and public safety) Participants include:

- Carolyn Gideon, Tufts University
- Mark Cooper, Consumer Federation of America
- Gregg C. Vanderheiden, University of Wisconsin
- Tom McGarry, Neustar

Moderators: Sharon Gillett, Wireline Competition Bureau, FCC, and Commissioner Geoffrey G. Why, Massachusetts Department of Telecommunications and Cable

Break for Lunch

<u>1:00 p.m. – 2:10 p.m.</u> Implementing the Transition to New Networks Participants include:

- David Young, Verizon
- John D. Schanz, Comcast
- Marvin A. Sirbu, Carnegie Mellon
- Randy Nicklas, XO Communications

Moderator: Henning Schulzrinne, Engineering Fellow, Public Safety and Homeland Security Bureau, FCC, and Columbia University

<u>2:10 p.m. – 3:20 p.m.</u>

Syncing Expectations, Emerging Technologies and the Public Good Participants include:

- John W. Mayo, Georgetown University
- W. Russell Neuman, University of Michigan
- Kevin Werbach, University of Pennsylvania Wharton
- Donald Troshynski, Acme Packet
- Bill Taylor, Panasonic Systems Networks Moderators: Daniel Kirschner, Office of the General Counsel, FCC, and Shahid Ahmed, Accenture

<u>3:20 p.m. – 4:30 p.m.</u>

Economic Rationales for PSTN Transition

Participants include:

- David J. Gabel, Queens College
- Barbara Cherry, Indiana University
- Lee W. McKnight, Syracuse University
- Craig Moffett, Sanford Bernstein
- Fernando Beltran, University of Auckland, NZ and FCC Visiting Scholar

Moderators: Paul de Sa and Marius Schwartz, Office of Strategic Planning and Policy Analysis, FCC