## Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20515

April 2, 2012

0456

The Honorable Julius Genachowski Chairman Federal Communications Commission 445 12th Street, SW Washington, DC 20554

## Dear Chairman Genachowski:

The expansion of broadband access is a key piece of promoting greater educational and business opportunities for all Americans. As you have stated, our nation faces a "spectrum crunch" that threatens to stifle broadband innovation, investment, and job creation in the wireless industry, and we agree with you. Congressional passage of spectrum legislation earlier this year was a critical step toward expanded broadband spectrum capacity. In the near term, however, the Commission should make every effort to utilize unused, available spectrum for commercial mobile broadband services. We believe an ideal opportunity exists in the S-Band of the 2 Gigahertz Mobile Satellite Service spectrum.

To that end, as the Commission moves forward with rulemaking, we support its efforts to enhance mobile broadband services in the S-Band, and we believe that it would be in the public interest to act as swiftly as practicable. We applaud the Commission for recently approving the transfer of the two S-Band licenses – formerly held by DBSD and TerreStar - to DISH Network. That approval puts 40 Megahertz of previously underutilized spectrum in the hands of an established Colorado company that intends to launch a mobile broadband service and compete in the wireless market.

We are pleased that the Commission's recently announced rulemaking might let S-Band licensees provide terrestrial-based mobile broadband service in a more efficient manner than current rules permit. We encourage the Commission to complete the rulemaking as expeditiously as possible, which could go a long a way toward alleviating the "spectrum crunch," while spurring innovation, creating thousands of jobs, and offering a meaningful competitive choice to consumers.

Sincerely.

Mark Udall United States Senator

Michael F. Bennet United States Senator

Diana DeGette

United States Representative

Scott Tipton

United States Representative

Doug Lamborn

United States Representative

Mike Coffma\_\_\_\_

United States Representative

Ed Perlmutter

United States Representative

Cory Gardner

United States Representative

Jared Polis

United States Representative