2013 Broadband Summit

Broadband Adoption and Usage - What Have We Learned?

Sponsored by the Federal - State Joint Conference on Advanced Services with NTIA

February 7, 2013

Agenda

9:00	Meet and Greet
9:15	Welcoming Remarks: FCC Commissioner Mignon Clyburn and Commissioner Larry Landis (IN)
9:30	Keynote (via video recording) Congresswoman Doris Matsui (CA) introduced by FCC Commissioner Mignon Clyburn
9:45	Panel 1: What Have We Learned from Academic Studies on How to Close the Broadband Adoption Gap
	Moderator: Garnet Hanly, Attorney Advisor, TAPD, Wireline Competition Bureau, FCC Panelists: Dr. Jon Gant, University of Illinois, School of Library and Information Sciences Dr. John Horrigan, Vice President and Director, Media and Technology Institute Joint Ctr. for Political and Economic Studies Dr. Karen Mossberger, University of Illinois at Chicago, Department of Public Administration Chanelle P. Hardy, Senior Vice President for Policy and Executive Director of the National Urban League Policy Institute Tom Koutsky, Chief Policy Counsel, Connected Nation
10:45	Break
11:00	Panel 2: Discussion of Best Practices Learned from Implementing Broadband Adoption Programs Within Different Communities
	Moderator: Commissioner Geoffrey G. Why (MA) Panelists: Deb Socia, Executive Director, Technology Goes Home Kyle Toto, Community Manager, Veteran's Portal, Massachusetts Broadband Institute Bao Vang, President/CEO, Hmong American Partnership Sybil Boutilier, Senior Analyst for Public Policy, Programs and Legislation for San Francisco's Department of Aging and Adult Services

Derrick Bulawa, CEO, BEK Communications Cooperative

12:00 **Lunch**

12:45 Keynote

1:30

Lawrence E. Strickling, Administrator, National Telecommunications and Information Administration (NTIA), Assistant Secretary for Communications and Information, U.S. Department of Commerce introduced by FCC Chairman Julius Genachowski

Panel 3: Discussion of Best Practices Learned from Implementing Broadband Adoption Programs Within Different Communities

Moderator:

Laura Breeden, Program Director for Public Computing and Broadband Adoption, BTOP, NTIA

Panelists:

Tamara Cox-Burnett, Community Technology Center Director, College of Menominee Nation

Richard Abisla, Latino TechNet Project Manager, Mission Economic

Development Agency

Corinne Hill, Director of Chattanooga, TN Public Library

David Fletcher, Administrative Services Director, Center for Distance Health (CDH), University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences

2:30 Break

2:40 Remarks:

FCC Commissioner Mignon Clyburn introduces Commissioner Jessica Rosenworcel as new Federal Chair of Federal-State Joint Conference on Advanced Services

2:45 Panel 4: Discussion of Industry Best Practices to Increase Broadband Adoption Among the Various Technologies

Moderator:

Commissioner Larry Landis (IN)

Panelists:

Dave Davidson, Senior Vice President and General Manager of Ohio, Frontier Communications

Bret Perkins, Vice President of External and Government Affairs, Comcast Corporation

Elaine Divelbliss, Director and Senior Counsel, Sprint Nextel Corporation/Virgin Mobile

Dale Merten, Chief Operating Officer, ToledoTel