PUBLIC NOTICE

Federal Communications Commission 445 12th St., S.W. Washington, D.C. 20554

News Media Information 202 / 418-0500 Internet: http://www.fcc.gov TTY: 1-888-835-5322

March 27, 2013

CORRECTION - Appointment of Members to the Re-Chartered FCC Diversity Committee

Washington, DC: The Federal Communications Commission hereby announces, consistent with the Federal Advisory Committee Act, the members of the re-chartered Federal Advisory Committee on Diversity for Communications in the Digital Age ("Diversity Committee"). See the attached list.

The Diversity Committee is a critical component of the Commission's diversity agenda. Chairman Genachowski re-chartered the Committee in December 2012 to extend the terms of the current members and to ensure that they have adequate time to continue their important work. The Committee's expert insight has informed Commission policy on vital issues like capital access, broadband infrastructure and adoption, the importance of data driven action on diversity, nondiscrimination in advertising, and many others.

The Committee's mission is to advise the Commission regarding policies and practices that will enhance diversity in the telecommunications and related industries. In particular, the Committee focuses on lowering barriers to entry for historically disadvantaged men and women and creating an environment that enables employment of a diverse workforce within the telecommunications and related industries. This Committee will continue to work on (1) unlicensed spectrum opportunities for diverse communities and entrepreneurs; (2) how exemplary EEO practices by telecommunications industry participants can contribute to the FCC's goal of viewpoint diversity; (3) how exemplary supplier diversity practices by industry participants can contribute to the FCC's goal of ownership diversity, and (4) reviewing past diversity initiatives that have positively impacted ownership diversity and determining how these initiatives can be incorporated in the Commission's current diversity agenda.

Last year, before the expiration of its previous charter, the Committee worked with the FCC's Office of Communications Business Opportunities to launch a supplier diversity outreach program for the Commission. In July 2012, the Commission hosted a successful supplier diversity conference, featuring supplier diversity experts from telecommunications and IT companies, and will continue the program this summer. The Committee also began work on designing an outreach program for the Commission to educate women and minority entrepreneurs about unlicensed devices and related business opportunities.

With the help of industry and public interest representatives, including the Diversity Committee membership, the Commission is moving forward on an ambitious diversity agenda. In December of last year, we enabled the largest-ever expansion of community radio and created opportunities for non-profit organizations and minority groups to launch thousands of new low-power FM radio stations. The Commission's recently released Form 323 ownership report provides, for the first time, detailed information by race, ethnicity, and gender concerning ownership of commercial television and radio. And in our review of the Comcast-NBCU transaction, the Commission worked closely with the parties to develop initiatives, including major ones on broadband adoption and independent programming, to ensure that the transaction improved diversity in the media marketplace.

With the assistance of the re-chartered Diversity Committee, the Commission is looking forward to making continued strides to advance diversity and inclusion in the communications sector.

Barbara Kreisman, Carolyn Fleming Williams, and Nicole McGinnis, will serve as the Designated Federal Officer and Deputy Federal Officers, respectively, of the Diversity Committee.

Diversity Committee meetings will be open to the general public and will be announced, in advance, by Public Notice. The first meeting has been scheduled for Thursday, April 25, 2013, 2:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m., at FCC Headquarters, 445 12th Street, Washington, DC. We will provide additional details as they become available. Information about the Diversity Committee can be found at <u>www.fcc.gov/DiversityFAC</u>.

If you have any questions, please contact Karen M. Beverly, (202) 418-0993 or Karen.Beverly@fcc.gov.

MEMBERS OF THE FCC'S ADVISORY COMMITTEE ON DIVERSITY FOR COMMUNICATIONS IN A DIGITAL AGE

Barbara Kreisman, Designated Federal Officer Carolyn Fleming Williams, Designated Deputy Federal Officer Nicole McGinnis, Designated Deputy Federal Officer

Chair:

Henry Rivera Emma Bowen Foundation for Minority Interests in Media

Members:

Joaquin Alvarado Center for Investigative Reporting

Philip Alvelda MobiTV

Karla Ballard Broadband Opportunities Coalition

William Branham 21st Century Telecom

Maria Brennan Women in Cable Telecommunications

Rudy Brioche Comcast-NBC

Eric Broyles Megree

Brigette Daniel Wilco Electronic Systems, Inc.

Erin Dozier National Association of Broadcasters

Donna Epps Verizon

Derrick Frost Invision TV Anita Stephens Graham Opportunity Capital Partners

Jessica Gonzales The National Hispanic Media Coalition

Anton Guitano CBS

Chanelle Hardy National Urban League

Charles Harrell The IT Architect

David Honig Minority Media Telecommunications Council

John Horrigan Joint Center for Political and Economic Studies

Ron Johnson Solutions4Change

Sherman Kizart Kizart Media Partners

Faye Kuo Communication Service for the Deaf

Jason Lagria Asian American Justice Center

Nicol Turner-Lee National Association for Multi-Ethnicity in Communications

Jose Marquez Latinos in Science and Technology Association

Celia Nogales AT&T Javier Palomarez United States Hispanic Chamber of Commerce

Susan Patrick Patrick Communications

Tony Perez National Association of Telecommunications Officers and Advisors

Steve Roberts The Roberts Companies

Andrew Jay Schwartzman Free Press

Diane Sutter Shooting Star Broadcasting

Sylvia Strobel Alliance for Women in Media

Dr. Jorge Schement Rutgers University

Virgil Smith Gannett Co.

Dr. Cindy Shao Asian American Chamber of Commerce

Loris Ann Taylor Native Public Media

Joseph Torres Free Press

Walter Ulloa Entravision

Mark Wallace Cipher Communications

Jim Winston National Association of Black Owned Broadcasters