

Federal Communications Commission 445 12th Street, S.W. Washington, DC 20554

News Media Information 202-418-0500 Internet: http://www.fcc.gov TTY: 1-888-835-5322

This is an unofficial announcement of Commission action. Release of the full text of a Commission order constitutes official action. See MCI v. FCC, 515 F.2d 385 (D.C. Cir. 1974).

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: January 31, 2014

NEWS MEDIA CONTACT: Matthew Berry, 202-418-2005 Email: Matthew.Berry@fcc.gov

STATEMENT OF COMMISSIONER AJIT PAI ON THE CONCLUSION OF THE TECHNOLOGY TRANSITIONS POLICY TASK FORCE

For the last thirteen months, the Commission's work on the IP Transition has been guided by the steady hand of the Technology Transitions Policy Task Force. I had called for the creation of such a group back in July 2012 and was pleased when former Chairman Julius Genachowski set it up later that year. Now that the task force has established the framework for an All-IP Pilot Program, as well as other transition trials, its work is done.

I thank all the members of the task force for their work over these many months, including Claude Aiken, Jonathan Chambers, Mindel De La Torre, Kate Dumouchel, David Furth, Lisa Gelb, Rebekah Goodheart, Patrick Halley, Matthew Hussey, Walter Johnston, Julius Knapp, Padma Krishnaswamy, William Lake, Sean Lev, Albert Lewis, Marcus Maher, Allan Manuel, Charles Mathias, Carol Mattey, Timothy May, Kris Monteith, Brendan Murray, Alison Neplokh, Eric Ralph, Jim Schlichting, Henning Schulzrinne, Roger Sherman, David Simpson, Jerome Stanshine, Tim Stelzig, Mark Stone, David Turetsky, Julie Veach, and Stephanie Weiner. And I especially commend Jonathan Sallet, the director of the task force, for his efforts to craft a bipartisan order that aims to expedite American consumers' transition to a promising, all-IP future.