## Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20515

495

May 14, 2014

The Honorable Thomas E. Wheeler Chairman Federal Communications Commission 445 12<sup>th</sup> St, S.W. Washington, D.C. 20554

Dear Chairman Wheeler:

We have been following with interest your ongoing proceeding on how best to re-implement the "net neutrality" rules. Like you, we believe it is critical that we maintain a free and open Internet, where consumers are not blocked from accessing the websites of their choice and providers do not use their control over the last mile to stifle competition.

As you consider how best to move forward to achieve these goals, we write to share our concerns with reports that the Commission may be considering achieving these goals by reclassifying broadband Internet access service as a "Title II" common carrier service. In the years that broadband service has been subjected to relatively little regulation, investment and deployment have flourished and broadband competition has increased, all to the benefit of consumers and the American economy.

While we still have further to go to ensure that the benefits of broadband reach all Americans, we are concerned that opening the door to subjecting broadband service to a wide array of regulatory burdens and restrictions, including imposing Title II, might halt this progress. We respectfully urge you to consider the effect that regressing to a Title II approach might have on private companies' ability to attract capital and their continued incentives to invest and innovate, as well as the potentially negative impact on job creation that might result from any reduction in funding or investment. We share your goals of keeping the Internet open to all.

Thank you for your work on this very important issue.

Sincerely,

Gene Green

Member of Congress

John Barrow

Member of Congress

Member of Congress Member of Congress Jøaquin Castro Corrine Brown Member of Congress Member of Congress Member of Congress Member of Congress Loretta Sanchez Bennie G. Thompson Member of Congress Member of Congress Nick J. Rahall Member of Congress Member of Congress

Kurt Schrader

Member of Congress

Marc Veasey

Member of Congress

Sanford D. Bishop, Jr. Member of Congress

William Lacy Clay Member of Congress

Scott Peters

Member of Congress

Gregory W. Meeks Member of Congress

Henry Cuellar Member of Congress

David Scott

Member of Congress