

January 28, 2015

82

The Honorable Tom Wheeler Chairman Federal Communications Commission 445 12th St. SW Washington, DC 20554

Dear Chairman Wheeler:

When Congress passed the Telephone Consumer Protection Act (TCPA) of 1991, the goal was clear: whether at home or on their mobile phones, consumers should not be subject to intrusive and unsolicited calls from telemarketers.

More than 20 years after the enactment of the TCPA, it is clear that consumers have benefited from the law's protections. In 1991, Congress was primarily concerned with stopping phone calls while families were eating meals together, parents were helping children with homework, or workers were arriving home after work. By banning auto dialing and pre-recorded calls to land lines and mobile phones, with certain exceptions, and establishing the National Do Not Call Registry, the law created a zone of privacy that remains hugely popular with consumers to this day.

Unfortunately, today there are efforts to weaken this important law. In response to industry requests, the Federal Communications Commission (FCC) is seeking comment on proposals that would provide exemptions and questionable safe harbors for businesses that utilize auto-dialers to call consumers' mobile devices. We have deep concerns about these proposed changes that undermine the intent and spirit of the TCPA.

American consumers have enjoyed the convenience and privacy that the protections the TCPA have provided for more than two decades. These protections should continue for years to come. The FCC should reject calls to weaken or undermine this effective law.

Thank you for your attention to this issue.

Sincerely,

Edward J. Markey

United States Senator

Charles E. Schumer United States Senator Ron Wyden Claire McCaskill United States Senator United States Senator Tamniy Baldwin Barbara Boxer United States Senator United States Senator Richard Blumenthal Elizabeth Warren United States Senator United States Senator Bernard Sanders Kirsten Gillibrand United States Senator United States Senator Amy Klobuchar Jeff Merkley United States Senator United States Senator Sheldon Whitehouse Al Franken United States Senator United States Senator

Cc: Chairwoman Edith Ramirez

Commissioner Mignon Clyburn Commissioner Jessica Rosenworcel Commissioner Ajit Pai Commissioner Michael O'Rielly