Supplified Charles

ONE HUNDRED FOURTEENTH CONGRESS

## Congress of the United States

## House of Representatives

COMMITTEE ON ENERGY AND COMMERCE

2125 RAYBURN HOUSE OFFICE BUILDING WASHINGTON, DC 20515–6115

Majority (202) 225–2927 Minority (202) 225–3641

July 9, 2015

The Honorable Tom Wheeler Chairman Federal Communications Commission 445 12th Street, S.W. Washington, D.C. 20554 Received & Inspected

JUL 13 2015

FCC Mail Room

## Dear Chairman Wheeler:

For over a decade, the Federal Communications Commission has required wireless carriers to implement local number portability, allowing consumers to switch among service providers while keeping their phone number. As you noted earlier this year, "[e]very day, more than 100,000 individuals and businesses in America switch their phone carriers but keep their old number."

Consumers overwhelmingly prefer to keep their numbers when they switch carriers. However, those hoping to switch to non-nationwide wireless carriers may be unable to port-in their existing numbers under today's rules. This distinction within the number portability rules places non-nationwide providers at a competitive disadvantage, and as a recent white paper on this issue from the North American Numbering Council noted, this could result in consumer confusion when attempting to switch providers.

We urge you to act expeditiously to resolve this customer confusion and support nationwide wireless number portability for all providers.

Sincerely,

Fred Upton, Chairman

committee on Energy and Commerce

Frank Pallone, Jr., Ranking Member

Committee on Energy and Commerce

Greg Walder, Chairman Subcommittee on Communications and Technology	Anna G. Eshoo, Ranking Member Subcommittee on Communications and Technology
Bob Latta, Vice Chairman	Michael F. Doyle, Member
John Shimkus, Member  Michael Bleckburn	Peter Welch, Member
Marsha Blackburn, Member  Steve Scalise, Member	John Yarmuth, Member  Avette D. Clarke  Yvette D. Clarke, Member
Leonard Lance, Member	David Loebsack, Member
Brett Guthrie, Member	Bobby L. Rush, Member
Pete Olson, Member  Why Hompso	Diana DeGette, Member  Cir. Ru Htulo
Mike Pompeo, Member	G.K. Butterfield, Member

Adam Kinzinger, Member	Doris O. Matsui, Member
In M. Bilahia	
Gus Bilirakis, Member	Herry McHerney, Member
Bill Johnson, Member	Ben Ray Lujan, Member
Billy Long, Member	
Renee Ellmers, Member	

Chris Collins, Member

Spain Clamer