Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20515

317

April 22, 2016

The Honorable Thomas E. Wheeler Chairman Federal Communications Commission 445 12th St, S.W. Washington, D.C. 20554

Dear Chairman Wheeler:

Over the last two decades, we have witnessed remarkable changes in the competitive landscape that have rapidly expanded who provides video programming and how consumers enjoy it. Your recent Notice of Proposed Rulemaking concerning Navigation Devices proposes far reaching rules affecting the current video programming marketplace, programming, security, consumer protections, costs, networks and consumer electronics. It raises substantial issues of concern to many parties that have not been adequately studied.

In order to evaluate the current marketplace and to assess the potential impact of the proposed rules, we believe it is essential for independent, peer-reviewed studies to be completed of current developments towards market-based solutions and of the potential costs and benefits of the proposed rules, including the impact of the proposed rules on diversity of programming, independent and minority television programming, content protection and consumer privacy.

At a minimum, these studies should analyze:

- The potential impact of the proposed rule on all parties in the video programming marketplace, including video programming creators, satellite-delivered video programming vendors, multichannel video programming distributors, and subscribers of multichannel video services;
- The potential impact of the proposed rule on content diversity, intellectual property, and content licensing;
- The potential impact of the proposed rule on consumer privacy, and the legal remedies available to consumers for violations of video privacy obligations.

Therefore, we urge the Commission to suspend further action on its Notice of Proposed Rulemaking until these studies are completed and Congress has the opportunity to review and assess the studies.

Sincerely,

Yvette Clarke

Member of Congress

Gene Green

Member of Congress

Eliot L. Engel Eliot Engel Member of Congress	G. K. Butterneld Member of Congress
Bobby Rush Member of Congress	Paul Tonko Member of Congress
Henry Cuellar Member of Congress	Loretta Sanchez Member of Congress
Ted Lieu Member of Congress	Cedric Richmond Member of Congress
William Lacy Clay Member of Congress	Terri Sewell Member of Congress
Frederica Wilson Member of Congress	Brenda Lawrence Member of Congress
Brendan Boyle Member of Congress	Bennie Thompson Member of Congress

Grace Napolitano
Member of Congress

Alma Adams
Member of Congress

Dina Titus
Member of Congress

Robert Brady Member of Congress

David Scott Member of Congress

Alcee L. Hastings Member of Congress

Filemon Vela Member of Congress Albio Sires
Member of Congress

Norma J. Torres Member of Congress

Luis V. Gutiérrez Member of Congress

Pete Aguilar Member of Congress

Eddie Bernice Johnson Member of Congress

Edni Bernice Johnson

Brad Ashford Member of Congress

Gregory W. Meeks Member of Congress



Chaka Fattah Member of Congress

Robin Kelly Member of Congress

> Mark Takai Member of Congress

Timothy Walz Member of Congress

Ann McLane Kuster

Ann McLane Kuster Member of Congress

Ruben Gallego Member of Congress Carrie Bunn

Corrine Brown Member of Congress

Hakeem Jeffries Member of Congress

Stacey Plaskett Member of Congress

Mike Quigley
Member of Congress

C.A. Dutch Ruppersberger Member of Congress

Van Lowerthal

Alan Lowenthal Member of Congress

Kyrsten Sinema Member of Congress Mathew A Corporation

Matt Cartwright
Member of Congress



Brian Higgins Member of Congress

Gwerl Grahan Member of Congress

Gwen Moore Member of Congress

Marcia L. Fudge Member of Congress

Sheila Jackson Lee Member of Congress Sib

Jim Costa
Member of Congress

Donald M. Payne, Jr. Member of Congress

Richard Neal Member of Congress

Scott Peters
Member of Congress

Marc Veasey
Member of Congress