## STATEMENT OF CHAIRMAN AJIT PAI

## Re: Amendment of Parts 2 and 25 of the Commission's Rules to Facilitate the Use of Earth Stations in Motion Communicating with Geostationary Orbit Space Stations in Frequency Bands Allocated to the Fixed Satellite Service, IB Docket No. 17-95.

The FCC has rules for satellite earth stations on ships. It also has almost identical rules for satellite earth stations on land vehicles. And it also has almost identical rules for satellite earth stations on aircraft. Having three sets of duplicative rules is unnecessary and inefficient. So today, we propose to combine these three rule sections into one—collectively called earth stations in motion, or ESIMs.

ESIMs should not be confused with the all-consuming, life simulation computer game from the turn of the century The Sims, Heisman Trophy winner Billy Sims, Super Bowl champion quarterback Phil Simms, or *Las Vegas* actress Molly Sims. No, ESIMs are earth stations that are on the go. Think of them as roving infrastructure connected to the satellite network that have the potential to promote broadband services—especially in places that are hard to serve, such as remote land masses and barren seas.

Simplifying our rules will help the FCC process applications for new deployments more efficiently and will make it easier for satellite companies to offer customers additional service options. And authorizing ESIMs to operate in new bands (for satellite geeks—the conventional Ka-band) means more opportunities for deployment.

In sum, this proposal meets two core goals of the Commission: reducing unnecessary red tape and enabling the private sector—in this case, a fast-growing segment of the satellite industry—to innovate and invest in new technologies.

Many thanks to those who worked on this item. In particular, thanks to Jose Albuquerque, Paul Blais, Chip Fleming, Jennifer Gilsenan, Joe Hill, Cindy Spiers, Walt Strack, Tom Sullivan, and Troy Tanner in the International Bureau; Bahman Badipour, Howard Griboff, Michael Ha, Nicholas Oros, and Jamison Prime in the Office of Engineering and Technology; Steve Buenzow, Tim Hilfiger, Matthew Pearl, Paul Powell, Blaise Scinto, and Joel Taubenblatt from the Wireless Telecommunications Bureau; and Deborah Broderson and David Horowitz from the Office of General Counsel.