STATEMENT OF CHAIRMAN AJIT PAI

Re: Advanced Methods to Target and Eliminate Unlawful Robocalls, CG Docket No. 17-59

As Chairman, I've repeatedly made clear that the FCC's top consumer protection priority is aggressively pursuing the scourge of illegal robocalls. This *Report and Order and Further Notice of Proposed Rulemaking* is one more step toward fulfilling that commitment.

Among other things, our action here will allow carriers to block telephone calls that purport to originate from unassigned or invalid phone numbers. These calls are very likely to be illegal or fraudulent; there's no legitimate reason for anyone to spoof caller ID to make it seem as if he or she is calling from an unassigned or invalid phone number. We also allow those who hold phone numbers that are not used to make outbound calls to request that carriers block any phone calls that purport to come from those numbers. Once again, any such calls are very likely to be illegal or fraudulent. And to address the rare instance when an error might be made, we encourage carriers to establish a transparent process for legitimate callers to challenge a blocked number and to resolve the challenge quickly.

It is important to stress that today's action is deregulatory in nature. We aren't piling more rules upon industry. Instead, we're providing relief from FCC rules that are having the perverse effect of facilitating unlawful and unwanted robocalls.

I thank my colleagues for their thoughtful comments to this item and for joining me in this bipartisan endeavor. Make no mistake—this isn't the end of our efforts. We'll need to do more, and we will. But we're building a strong foundation for fighting illegal robocalls, both by updating our rules and taking enforcement action.

I am grateful to the staff for all their efforts on this *Report and Order and Further Notice of Proposed Rulemaking*. Thanks to John B. Adams, Micah Caldwell, Karen Schroeder, Kurt Schroeder, Mark Stone, Patrick Webre, and Lauren Wilson from the Consumer and Governmental Affairs Bureau; to William Layton, Richard Mallen, Linda Oliver, and Bill Richardson from the Office of General Counsel; to Eric Burger from the Office of Strategic Planning & Policy Analysis; to Adam Copeland, Dan Kahn, and Ann Stevens from the Wireline Competition Bureau; to Brenda Boykin, Kenneth Carlberg, Robert Finley, David Furth, Timothy May, and Erika Olsen from the Public Safety and Homeland Security Bureau; to Jeffrey Gee, Lisa Gelb, Kalun Lee, and Kristi Thompson from the Enforcement Bureau; and to Belford Lawson and Sanford Williams from the Office of Communications Business Opportunities.