

Media Contact:

Brooke Ericson, (202) 418-2300 Brooke.Ericson@fcc.gov

For Immediate Release

STATEMENT OF COMMISSIONER MICHAEL O'RIELLY ON SENATE CONFIRMATION OF FTC NOMINEES

WASHINGTON, April 27, 2018. — "I applaud the Senate for confirming Joe Simons, Rohit Chopra, Noah Phillips, Christine Wilson, and Rebecca Slaughter to our sister agency, the Federal Trade Commission. With a full slate of new Commissioners and Chair at the agency, the FTC has the unique opportunity to appropriately protect consumers given the agency's statutory charge, while acknowledging the realities of the current marketplace. I have no doubt that this strong group of nominees is up to the task and I stand ready to work with each individual when our jurisdictions or views align.

At the same time, I sincerely thank acting Chairman Ohlhausen for her exemplary service and wish her well in her new role, pending Senate consideration."

###

Office of Commissioner Mike O'Rielly: (202) 418-2300 Twitter: @mikeofcc www.fcc.gov/leadership/michael-orielly