Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20515

822

November 4, 2019

The Honorable Ajit Pai Chairman Federal Communications Commission 445 12th Street SW Washington, DC 20554-0004

Dear Chairman Pai:

As you know, in 2018 Congress overwhelmingly passed and the president signed into law the National Suicide Hotline Improvement Act (PL 115-233), which required the Federal Communications Commission (FCC) to examine the feasibility of designating a three-digit dialing code for a national suicide prevention and mental health crisis hotline system.

While we appreciate the diligence of the FCC in issuing its report and recommendation to Congress that 988 be designated for this purpose, some issues do remain.

Therefore, we request that the FCC provide written response to the following questions:

- 1. Are there current gaps in coverage for the future 988 dialing code? If so, where do these gaps exist?
- 2. Can universal coverage for 988 be achieved?
- 3. Who is responsible for the legacy switch upgrades necessary to make the 988 dialing code universal?
- 4. What is the estimated timeline for any necessary switch upgrades to be completed? What is the FCC doing to ensure these upgrades are completed in a timely manner?
- 5. Is the FCC able to supplement the costs of these upgrades? If so, to what extent? If not, how does the FCC propose these upgrades should be paid for?
- 6. How much time is required to make the 988 dialing code nationally operational?
- 7. What is the timeline required to educate the public on 988? Who is responsible for the cost of any required education campaign?

Thank you for your attention to this matter and for all your efforts and leadership on this critical matter. We request that you please provide responses to these questions by November 22, 2019.

Sincerely,

Bobby L. Rush

Member of Congress

Mul

Anna G. Eshoo Member of Congress	Michael F. Doyle Member of Congress
Jan Schakowsky Member of Congress	GK Butterfield Member of Congress
Doris Matsui Member of Congress	Jerry McNerney Member of Congress
Peter Welch Member of Congress	Paul Tonko Member of Congress
Yvette D. Clarke Member of Congress	David Loebsack Member of Congress
Joseph P. Kennedy, III Member of Congress	Tony Cárdenas Member of Congress
Debbie Dingell Member of Congress	Ann McLane Kuster Member of Congress
Robin L. Kelly Member of Congress	Lisa Blunt Rochester Member of Congress
Darren Soto Member of Congress	Tom O'Halleran Member of Congress