Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20515

890

November 11, 2019

Received & Inspected NOV 2 0 2019 FCC Mailroom

The Honorable Ajit Pai Chairman Federal Communications Commission 445 12th Street, Southwest Washington, D.C. 20554

Dear Chairman Pai:

On December 13, 2018, the Federal Communications Commission (FCC) adopted a *Report and Order* to revise the amount of support available for rural telephone companies that receive Alternative Connect America Model (A-CAM) support to deploy broadband in high cost areas. Pineland Telephone Cooperative Inc. (Pineland) since filed a petition to reconsider the December 2018 Order on the grounds that, approximately 230,000 rural Americans live in census blocks that will not receive funding to support 25/3 Mbps(the speed that the FCC considers to be "broadband") because their broadband provider elected the initial A-CAM offer and therefore will not be receiving an A-CAM II offer that would include more support.

We share the goals of the FCC's mission to bring truly high-speed broadband to rural America. In order to stay connected and thrive in this new age of technology and constant connectivity, all rural and urban areas should be allowed <u>equal access</u> and the ability to receive adequate high-speed broadband that can support current *and* future needs for jobs, education, healthcare, entertainment, and everything else made possible through a reliable, robust connection to the Internet. We support the FCC's efforts to provide funding for 25/3 Mbps broadband to more locations, but this *report and order* could create a discrepancy for A-CAM I and A-CAM II recipients.

We respectfully ask that the FCC thoroughly review Pineland's petition, including any calculations and proprietary information that can be generated within the Wireline Competition Bureau, to ensure that rural Americans are not left behind.

Thank you for your consideration of this request, and for your hard work to extend broadband to all Americans.

Sincerely, Rick W. Allen

Member of Congress

A. Drew Ferguson, IV, D.M.D Member of Congress

Jeff Duncan Member of Congress

Sanford D. Bishop Jr. Member of Congress

Adrian Smith Member of Congress

•e unnic

Joe Cunningham Member of Congress

Joder C. Arrington Member of Congress

Austin Scott Member of Congress

Joay B. Hice Member of Congress

Sam Graves Member of Congress