Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20515

21

January 10, 2020

The Honorable Ajit V. Pai Chairman Federal Communications Commission 445 12th Street, S.W. Washington, D.C. 20554

Dear Chairman Pai:

We write to thank you for releasing a proposal to modernize the 5.9 GHz band. As you know, the 5.9 GHz band was originally set aside in 1999 for vehicle-related Dedicated Short-Range Communications (DSRC). However, this technology has not lived up to its expectations, resulting in much of the 5.9 GHz band to go largely unused. We believe it is time to revisit the allocation of this valuable spectrum to ensure it is being put to the most efficient use.

The Commission's proposal to split the 5.9 GHz band, providing 45 MHz for unlicensed uses and 30 MHz for automotive safety, will allow this spectrum to continue to be used for its original purpose while supporting the growing demand for Wi-Fi and 5G services across the nation. This proposal will ensure that Americans benefit from unlicensed Wi-Fi technologies and additional connected vehicle safety technologies, both of which cannot operate today in the 5.9 GHz band under the Commission's existing rules.

We commend the Commission for acting on this issue and for proposing new rules that support dedicated spectrum for connected vehicles and unlicensed services like Wi-Fi. This proposal shows that the Commission remains dedicated to transportation safety while supporting the growing demand for unlicensed services. While there are still steps that should be taken to make more unlicensed spectrum available, the Commission's proposal for the 5.9 GHz band demonstrates that we are moving in the right direction. We also thank Commissioners Jessica Rosenworcel and Mike O'Rielly for their hard work on this proceeding. We look forward to further engagement on your compromise proposal as you work through the process to ensure this important spectrum is put to better use for the American people.

Sincerely,

IERRY MENERNEY

Member of Congress

BILLY LONG

Member of Congress

ANNA G. ESHOO Member of Congress

JOHN SHIMKUS Member of Congress

CC: The Honorable Michael O'Rielly, Commissioner, Federal Communications Commission The Honorable Jessica Rosenworcel, Commissioner, Federal Communications Commission The Honorable Brendan Carr, Commissioner, Federal Communications Commission The Honorable Geoffrey Starks, Commissioner, Federal Communications Commission