

Media Contact:

Anne Veigle, (202) 418-0506 Anne.Veigle@fcc.gov

For Immediate Release

FCC ANNOUNCES NEW CHIEF OF STAFF FOR RURAL BROADBAND AUCTIONS TASK FORCE

WASHINGTON, June 22, 2020—Today, Federal Communications Commission Chairman Ajit Pai announced a staff change in the management of the FCC's Rural Broadband Auctions Task Force. Nathan Eagan, who has been the chief of the staff of the Task Force since 2018, has moved to the Office of General Counsel. Audra Hale-Maddox will become the new chief of staff for the Task Force.

"Nathan has been an essential part of the Rural Broadband Auctions Task Force, keeping our programs on schedule and conducting outreach in support of our universal service auctions," said Michael Janson, Director of the Task Force. "I'm pleased to welcome Audra Hale-Maddox to the Task Force at this critical time as we prepare for the Rural Digital Opportunity Fund Phase I auction on October 29. Audra's experience designing universal service auction programs will be a tremendous asset to the Task Force as we work to implement the Commission's goal of expanding digital connectivity to rural America."

Since 2012, Hale-Maddox served in the Auctions Division of the Commission's Office of Economics and Analytics (and Wireless Telecommunications Bureau before that), specializing in auction programs focused on expanding broadband access. Prior to joining the FCC, she was an enforcement attorney for the Federal Election Commission and a litigation associate at Womble Carlyle's Northern Virginia office. She clerked for Justice Harold See of the Alabama Supreme Court and worked as a civilian attorney for the U.S. Army in Germany. Hale-Maddox graduated cum laude from Harvard University with a concentration in government and she graduated from the William and Mary Law School.

The Rural Broadband Auctions Task Force is responsible for implementing reverse auctions of universal service support in the High Cost program, including the successful Connect America Fund Phase II auction and the upcoming \$20.4 billion Rural Digital Opportunity Fund auctions. In addition to Janson, the Task Force includes Deputy Directors Kirk Burgee and Jonathan McCormack.

###

Media Relations: (202) 418-0500 / ASL: (844) 432-2275 / TTY: (888) 835-5322 / Twitter: @FCC / www.fcc.gov

This is an unofficial announcement of Commission action. Release of the full text of a Commission order constitutes official action. See MCI v. FCC, 515 F.2d 385 (D.C. Cir. 1974).