Congress of the United States

Washington, DC 20515

December 12, 2023

The Honorable Jessica Rosenworcel Chair Federal Communications Commission 45 L Street NE Washington, DC 20554

Dear Chair Rosenworcel,

We write to urge the Federal Communications Commission (FCC) to finish its work to reinstate the collection of broadcast workforce diversity data. The FCC is required by law to collect this information, and without it, the Commission and Congress are deprived of a key tool to assess the makeup of the media workforce. In 2021, after nearly 20 years, the FCC took the important step of soliciting comment on how to recommence this important data collection using Form 395-B. It is now time for the Commission to follow through, and set forth rules for broadcasters to submit workforce diversity data on an annual basis, as Congress intended.

As Congresswoman Clarke and Commissioner Starks expressed earlier this week, representation matters. Congress and the Commission have charged broadcasters with providing programming that is responsive to the needs and interests of their community of license. It is simple – a station is best placed to do so when its employees reflect the diversity of that community.

When Congress codified the Form 395-B collection, our hope was that this data would provide valuable insights regarding diversity in broadcasting. The importance of these objectives has only increased in the intervening years. We urge you to act swiftly to put Form 395-B back into use.

Sincerely,

Yvette D. Clarke

Member of Congress

Delia C. Ramirez Member of Congress

// 14

Zevin Mullin

Member of Congress

Eleanor Holmes Norton Member of Congress André Carson Member of Congress James P. McGovern Member of Congress

James P. Me

Paul D. Tonko Member of Congress

Manette Diaz Barragán

Member of Congress

Jim Costa Member of Congress

Raul Ruiz, M.D. Member of Congress

Dan Goldman Member of Congress

Darren Soto Member of Congress

Frederica S. Wilson Member of Congress

Marc A. Veasey
Member of Congress

Al Green

Member of Congress

Ranking Member, Subcommittee on Oversight and Investigations

Robin L. Kelly

Member of Congress

Alma S. Adams, Ph.D. Member of Congress

Jerrold Nadler Member of Congress

Member of Congress

United States Senator

Troy A. Carter, Sr. Member of Congress

Nydia M. Velázquez Member of Congress

Bolnie Water Colema Bonnie Watson Coleman

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Sheila Jackson Lee Member of Congress

Ben Ray Luján

United States Senator

Raphael Warnock United States Senator

CC:

The Honorable Brendan Carr Commissioner

The Honorable Geoffrey Starks Commissioner

The Honorable Nathan Simington Commissioner

The Honorable Anna M. Gomez Commissioner