Before the Federal Communications Commission Washington, D.C. 20554

In the Matter of)	
)	
Federal-State Joint Conference on)	CC Docket No. 99-294
Advanced Telecommunications Services)	

ORDER

Adopted: December 19, 2003

Released: December 23, 2003

By the Commission:

I. INTRODUCTION

1. By this Order, we increase the size of the Federal-State Joint Conference on Advanced Services ("Joint Conference") to include representatives from up to seven state commissions, in order to enhance its effectiveness and ensure a diversity of viewpoint. We also fill vacancies created by the addition of two state seats, as well as recent departures from the Joint Conference. We believe that these measures will allow greater federal-state cooperation, which is critical to facilitating the widespread deployment of, and access to, advanced services.

II. BACKGROUND

2. The Joint Conference was convened in 1999 as part of the Commission's ongoing efforts to ensure that advanced services are deployed as rapidly as possible to all Americans.¹ The Joint Conference serves as a forum for an ongoing dialogue between the Commission, state regulators, and local and regional entities regarding the deployment of advanced telecommunications capabilities. The Joint Conference is comprised of commissioners from state public utilities commissions and from the Federal Communications Commission and is chaired by the FCC Chairman or his designee.²

3. Among other things, the Joint Conference is responsible for monitoring and collecting data regarding the practices of carriers as they deploy advanced services throughout the nation. The Joint Conference also has held a series of field hearings across the country and has conducted Broadband Summits to examine how best to accelerate the deployment of affordable advanced services to rural and other under-served telecommunications users.

¹ See In the Matter of Federal-State Joint Conference on Advanced Telecommunications Services, CC Docket No. 99-294, Order, 14 FCC Rcd 17622.

² On April 5, 2002, Chairman Powell designated Commissioner Kevin J. Martin to chair the Joint Conference. *See* "FCC Chairman Powell Designates Commissioner Kevin J. Martin to Chair the Federal-State Joint Conference on Advanced Telecommunications Services," 2002 WL 507326 (Apr. 5, 2002).

Through these, and other, activities, the Joint Conference has worked cooperatively to promote the widespread deployment of advanced services.

III. DISCUSSION

4. To help the Joint Conference achieve its broad mandate, and pursuant to section 410(b) of the Communications Act of 1934, 47 U.S.C. § 410(b), the Commission appoints Commissioner Susan P. Kennedy of the California Public Utilities Commission, Thomas L. Welch, Chairman of the Maine Public Utilities Commission, and Deborah Tate, Chairman of the Tennessee Regulatory Authority to serve on the Federal-State Joint Conference on Advanced Telecommunications Services. The Commission also appoints Bob Rowe, Chairman of the Montana Public Service Commission, formerly a non-voting member, to serve as a full member of the Federal-State Joint Conference on Advanced Telecommunications Services.

5. The number of members on the Joint Conference has been increased in order to augment diversity in Joint Conference membership and thereby widen the range of viewpoints and expertise. This is critical to informed decision-making as federal and state regulators join forces to encourage the deployment of advanced telecommunications services. Increasing the size of the Joint Conference is also consistent with the approach the Commission has taken with other joint boards, where the complexity and magnitude of the board's charter warranted a relatively large membership in order to address the broad range of issues presented.

6. Henceforth, a copy of all filings in this proceeding shall be served on each of the following members of the Joint Conference at the following addresses:

The Honorable Michael K. Powell, FCC Chairman Federal Communications Commission 445 12th Street, SW Washington, DC 20554

The Honorable Kevin J. Martin, Commissioner Chair, Federal State Joint Conference on Advanced Telecommunications Services Federal Communications Commission 445 12th Street, SW Washington, DC 20554

The Honorable Kathleen Q. Abernathy, Commissioner Federal Communications Commission 445 12th Street, SW Washington, DC 20554

The Honorable Michael J. Copps, Commissioner Federal Communications Commission 445 12th Street, SW Washington, DC 20554

The Honorable Jonathan S. Adelstein, Commissioner

Federal Communications Commission 445 12th Street, SW Washington, DC 20554

The Honorable G. Nanette Thompson, Commissioner Regulatory Commission of Alaska 701 West Eight Avenue, Suite 300 Anchorage, Alaska 99501-3469

The Honorable Irma Muse Dixon, Commissioner Louisiana Public Service Commission Office of the Commissioner District 3 – New Orleans 1600 Canal Street Suite 1400 New Orleans, Louisiana 70112

The Honorable Jo Anne Sanford, Chair North Carolina Utilities Commission 430 North Salisbury Street Dobbs Building Raleigh, NC 27603-5918

The Honorable Bob Rowe, Chairman Montana Public Service Commission 1701 Prospect Avenue PO Box 20261 Helena, MT 59620-2601

The Honorable Susan P. Kennedy, Commissioner California Public Utilities Commission 505 Van Ness Ave. San Francisco, CA 94102

The Honorable Thomas L. Welch, Chairman Maine Public Utilities Commission 242 State Street 18 State House Station Augusta, ME 04333-0018

The Honorable Deborah T. Tate, Chairman Tennessee Regulatory Authority 460 James Robertson Parkway Nashville, Tennessee 37243

7. To request materials in accessible formats for people with disabilities (braille, large print, electronic files, audio format), send an email to fcc504.fcc.gov or call the Consumer & Governmental Affairs Bureau at (202) 418-0531 (voice), (202) 418-7365 (tty).

IV. ORDERING CLAUSES

8. Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED that, pursuant to Section 410(b) of the Communications Act of 1934, as amended, 47 U.S.C. §410(b), the Honorable Susan P. Kennedy, Commissioner of the California Public Utilities Commission, and the Honorable Thomas L. Welch, Chairman of the Maine Public Utilities Commission, and Deborah Tate, Chairman of the Tennessee Regulatory Authority are appointed to the Federal-State Joint Conference on Advanced Telecommunications Services.

9. IT IS ALSO ORDERED that, pursuant to Section 410(b) of the Communications Act of 1934, as amended, 47 U.S.C. § 410(b), the Honorable Bob Rowe, Chairman of the Montana Public Service Commission, formerly a non-voting member, is appointed as a full member to the Federal-State Joint Conference on Advanced Telecommunications Services.

FEDERAL COMMUNICATIONS COMMISSION

Marlene H. Dortch Secretary