Before the Federal Communications Commission Washington, D.C. 20554

In the Matter of)	
)	
Federal-State Joint Conference on)	CC Docket No. 99-294
Advanced Telecommunications Services)	

ORDER

Adopted: February 8, 2005

Released: February 9, 2005

By the Commission:

1. By this Order, and pursuant to Section 410(b) of the Communications Act of 1934 "Communications Act"),¹ we hereby fill three vacancies created in the Federal-State Joint Conference on Advanced Services ("Joint Conference") by recent departures from the Joint Conference. These appointments fill the positions recently vacated by Nanette Thompson (Regulatory Commission of Alaska), Irma Muse Dixon (Louisiana Public Service Commission), and Bob Rowe (Montana Public Service Commission) as a result of their departure from the public service. The Commission gratefully acknowledges the important contributions of these individuals to the work of the Joint Conference.

2. The Joint Conference was convened in 1999 as part of the Commission's ongoing efforts to ensure that advanced services are deployed as rapidly as possible to all Americans.² The Joint Conference serves as a forum for an ongoing dialogue between the Commission, state regulators, and local and regional entities regarding the deployment of advanced telecommunications capabilities. The Joint Conference is comprised of commissioners from state public utilities commissions and from the Federal Communications Commission and is chaired by the FCC Chairman or his designee.³

3. Among other things, the Joint Conference is responsible for monitoring and collecting data regarding the practices of carriers as they deploy advanced services throughout the nation. The Joint Conference has held a series of field hearings across the country to examine how best to accelerate the deployment of affordable advanced services to rural and other under-served telecommunications users. Through these, and other, activities, the Joint Conference has worked cooperatively to promote the widespread deployment of advanced services.

¹ 47 U.S.C. § 410(b).

² See In the Matter of Federal-State Joint Conference on Advanced Telecommunications Services, CC Docket No. 99-294, Order, 14 FCC Rcd 17622.

³ On April 5, 2002, FCC Chairman Michael K. Powell designated FCC Commissioner Kevin I. Martin to chair the Joint Conference. *See* "FCC Chairman Powell Designates Commissioner Kevin J. Martin to Chair the Federal-State Joint Conference on Advanced Telecommunications Services," 2002 WL 507326 (Apr. 5, 2002).

4. Therefore, to help the Joint Conference achieve its broad mandate, and pursuant to section 410(b) of the Communications Act,⁴ the Commission hereby appoints the Honorable Paul G. Afonso, Chair, Massachusetts Department of Telecommunications and Energy; the Honorable Larry S. Landis, Commissioner, Indiana Utility Regulatory Commission; and the Honorable Connie O. Hughes, Commissioner, New Jersey Board of Public Utilities, to serve on the Joint Conference.

5. Henceforth, a copy of all filings in this proceeding shall be served on each of the following members of the Joint Conference at the following addresses:

The Honorable Michael K. Powell, Chairman Federal Communications Commission 445 12th Street, SW Washington, DC 20554

The Honorable Kevin J. Martin, Commissioner Chair, Federal State Joint Conference on Advanced Telecommunications Services Federal Communications Commission 445 12th Street, SW Washington, DC 20554

The Honorable Kathleen Q. Abernathy, Commissioner Federal Communications Commission 445 12th Street, SW Washington, DC 20554

The Honorable Michael J. Copps, Commissioner Federal Communications Commission 445 12th Street, SW Washington, DC 20554

The Honorable Jonathan S. Adelstein, Commissioner Federal Communications Commission 445 12th Street, SW Washington, DC 20554

The Honorable Susan P. Kennedy, Commissioner California Public Utilities Commission 505 Van Ness Ave. San Francisco, CA 94102

The Honorable Thomas L. Welch, Chair Maine Public Utilities Commission 242 State Street 18 State House Station Augusta, ME 04333-0018

The Honorable Larry S. Landis, Commissioner Indiana Utility Regulatory Commission Indiana Government Center South

⁴ 47 U.S.C. § 410(b).

302 West Washington Street Suite E-306 Indianapolis, Indiana 46204

The Honorable Paul G. Afonso, Chair Department of Telecommunications and Energy Commonwealth of Massachusetts One South Station Boston, Massachusetts 02110

The Honorable Connie O. Hughes, Commissioner New Jersey Board of Public Utilities Two Gateway Center Newark, New Jersey 07102

The Honorable Jo Anne Sanford, Chair North Carolina Utilities Commission 430 North Salisbury Street Dobbs Building Raleigh, NC 27603-5918

The Honorable Deborah T. Tate, Director Tennessee Regulatory Authority 460 James Robertson Parkway Nashville, Tennessee 37243

7. To request materials in accessible formats for people with disabilities (braille, large print, electronic files, audio format), send an email to fcc504.fcc.gov or call the Consumer & Governmental Affairs Bureau at (202) 418-0531 (voice), (202) 418-7365 (TTY).

8. Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED that, pursuant to Section 410(b) of the Communications Act of 1934, as amended, 47 U.S.C. §410(b), the Honorable Paul G. Afonso, Chair, Massachusetts Department of Telecommunications and Energy; the Honorable Larry S. Landis, Commissioner, Indiana Utility Regulatory Commission; and the Honorable Connie O. Hughes, Commissioner, New Jersey Board of Public Utilities, are appointed to the Federal-State Joint Conference on Advanced Telecommunications Services.

FEDERAL COMMUNICATIONS COMMISSION

Marlene H. Dortch Secretary