STATEMENT OF CHAIRMAN AJIT PAI

Re: *Unlicensed Use of the 6 GHz Band*, ET Docket No. 18-295; *Expanding Flexible Use in Mid-Band Spectrum Between 3.7 and 24 GHz*, GN Docket No. 17-183.

If I asked you for 1989's great accomplishments, you might say the fall of the Berlin Wall, the launch of the Batman film series, and the beginning of the 2.4 and 5 GHz unlicensed bands . . . in that order

And in the last three decades, unlicensed devices have proliferated (as have Batman movies). From Wi-Fi routers to connected home appliances to retro cordless phones for those of us who still have landlines, we use devices that connect via unlicensed spectrum every day. Indeed, they've become so popular that there is now a shortage of airwayes dedicated for their use.

So today, we address this problem by proposing to open up 1,200 megahertz of spectrum in the 6 GHz band for different types of unlicensed uses. And we seek to do so in a way that will protect incumbent licensed operations in the band.

This decision will help us meet the mandate set forth in RAY BAUM'S Act to make more spectrum available for unlicensed use. It is also part of our aggressive and balanced spectrum strategy: pushing more licensed and unlicensed spectrum into the commercial marketplace and including a mix of low-band, mid-band, and high-band spectrum. And with the massive amount of wireless traffic that is off-loaded to Wi-Fi, opening up this wide swath of spectrum for unlicensed use could be a big boost to our nation's 5G future.

We look forward to compiling a robust record and then acting quickly to make more 6 GHz spectrum available for unlicensed uses. Indeed, I'm optimistic that we should be able to get the job done before the next Batman movie is released.

Thanks to the staff who worked on this item. In particular, thanks to Bahman Badipour, Brian Butler, Rashmi Doshi, David Duarte, Michael Ha, Ira Keltz, Julie Knapp, Paul Murray, Nicholas Oros, Aspasia Paroutsas, Barbara Pavon, Siobahn Philemon, Jamison Prime, Karen Rackley, Hugh Van Tuyl, and Aole Wilkins El from the Office of Engineering and Technology; John Evanoff, David Furth, Lauren Kravetz, and Michael Wilhelm from the Public Safety and Homeland Security Bureau; Jose Albuquerque, Christopher Bair, and Jennifer Gilsenan from the International Bureau; Chris Andes, Stephen Buenzow, Lloyd Coward, Peter Daronco, Thomas Derenge, Ariel Diamond, Charles Mathias, Aalok Mehta, Roger Noel, Charles Oliver, Matthew Pearl, Paul Powell, Blaise Scinto, Jeffrey Tignor, Brian Wondrack, and Stephen Zak from the Wireless Telecommunications Bureau; Thomas Horan, John Wong, and Sean Yun from the Media Bureau; Maura McGowan from the Office of Communications Business Opportunities; and David Horowitz, Keith McCrickard, and Bill Richardson from the Office of General Counsel.