STATEMENT OF CHAIRMAN AJIT PAI

Re: Updating the Commission's Rule for Over-the-Air Reception Devices, WT Docket No. 19-71

Two of the key inputs into 5G are spectrum and wireless infrastructure. Our April open meeting began with two items that will help push more spectrum into the marketplace.

With respect to wireless infrastructure, we've undertaken a comprehensive review of our rules over the past two years. We've sought to modify or eliminate outdated regulations that either no longer make sense or don't address the needs of next-generation wireless networks.

That's where this *Notice* comes in. Our proposal to revise our rules on over-the-air reception devices is designed to promote the deployment of new fixed-wireless infrastructure.

Today, our rules prohibit states, localities, and private actors (such as homeowners' associations) from enforcing regulations or restrictions that limit the ability of fixed-wireless customers using certain antennas to transmit via over-the-air devices. But while these rules apply to many fixed wireless antennas, they don't protect hub or relay antennas that transmit signals to and receive signals from multiple customer locations.

Our proposal would bring these antennas under federal protection, while retaining exceptions for safety or historic preservation. If adopted, the proposal would jumpstart the deployment of antennas that could be part of mesh networks—essentially, webs of wireless network nodes. And it would also help providers develop and deliver more competitive broadband services in areas that are currently on the wrong side of the digital divide, including in lower-income urban areas.

I look forward to reviewing the record that will be compiled in response to this *Notice* and would like to thank the team that worked on it: Jonathan Campbell, Garnet Hanly, Eli Johnson, Betsy McIntyre, Jennifer Salhus, Dana Shaffer, Chris Smeenk, Don Stockdale, Cecilia Sulhoff, and Suzanne Tetreault from the Wireless Telecommunications Bureau; Michelle Carey, Martha Heller, Kenneth Lewis, Maria Mullarkey, and Holly Saurer from the Media Bureau; Kate Matraves, Giulia McHenry, and Emily Talaga from the Office of Economics and Analytics; Chana Wilkerson and Sanford Williams from the Office of Communications Business Opportunities; and Ashley Boizelle, Tom Johnson, David Konczal, Linda Oliver, Bill Richardson, Royce Sherlock, and Anjali Singh from the Office of General Counsel.