STATEMENT OF CHAIRWOMAN JESSICA ROSENWORCEL

Re: *Empowering Broadband Consumers Through Transparency*, CG Docket No. 22-2, Notice of Proposed Rulemaking (January 27, 2022).

If you walk into any grocery store and pull boxes of cereal from the shelves, you can easily compare calories and carbohydrates. That's because they have a common nutrition label. It's black and white, simple to read, and easy to understand. It helps consumers make good choices.

I think the Federal Communications Commission needs to do the same with broadband. That's because it is now an essential service—for everyone, everywhere. So we want to make it easier for consumers to compare their options and understand just what they're signing up for. We want to develop a consistent and straightforward way of providing accurate information about price, speed, data allowances, and other aspects of high-speed service. We want to end efforts to bury facts in the fine print and we want to stop unexpected costs and fees.

The FCC's last effort to put labels like this in place never got that far. It was also just voluntary. But this is different. The broadband nutrition labels we are proposing today are mandatory. That's because in the Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act Congress gave us the support we need to require this kind of simple, common labeling for all consumer broadband service—both wireless and wireline. With these broadband nutrition labels we can compare service providers and plans, hold broadband providers to their promises, and foster more competition—which means better service and better prices.

Thank you to the agency staff who worked on this effort, including Robert Aldrich, Ed Bartholme, Jerusha Burnett, Zac Champ, Darryl Cooper, Aaron Garza, Erica McMahon, Mika Savir, Suzy Rosen Singleton, Mark Stone, Kristi Thornton, and Patrick Webre from the Consumer and Governmental Affairs Bureau; Marcus Maher, Richard Mallen, William Richardson, and Royce Sherlock from the Office of General Counsel; Allison Baker, Jessica Campbell, Melissa Kirkel, Hayley Steffen, and Eric Wu from the Wireline Competition Bureau; Christina Clearwater, Garnet Hanly, Kari Hicks, Susannah Larson, and Charles Mathias from the Wireless Telecommunications Bureau; Jeffrey Gee, Lisa Gelb, Daniel Stepanicich, Kristi Thompson, and Lisa Zaina from the Enforcement Bureau; Belford Lawson and Joy Ragsdale from the Office of Communications Business Opportunities; Patrick Brogan, Rachel Kazan, Kenneth Lynch, Catherine Matraves, Virginia Metallo, Mark Montano, Eric Ralph, Steve Rosenberg, Michelle Schaefer, Deena Shetler, and Emily Talaga from the Office of Economics and Analytics; and Justin Cain, Shawn Cochran, John Evanoff, David Furth, Deb Jordan, Lauren Kravetz, and Erica Olsen from the Public Safety and Homeland Security Bureau.